Skip to content

Capmatinib

  • Prescription medicine
  • Prescription only
  • Identity checked
  • Sources last checked 2026-09-04

This page shows what was measured, who it was measured in, and what that does not settle.

What Capmatinib does in the body

MET exon 14 skipping results in a protein with a missing regulatory domain that reduces its negative regulation leading to increased downstream MET signaling.

From the FDA-approved label: Capmatinib is a kinase inhibitor that targets MET, including the mutant variant produced by exon 14 skipping. Capmatinib inhibited cancer cell growth driven by a mutant MET variant lacking exon 14 at clinically achievable concentrations and demonstrated anti-tumor activity in murine tumor xenograft models derived from human lung tumors with either a mutation leading to MET exon 14 skipping or MET amplification.

Why people take it. TABRECTA is indicated for the treatment of adult patients with metastatic non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC) whose tumors have a mutation that leads to mesenchymal-epithelial transition (MET) exon 14 skipping as detected by an FDA-approved test.

What happened in people

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

A fixed RNAWiki sentence

Where this came from

Wording RNAWiki always uses, not a finding about this substance.

No reviewed claim names a result for any goal on this record.

No source is stored against this line.

The limit that matters most

Not recorded.

Where it acts
Not recorded.
Kind of result
No result is published, so no kind of result applies yet
Supervision
Professional supervision is normally required. A regulator classifies this substance in a way that restricts how it is supplied.

What the registries record it as

  • The substance registry classes this as chemical.

    FDA substance registry · C2A374O70X · read 2026-08-29

Where each sentence above came from

A person wrote this explanation into the record, with the studies named in the path below.

The use the label states, quoted from it. It is written for a clinician, not for a reader without medical training.

No statement of the main limit is recorded.

The four opening statements run to 137 words.

Words this page uses

Four words worth knowing first

Chosen from what this page shows, with each one explained before the word it depends on.

Biomarker

A biomarker is a number from a test that stands in for something about health.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A biomarker is like a fuel gauge.

Where that stops being true. A gauge is wired to the tank. Many biomarkers are only loosely tied to health.

What people get wrong. A better number is read as a better life. Several medicines improved a number and helped nobody.

A measurable indicator used as a substitute for a clinical outcome of interest.

Placebo

A placebo is a dummy treatment given so the real one can be compared with it.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A placebo is like a blank control in an experiment.

Where that stops being true. A blank does nothing. People given a placebo often do get better.

What people get wrong. A placebo effect is read as imaginary. The improvement is measured and real.

An inactive intervention matched in appearance to the test intervention, used to control for non-specific effects.

Comparator

A comparator is whatever the treatment was measured against.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

It is like the other runner in a race.

Where that stops being true. A race has one winner. A study can show both arms improved.

What people get wrong. Results are read without asking what the other group got. Beating nothing is not beating a treatment.

The control condition against which the experimental intervention is assessed.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What happened in people

Each card is one study: the exact question it asked, who was in it, and whether it showed what it set out to show.

16 weeks clinical response

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT04817956
How many people
3000
Study design
Phase 2
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Number of patients who consent to each arm.

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT05722886
How many people
825
Study design
Phase 2/Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

To assess the feasibility of high throughput molecular analysis (next generation sequencing exome [NGS]

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT03784014
How many people
603
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Recommended phase II dose (RP2D)

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT02813135
How many people
472
Study design
Phase 1/Phase 2
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Overall Response Rate (ORR) by Blinded Independent Review Committee (BIRC) Assessment

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT02414139
How many people
373
Study design
Phase 2
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Overall Response Rate (ORR)

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT03484923
How many people
196
Study design
Phase 2
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
What we know
RNAWiki holds 6 written-up human studies for this substance, each with the question it asked.
How we know it
Each card names the study, the number of people and what the study set out to measure.
What this does not prove
These summaries were written by a person and have not been signed off as reviewed claims.
Why it matters
A study that failed is as informative as one that worked, and both are here.
What we still do not know
No reviewed claim exists, so no exact population, effect size or interval is published yet.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Were people like you studied?

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it, and where the result stops carrying.

Who was studied

People similar to this profile were included.

  • TABRECTA is indicated for the treatment of adult patients with metastatic non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC) whose tumors have a mutation that leads to mesenchymal-epithelial transition (MET) exon 14 skipping as detected by an FDA-approved test.

Who is missing from the studies

  • Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What the label states about particular groups

  • On pediatric, the label states: “Safety and effectiveness of TABRECTA in pediatric patients have not been established.”

    US prescribing information · 455892c3-d144-4ba8-9ab4-79cabff9876d · read 2026-08-30

  • On older people, the label states: “In GEOMETRY mono-1, 61% of the 373 patients were 65 years or older and 18% were 75 years or older.”

    US prescribing information · 455892c3-d144-4ba8-9ab4-79cabff9876d · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are pregnant, the label states: “Risk Summary Based on findings from animal studies and its mechanism of action [see Clinical Pharmacology (12.1)] , TABRECTA can cause fetal harm when administered to a pregnant woman.”

    US prescribing information · 455892c3-d144-4ba8-9ab4-79cabff9876d · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are breastfeeding, the label states: “Risk Summary There are no data on the presence of capmatinib or its metabolites in either human or animal milk or its effects on the breastfed child or on milk production.”

    US prescribing information · 455892c3-d144-4ba8-9ab4-79cabff9876d · read 2026-08-30

  • On people with reduced kidney function, the label states: “No dosage adjustment is recommended in patients with mild (baseline creatinine clearance [CLcr] 60 to 89 mL/min by Cockcroft-Gault) or moderate renal impairment (CLcr 30 to 59 mL/min) [see Clinical Pharmacology (12.3)] .”

    US prescribing information · 455892c3-d144-4ba8-9ab4-79cabff9876d · read 2026-08-30

Where the result stopped carrying

  • This is a scope explorer, not a diagnosis engine.
  • It shows who was studied so you can see whether people similar to you were included.

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Why it might seem to do nothing

A real effect and a noticed effect are different things. These are the recorded reasons the two come apart.

It was studied in different people

The people in the studies were not much like the reader.

On this record: Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

The evidence may simply be wrong

Small early studies often do not hold up.

On this record: RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Other reasons RNAWiki checked and found nothing for (11)
It was studied for a different goal
The studies measured something else entirely. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
A different form was studied
The studied form is not the form on the shelf. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
There was nothing to correct
Where a level is already normal, topping it up may change nothing. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else had to happen too
In the studies it was paired with training, a diet or another treatment. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The change is too small to feel
A real change can still sit below what a person notices. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Day-to-day swing hides it
Sleep, food, stress and time of day move most numbers more than this would. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Not enough time yet
The studies ran longer than the person has waited. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
It was not taken as studied
Missed days change the result, and studies count them. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else changed at the same time
Two changes at once cannot be told apart afterwards. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The product may not be what it says
Contents of a sold product are not always what the label states. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
No recorded reason
RNAWiki has nothing stored that would explain it. Nothing in this record points to this reason.

None of these is a reason to take more. Taking more is not a step this page ever suggests.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What taking it involves

The recorded facts about getting hold of it and using it. Nothing here is a suggestion about what you should do.

How it is supplied

Prescription only

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Read from the recorded approval status.

No source is stored against this line.

Form and route

Oral

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form and route recorded on this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

Who oversees it

Professional supervision is normally required. A regulator classifies this substance in a way that restricts how it is supplied.

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Suppression classes recorded: S1, S3, S4.

No source is stored against this line.

What is in the pack

Sold as tablet, tablet, film coated, given by the oral route.

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

Recorded notes on how this is sold and what that means for what is in the pack.

No source is stored against this line.

Where it is registered

Regulatory records are listed in the technical disclosure at the foot of this page.

Counted from records

Where this came from

A count of rows RNAWiki holds. It describes our records, not your body.

Register entries are stored per jurisdiction and shown with their dates.

No source is stored against this line.

Why people stop

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

No record of why people stopped taking it is stored for this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

What it would be like to takeNothing found in the sources checked

What can go wrong

Sorted by where each line came from. A regulator's label and a report somebody sent in are not the same kind of fact.

Nothing found in the sources checked

No harm is recorded against this substance in the sources RNAWiki checked. Finding nothing is not the same as showing there is nothing.

The sources listed were searched and held nothing. That is not the same as nothing existing.

Over a long time. No completed tested study window is recorded, so long-term effects are not established by the registry record.

Groups the studies covered thinly. Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Does the exact form matter?

Evidence belongs to the exact thing that was tested. A different salt, a different mixture or a different preparation is a different question.

The form that was studied

Oral

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form used in the studies cited on this page.

No source is stored against this line.

What is sold

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

Nothing further is recorded about which forms are sold.

No source is stored against this line.

What is recorded as being sold

  • 6 products list this as an active ingredient in the United States drug directory. 6 of them contain it and nothing else.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 76047-002 · read 2026-08-29

  • They are sold as powder and tablet, film coated, taken oral.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 76047-002 · read 2026-08-29

  • The regulator's established pharmacologic class for it is breast cancer resistance protein inhibitors [moa], cytochrome p450 1a2 inhibitors [moa] and kinase inhibitor [epc].

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 76047-002 · read 2026-08-29

  • 1 published label names it as an active ingredient. 1 of them describe this substance alone, which is where its own label text on this page comes from.

    US prescribing information · 455892c3-d144-4ba8-9ab4-79cabff9876d · read 2026-08-29

  • Those labels are classed as human prescription drug.

    US prescribing information · 455892c3-d144-4ba8-9ab4-79cabff9876d · read 2026-08-29

  • TABRECTA is oral at 3 DOSAGE FORMS AND STRENGTHS Tablets: 150 mg: pale orange brown, ovaloid, curved film-coated with beveled edges, unscored, debossed with ‘DU’ on one side and ‘NVR’ on the other side 200 mg: yellow, ovaloid, curved film-…, recorded as fda label in effect 2025-12-15 in the United States.

    US prescribing information · 455892c3-d144-4ba8-9ab4-79cabff9876d · read 2026-08-30

Evidence carries across two names for one substance. It does not carry across a salt, a mirror form or a mixture.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What you could measure

This one is decided with a clinician, so this section holds questions to ask rather than a plan to run.

Self-experiment planning is not offered for a prescription or clinician-supervised medicine. The questions below are for a clinician or pharmacist.

Questions worth asking

  • Which of the trials of Capmatinib studied people like me?
  • What was measured, and for how long?
  • Was the result a laboratory value or a health outcome?
  • What would we watch for, and when would we stop?

Tracking can show whether something changed for you. It cannot show what caused it.

RNAWiki records evidence. It does not say whether this substance is right for you.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What nobody knows yet

Open questions, each with why it is open and what would close it.

Missing populations

Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing long-term data

No completed tested study window is recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

No reviewed conclusion

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing interaction studies

No interaction was found in the registers checked. Not finding one is not the same as showing there is none.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Formulation uncertainty

Several salts, forms or products of Capmatinib are recorded. Results from one form may not transfer to another.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Mechanism not reviewed

No reviewed mechanism story exists for this substance.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Check any of this yourself

Every line above traced back to the study it came from. This is the technical layer, and the vocabulary changes here.

Where else this substance is registered

FDA substance identifier (UNII)
C2A374O70X
RxNorm concept
2362234

Checks this page had to pass

  • Passed

    Identity resolved

    no open identity hold

  • Passed

    No unresolved merge across substance families

    no quarantine open

  • Passed

    Every public sentence names a source

    The opening statement carries the origin: Written into the record, not signed off.

  • Not passed

    Trial roles classified for highlighted evidence

    No registered study is classified as testing this substance.

  • Passed

    No internal keys in reader text

    enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

  • Passed

    Safety mode resolved

    Suppression classes recorded: S1, S3, S4.

  • Passed

    Canonical metadata present

    slug and display name present

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

How this medicine reached us

Kept near the foot of the page. A historical event moves up only when it changes something about this substance today.

What the approval register records

  • 1 approved application covers products containing this substance. The earliest was NDA213591, approved 20200506 to NOVARTIS PHARM.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA213591 · read 2026-08-29

  • Marketing status on the register: prescription.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA213591 · read 2026-08-29

  • The earliest marketing start date recorded for a listed product is 20200506.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 76047-002 · read 2026-08-29

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What to learn next

Ordered by what would most change how you read this page, starting with what is easiest to misunderstand.

This order is fixed in code and does not count clicks or time on the page.

What is not here

9 questions this page could not answer

These sections were prepared and left out because there was nothing to put in them. They are listed rather than hidden, so the gaps in this record are visible.

  • What was measured, goal by goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How close this is to real life — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • The path through the body — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Felt, measured, or meaningful — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How long anything takes — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What it may clash with — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Other ways to the same goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Claims that go past the evidence — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What changed on this page — found nothing in the sources checked.

The record as stored

The full record, for auditing

Everything above is built from what is below. This layer keeps the technical vocabulary, record identifiers and every stored row, so a reader who wants to check the page can.

Recorded evidence blocks (11)

On the Capmatinib label: indicated for what?


"TABRECTA is indicated for the treatment of adult patients with metastatic non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC) whose tumors have a mutation that leads to mesenchymal-epithelial transition (MET) exon 14 skipping as detected by an FDA-approved test. TABRECTA is a kinase inhibitor indicated for the treatment of adult…": indications and usage on Capmatinib's label. DailyMed label · 455892c3-d144-4ba8-9ab4-79cabff9876d · 2025-12-15

38 registered trials of Capmatinib — at which phases?


Registered studies posting no result
21 of 38

38 registered studies of Capmatinib: 27 phase2, 7 phase1, 5 na or unstated, 5 phase3, 1 phase4. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

20 with a PubMed record

Show the evidence
  • phase2
    27
  • phase1
    7
  • na or unstated
    5
  • phase3
    5
  • phase4
    1
  • completed
    13
8 more recorded rows
  • terminated
    11
  • recruiting
    5
  • withdrawn
    3
  • active not recruiting
    2
  • no longer available
    1
  • not yet recruiting
    1
  • suspended
    1
  • unknown
    1

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

15 of Capmatinib's trials stopped: safety, accrual/recruitment, funding/business, other?


safety (7), accrual/recruitment (3), funding/business (4) and other (1): Capmatinib's stop wording, clustered. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

"The study recruitment was ended due to difficulties in identifying subjects who meet the eligibility criteria and therefore the study never reached its planned sample size per protocol. The study termination was not due to any safety concerns."; 15 of 38 registered studies

Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT01737827
    terminated; "The study recruitment was ended due to difficulties in identifying subjects who meet the eligibility criteria and therefore the study never reached its planned sample size per protocol. The study termination was not due to any safety…"
  • NCT02335944
    terminated; "Company decision"
  • NCT02587650
    terminated; "Funding"
  • NCT03240393
    withdrawn; "Company Decision"
  • NCT03742349
    terminated; "This was a sponsor decision and was not a consequence of any safety concern"
  • NCT04139317
    terminated; "Sponsor decision to terminate due to the lack of tolerability observed in patients treated with capmatinib and pembrolizumab in the combination arm as compared to patients treated with pembrolizumab alone in the pembrolizumab single agent…"
9 further recorded trials
  • NCT04323436
    terminated; "Study termination based on sponsor decision due to lack of tolerability observed with capmatinib and spartalizumab combination treatment when compared to data from capmatinib single agent studies"
  • NCT04427072
    terminated; "Company decision not related to any safety concerns."
  • NCT04460729
    withdrawn; "company decision"
  • NCT04816214
    terminated; "Novartis decided to terminate the study based on a business consideration and not related with any safety concerns. Randomized part was not initiated"
  • NCT04926831
    terminated; "The study was terminated early due to recruitment challenges."
  • NCT05135845
    suspended; "Sponsor decision up DSMB advice due to unfavorable toxicity profile"
  • NCT05243641
    terminated; "Sponsor Withdrew Support"
  • NCT05435846
    terminated; "slow accrual"
  • NCT05567055
    withdrawn; "Slow enrollment"

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Human studies of Capmatinib used Capmatinib 150 mg — over how long?


studies of Capmatinib used the recorded amount. ClinicalTrials.gov · 2026-09-01

2 recorded entries; human; also "Capmatinib 150 mg", "Capmatinib 200 mg"

Show the evidence

human

  • NCT05110196
    Capmatinib 150 mg
  • NCT05110196
    Capmatinib 200 mg

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Capmatinib's half-life is 6.5 hours — which schedules were studied?


6.5 hours, the half-life Capmatinib's label states: "Elimination The effective elimination half-life of capmatinib is 6.5 hours." DailyMed label · 455892c3-d144-4ba8-9ab4-79cabff9876d · 2025-12-15

tmax 1 to 2 hours.

Show the evidence
  • half life pharmacokinetics
    6.5 hours; Elimination The effective elimination half-life of capmatinib is 6.5 hours.
  • tmax pharmacokinetics
    1 to 2 hours; Absorption After administration of TABRECTA 400 mg orally in patients with cancer, capmatinib peak plasma concentrations (C max ) were reached in approximately 1 to 2 hours (T max ).
  • metabolism pharmacokinetics
    Metabolism Capmatinib is primarily metabolized by CYP3A4 and aldehyde oxidase.

recorded 2025-12-15 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which running trial of Capmatinib could settle lifespan?


NCT05642572 measures Investigator-assessed progression-free survival, reading out 2028-06-30.

1 open trial; n 66; "Comparing Combinations of Targeted Drugs for Advanced Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer That Has EGFR and MET Gene Changes (A Lung-MAP Treatment Trial)"

Show the evidence
  • Trial NCT05642572
    "Comparing Combinations of Targeted Drugs for Advanced Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer That Has EGFR and MET Gene Changes (A Lung-MAP Treatment Trial)"; n 66; "Investigator-assessed progression-free survival"; 2028-06-30

Which 2 trials of Capmatinib posted no result?


Posted no result
2 of 2 completed trials
Registrations
NCT05675683 and NCT05154344
Completion dates
oldest 2021-12-31; newest 2022-02-01
Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT05675683
    2021-12-31
  • NCT05154344
    2022-02-01

At the median, Capmatinib's trials enrolled 40 people — anything larger?


Median enrolment
40
Largest enrolment
825
Registered trials counted
37

What do 165 spontaneous reports say about Capmatinib — and not say?


These are reports people sent to a regulator. They do not show the medicine caused the reaction. Nobody counted how many people took the medicine and reported nothing. The same event can be reported more than once, and many reports are incomplete. News coverage, lawsuits and new warnings change how often people report. A count is not a rate and not a risk.

Capmatinib appears in spontaneous reports to regulators. Across the 10 most-reported reaction terms, 165 reaction mentions were counted: oedema peripheral 45; oedema 22; malignant neoplasm progression 21; blood creatinine increased 16. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL3188267 · 2026-06-24

Show the evidence
  • oedema peripheral
    45
  • oedema
    22
  • malignant neoplasm progression
    21
  • blood creatinine increased
    16
  • peripheral swelling
    15
  • dysphagia
    14
4 more recorded rows
  • non-small cell lung cancer
    13
  • disease progression
    9
  • drug resistance
    5
  • generalised oedema
    5

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 10 reactions does Capmatinib's label not list?


blood creatinine increased, disease progression and drug resistance and 7 more reported for Capmatinib, absent from its label. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL3188267 · 2026-06-24

2 label terms; 10 reported and unlisted; 455892c3-d144-4ba8-9ab4-79cabff9876d

Show the evidence
  • blood creatinine increased
    count not stated
  • disease progression
    count not stated
  • drug resistance
    count not stated
  • dysphagia
    count not stated
  • generalised oedema
    count not stated
  • malignant neoplasm progression
    count not stated
4 more recorded rows
  • non-small cell lung cancer
    count not stated
  • oedema
    count not stated
  • oedema peripheral
    count not stated
  • peripheral swelling
    count not stated

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Capmatinib and CYP3A and CYP1A2: shared by which compounds?


CYP3A and CYP1A2 appear in Capmatinib's recorded interaction sentences, 8 in all. DailyMed label · 455892c3-d144-4ba8-9ab4-79cabff9876d · 2025-12-15

CYP1A2, CYP3A, CYP3A; 3 shared nodes; drug_interactions

Show the evidence

Interaction statement

  • drug_interactions
    Strong and Moderate CYP3A Inducers : Avoid concomitant use.
  • drug_interactions
    ( 7.1 ) 7.1 Effect of Other Drugs on TABRECTA Strong CYP3A Inhibitors Coadministration of TABRECTA with a strong CYP3A inhibitor increased capmatinib exposure, which may increase the incidence and severity of adverse reactions of TABRECTA [see Clinical Pharmacology (12.3)] .
  • drug_interactions
    Closely monitor patients for adverse reactions during coadministration of TABRECTA with strong CYP3A inhibitors.
  • drug_interactions
    Strong and Moderate CYP3A Inducers Coadministration of TABRECTA with a strong CYP3A inducer decreased capmatinib exposure.
  • drug_interactions
    Coadministration of TABRECTA with a moderate CYP3A inducer may also decrease capmatinib exposure.
  • drug_interactions
    Avoid coadministration of TABRECTA with strong and moderate CYP3A inducers.
2 more recorded rows
  • Interaction statement drug_interactions
    7.2 Effect of TABRECTA on Other Drugs CYP1A2 Substrates Coadministration of TABRECTA increased the exposure of a CYP1A2 substrate, which may increase the adverse reactions of these substrates [see Clinical Pharmacology (12.3)] .
  • Interaction statement drug_interactions
    If coadministration is unavoidable between TABRECTA and CYP1A2 substrates where minimal concentration changes may lead to serious adverse reactions, decrease the CYP1A2 substrate dosage in accordance with the approved prescribing information.
  • CYP1A2
    FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Rasagiline, Sofpironium, Golodirsen, Tinidazole

CYP3A

  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, Darunavir Propylene Glycolate, Vincristine, Naldemedine, Pemetrexed, Eravacycline, Rasburicase, Repotrectinib
  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, Darunavir Propylene Glycolate, Vincristine, Naldemedine, Pemetrexed, Eravacycline, Rasburicase, Repotrectinib

recorded 2025-12-15 · last checked 2026-09-04

Where it is registered
Identifiers, relations and other names

The exact record

ChEMBL id
CHEMBL3188267
PubChem CID
25145656
CAS number
1029712-80-8
RxCUI
2362165
InChIKey
LIOLIMKSCNQPLV-UHFFFAOYSA-N
Also called
INC-280, INC280, INCB 28060, INCB28060, INCB-28060A-1419, INCB-28060 FREE BASE, NVP-INC280, NVP-INC280-NX, NYP-INC280-NX, CAPMATINIB HYDROCHLORIDE, CAPMATINIB HYDROCHLORIDE HYDRATE [JAN], CAPMATINIB HYDROCHLORIDE [ORANGE BOOK]
Salt form
Capmatinib dihydrochloride monohydrate, Capmatinib hydrochloride hydrate, Capmatinib hydrochloride monohydrate
Development code
NVP-INC280-AAA
Trade name
Tabrecta
Sources (6)

Sources

ChEMBL 37 — CC BY-SA 3.0 Unported · ChEMBL ATC CC BY-SA · ClinicalTrials.gov — US Government work · Open Targets 26.06 — CC0 · mixed register set; per-register licences in docs/specs/corpus-20k-sources.md · openFDA / DailyMed — US Government work

How these records are assembled · Which registers were checked

Index-quality checks
  • identity passed: no open identity hold
  • required summary fields resolved: 4 required field(s) not terminal: Why people use it, Best-supported result, Biggest unanswered question, Human evidence
  • public claims reviewed: 0 reviewed claim(s); drafts are never rendered
  • source coverage passed: 6 source rows
  • no critical contamination: no quarantine open
  • canonical metadata passed: slug and display name present
  • no raw internal fields: enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

This is a record of evidence. It is not medical advice, and it does not say this substance suits you. Nothing here says any substance on RNAWiki is appropriate for a child.