Skip to content

Calcitriol

  • Prescription medicine
  • Given by a clinician
  • Identity checked
  • Sources last checked 2026-09-04

This page shows what was measured, who it was measured in, and what that does not settle.

What Calcitriol does in the body

Low calcium and overactive parathyroid glands caused by kidney failure, and low calcium caused by absent parathyroid hormone

Ordinary vitamin D has to be modified twice before it does anything: once by the liver, once by the kidney. When the kidney fails, the second step stops, and calcium absorption fails with it. This drug is the finished molecule. It enters cells, binds a receptor that sits directly on DNA, and turns on the genes that pull calcium out of food — and turns down the gene that makes parathyroid hormone.

What happened in people

Increased intestinal calcium absorption and reduced serum alkaline phosphatase, stated in the label as the basis of the dialysis indication

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The recorded finding that sits closest to something a person would notice. Written into the record, not signed off, and it carries no population or interval.

The limit that matters most

That suppressing parathyroid hormone and normalising alkaline phosphatase translates into fewer deaths, fractures or less vascular calcification

Where it acts
The nucleus of the intestinal absorptive cell and of the parathyroid chief cell — a gene switch, not a mineral supplement
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
Supervision
RNAWiki has not recorded a supervision or regulatory status for this substance.

What the registries record it as

  • The substance registry classes this as chemical.

    FDA substance registry · FXC9231JVH · read 2026-08-29

  • Its recorded molecular formula is C27H44O3, weighing 416.64.

    US prescribing information · 7fa4ab07-3d8e-4300-91f3-b1e17cba8691 · read 2026-08-30

Where each sentence above came from

No recorded sentence describes the change this makes in a way that stands on its own. The page opens with what it is taken for instead, and the recorded explanation follows below.

Shown as the opening line on this page.

A limit recorded against this substance. Not signed off as a reviewed claim.

The four opening statements run to 111 words.

Words this page uses

Four words worth knowing first

Chosen from what this page shows, with each one explained before the word it depends on.

Comparator

A comparator is whatever the treatment was measured against.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

It is like the other runner in a race.

Where that stops being true. A race has one winner. A study can show both arms improved.

What people get wrong. Results are read without asking what the other group got. Beating nothing is not beating a treatment.

The control condition against which the experimental intervention is assessed.

Randomisation

Randomisation means chance decides who gets which treatment.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

It is like a coin toss deciding the groups.

Where that stops being true. A coin toss is fair once. Fairness here comes from doing it for everyone.

What people get wrong. It is thought to make groups identical. It makes them similar on average, including on things nobody measured.

Allocation of participants to arms by a chance process, so that unmeasured factors are balanced in expectation.

Absolute difference

An absolute difference is how many more people in a hundred were affected.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

It is like counting heads in two rooms of a hundred.

Where that stops being true. Heads are easy to count. Study results carry a margin of error too.

What people get wrong. It is confused with a percentage change, which can look far larger.

The arithmetic difference in event rates between arms.

Confidence interval

A confidence interval is the range the true answer is likely to sit in.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

It is like a weather forecast giving a range rather than one number.

Where that stops being true. A forecast range covers tomorrow. This one covers what the study could resolve.

What people get wrong. The middle number is read as the answer. A range crossing zero means no change is still possible.

An interval estimate that would contain the true parameter in a stated proportion of repeated studies.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What happened in people

Each card is one study: the exact question it asked, who was in it, and whether it showed what it set out to show.

Mortality, cardiovascular outcomes and biochemical markers of mineral metabolism

The study did not show it

Who was studied
Palmer 2007 meta-analysis of vitamin D compounds in chronic kidney disease
How many people
3667
Study design
Systematic review and meta-analysis of 76 randomised controlled trials
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
Living longer, or avoiding a major event
What was found
No reduction in death, bone pain, vascular calcification or parathyroidectomy; hypercalcaemia relative risk 2.37 (95% CI 1.16 to 4.85) for established sterols
Repeated elsewhere
Replicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. Only 8 of 76 trials reported mortality at all, and only 5 directly compared newer with established compounds. The evidence base is large in trial count and thin in outcomes.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral capsule and oral solution; an intravenous form and a topical ointment also exist

Interval reported. 95% CI 1

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

New vertebral fracture rate per 100 patient-years

The study showed what it set out to show

Who was studied
Tilyard 1992 — calcitriol against calcium in postmenopausal osteoporosis
How many people
622
Study design
Prospective, multicentre, single-blind, randomised, three years
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Year 3: 9.9 against 31.5 fractures per 100 patient-years, P<0.001; effect confined to women with five or fewer baseline fractures
Repeated elsewhere
Failed to Replicate

What this does not prove. Meeting one endpoint in one population does not carry to other goals or other people.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. Single-blind, with a comparator-group fracture rate several times higher than placebo arms of contemporaneous osteoporosis trials, and a treatment effect present only in a baseline-severity subgroup. Postmenopausal osteoporosis never became an approved indication.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral capsule and oral solution; an intravenous form and a topical ointment also exist

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

What we know
RNAWiki holds 2 written-up human studies for this substance, each with the question it asked.
How we know it
Each card names the study, the number of people and what the study set out to measure.
What this does not prove
These summaries were written by a person and have not been signed off as reviewed claims.
Why it matters
A study that failed is as informative as one that worked, and both are here.
What we still do not know
No reviewed claim exists, so no exact population, effect size or interval is published yet.

What it changes in the bodyRead from sources, not yet reviewed

The path through the body

From what a person takes to what changes. A solid line is a step measured in people. A dashed line is a step nobody has measured that way.

  1. Start

    Calcitriol

    What a person takes: Oral capsule and oral solution; an intravenous form and a topical ointment also exist.

    The measurement behind this step

    Given by mouth in microgram doses, or intravenously during dialysis where higher doses suppress parathyroid hormone more effectively. A topical form is a separate product for plaque psoriasis and is not interchangeable.

  2. Getting in

    Given as the finished hormone because the kidney cannot finish it

    Vitamin D needs two chemical changes to work, one in the liver and one in the kidney. When the kidney fails, the second never happens. This capsule is the molecule that would have been made.

    Described, with no measurement named. No measurement is named for this step, so it is drawn as an unconfirmed link.

    The measurement behind this step

    Cholecalciferol is 25-hydroxylated in the liver, then 1-alpha-hydroxylated by CYP27B1 in the proximal renal tubule. Loss of functioning tubular mass removes that enzyme, so 25-hydroxyvitamin D accumulates and the active hormone falls. Calcitriol bypasses both steps, which also means it bypasses the feedback that normally regulates the last one.

  3. Reaching the cell

    It enters cells and binds a receptor that lives on DNA

    Unlike most drugs it does not act at the cell surface. It travels into the nucleus and binds a protein that is already sitting on the genes it controls.

    Described, with no measurement named. No measurement is named for this step, so it is drawn as an unconfirmed link.

    The measurement behind this step

    The vitamin D receptor is a nuclear hormone receptor. Both the hepatic 25-hydroxyl and the renal 1-alpha-hydroxyl are required for high-affinity binding, which is roughly a thousandfold greater than for 25-hydroxyvitamin D — the structural reason the precursor cannot substitute.

  4. What it acts on

    It pairs with a partner receptor and grips the response element

    The drug-bound receptor joins with a partner protein, and the pair clamps onto specific sequences in front of the genes they control.

    Described, with no measurement named. No measurement is named for this step, so it is drawn as an unconfirmed link.

    The measurement behind this step

    The ligand-bound receptor heterodimerises with the retinoid X receptor and occupies vitamin D response elements — direct repeats separated by three nucleotides — recruiting coactivators and the transcriptional machinery.

  5. The change it makes

    In the gut, calcium transport genes switch on

    The cells lining the intestine start making the channels and carriers that pull calcium out of food. That is why calcium in blood rises.

    Described, with no measurement named. No measurement is named for this step, so it is drawn as an unconfirmed link.

    The measurement behind this step

    Transcription of TRPV6, the apical calcium channel, and of calbindin, the cytosolic buffer that shuttles calcium to the basolateral pump, both rise. Transcellular absorption increases, which the label describes as enhanced calcium absorption and reduced serum alkaline phosphatase.

  6. The change it makes

    In the parathyroid gland, hormone production is switched down

    The same receptor in the parathyroid gland does the opposite: it turns the parathyroid hormone gene down. Combined with the rise in blood calcium, that is what relieves the overactive gland.

    Described, with no measurement named. No measurement is named for this step, so it is drawn as an unconfirmed link.

    The measurement behind this step

    The receptor complex acts at a negative vitamin D response element in the parathyroid hormone gene promoter, lowering transcription directly, while the rise in serum calcium suppresses secretion through the calcium-sensing receptor. Both arms converge, which is why hypercalcaemia and parathyroid hormone suppression are inseparable for this molecule.

  7. What that does for a person

    The numbers move; whether anything else does is unresolved

    Calcium rises and parathyroid hormone falls, which is what treatment is aimed at. Across seventy-six trials, deaths, bone pain, artery hardening and parathyroid surgery did not fall, and high calcium became more common.

    Measured in people. Written by a person from the study named beside the step. Not signed off as a reviewed claim.

    The measurement behind this step

    Pooled across 76 randomised trials in 3667 participants, vitamin D compounds did not reduce death, bone pain, vascular calcification or parathyroidectomy; established sterols raised hypercalcaemia (RR 2.37) and hyperphosphataemia (RR 1.77) without a consistent parathyroid hormone reduction. Only 8 trials reported mortality.

No suggested links are held for this record, so nothing is hidden from this path.

What we know
The record describes 6 steps from taking it to an effect in a person.
How we know it
Each step names the study behind it in the technical detail beside it.
What this does not prove
A change inside the body is a reason to look. It is not a result in a person.
Why it matters
A reader can see exactly where the chain stops being measured in people.
What we still do not know
No reviewed claim binds any of these steps to a named population.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Were people like you studied?

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it, and where the result stops carrying.

Who was studied

People similar to this profile were included.

  • People with chronic kidney disease before and during dialysis, and people whose parathyroid glands are absent or unresponsive.

Who is missing from the studies

  • Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What the label states about particular groups

  • On pediatric, the label states: “The safety and effectiveness of Calcitriol Ointment in pediatric subjects below the age of 2 years has not been established.”

    US prescribing information · 7fa4ab07-3d8e-4300-91f3-b1e17cba8691 · read 2026-08-30

  • On older people, the label states: “Clinical studies of Calcitriol Ointment did not include sufficient numbers of subjects aged 65 and over to determine whether they respond differently from younger subjects.”

    US prescribing information · 7fa4ab07-3d8e-4300-91f3-b1e17cba8691 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are pregnant, the label states: “Risk Summary Available data from pregnancies that occurred during the clinical development of Calcitriol Ointment and published cases of oral and intravenous calcitriol use in pregnant women have not identified a drug associated risk for major birth defects, miscarriages, or adverse maternal or fetal outcomes.”

    US prescribing information · 7fa4ab07-3d8e-4300-91f3-b1e17cba8691 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are breastfeeding, the label states: “Risk Summary There are no data on the presence of calcitriol in human milk, the effects on the breastfed infant or on milk production after treatment with Calcitriol Ointment.”

    US prescribing information · 7fa4ab07-3d8e-4300-91f3-b1e17cba8691 · read 2026-08-30

Where the result stopped carrying

  • Across 76 randomised trials the class did not reduce death, bone pain, vascular calcification or parathyroidectomy
  • Established sterols did not show a consistent reduction in parathyroid hormone, the biochemical target they are prescribed to move
  • Only 8 of 76 trials reported mortality, so the outcome question was largely never asked rather than answered
  • The 1992 osteoporosis result was never reproduced and never converted into an indication
  • This is a scope explorer, not a diagnosis engine.
  • It shows who was studied so you can see whether people similar to you were included.

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Why it might seem to do nothing

A real effect and a noticed effect are different things. These are the recorded reasons the two come apart.

It was studied in different people

The people in the studies were not much like the reader.

On this record: Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

The evidence may simply be wrong

Small early studies often do not hold up.

On this record: RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Other reasons RNAWiki checked and found nothing for (11)
It was studied for a different goal
The studies measured something else entirely. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
A different form was studied
The studied form is not the form on the shelf. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
There was nothing to correct
Where a level is already normal, topping it up may change nothing. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else had to happen too
In the studies it was paired with training, a diet or another treatment. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The change is too small to feel
A real change can still sit below what a person notices. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Day-to-day swing hides it
Sleep, food, stress and time of day move most numbers more than this would. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Not enough time yet
The studies ran longer than the person has waited. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
It was not taken as studied
Missed days change the result, and studies count them. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else changed at the same time
Two changes at once cannot be told apart afterwards. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The product may not be what it says
Contents of a sold product are not always what the label states. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
No recorded reason
RNAWiki has nothing stored that would explain it. Nothing in this record points to this reason.

None of these is a reason to take more. Taking more is not a step this page ever suggests.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What taking it involves

The recorded facts about getting hold of it and using it. Nothing here is a suggestion about what you should do.

How it is supplied

Given by a clinician

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Read from the recorded approval status.

No source is stored against this line.

Form and route

Oral capsule and oral solution; an intravenous form and a topical ointment also exist

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form and route recorded on this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

Who oversees it

RNAWiki has not recorded a supervision or regulatory status for this substance.

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

No register row and no identity class settled the question.

No source is stored against this line.

What is in the pack

Given by mouth in microgram doses, or intravenously during dialysis where higher doses suppress parathyroid hormone more effectively. A topical form is a separate product for plaque psoriasis and is not interchangeable.

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

Recorded notes on how this is sold and what that means for what is in the pack.

No source is stored against this line.

Where it is registered

Regulatory records are listed in the technical disclosure at the foot of this page.

Counted from records

Where this came from

A count of rows RNAWiki holds. It describes our records, not your body.

Register entries are stored per jurisdiction and shown with their dates.

No source is stored against this line.

Why people stop

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

No record of why people stopped taking it is stored for this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What can go wrong

Sorted by where each line came from. A regulator's label and a report somebody sent in are not the same kind of fact.

Worth asking a clinician aboutWritten into the record from the studies named on this page

No boxed warning. The characteristic hazard is hypercalcaemia, and the label states that adverse effects are in general those of excessive vitamin D intake. Early features are weakness, headache, somnolence, nausea, vomiting, dry mouth, constipation, muscle and bone pain, metallic taste and loss of appetite; later features include polyuria, weight loss, ectopic calcification, nephrocalcinosis, hypertension and arrhythmia. Concurrent hypercalcaemia and hyperphosphataemia can cause radiographically visible soft-tissue calcification. Because the biological half-life is short, elevated calcium normalises within days of stopping.

Nobody counted how many people took this and were fine, so this cannot be turned into a rate.

Where this came from

Over a long time. No completed tested study window is recorded, so long-term effects are not established by the registry record.

Groups the studies covered thinly. Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Does the exact form matter?

Evidence belongs to the exact thing that was tested. A different salt, a different mixture or a different preparation is a different question.

The form that was studied

Oral capsule and oral solution; an intravenous form and a topical ointment also exist

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form used in the studies cited on this page.

No source is stored against this line.

What is sold

A topical form is a separate product for plaque psoriasis and is not interchangeable.

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

Recorded notes on which forms are sold and how they compare.

No source is stored against this line.

What is recorded as being sold

  • 58 products list this as an active ingredient in the United States drug directory. 58 of them contain it and nothing else.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 72266-251 · read 2026-08-29

  • They are sold as capsule, capsule, gelatin coated, capsule, liquid filled, injection, ointment and powder, taken intravenous, oral and topical.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 72266-251 · read 2026-08-29

  • The regulator's established pharmacologic class for it is cholecalciferol [cs] and vitamin d3 analog [epc].

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 72266-251 · read 2026-08-29

  • 32 published labels name it as an active ingredient. 32 of them describe this substance alone, which is where its own label text on this page comes from.

    US prescribing information · cdcaffc6-e14e-4607-b77b-fc78a8382f60 · read 2026-08-29

  • Those labels are classed as human prescription drug.

    US prescribing information · cdcaffc6-e14e-4607-b77b-fc78a8382f60 · read 2026-08-29

  • 5 marketed supplement labels list this ingredient, classed as vitamin.

    NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database · 179739 · read 2026-08-29

  • Those labels carry all other, nutrient and structure/function claims. A claim of that kind is written by the manufacturer and is not assessed by any regulator, so its presence says nothing about whether it is true.

    NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database · 179739 · read 2026-08-29

  • calcitriol is topical at 3 DOSAGE FORMS AND STRENGTHS Ointment, 3mcg/g., recorded as fda label in effect 2023-01-31 in the United States.

    US prescribing information · 7fa4ab07-3d8e-4300-91f3-b1e17cba8691 · read 2026-08-30

  • Recorded price in US: 0.15764–0.23874 USD per one unit as the pricing file counts it — a tablet, capsule, patch or single item, across 15 priced products whose strengths and pack forms differ, as of 2026-08-26, paid by retail pharmacies buying the product, as surveyed by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. It is not a list price, an insurance price, or what anyone pays at a counter..

    Recorded source · 2026-08-26 · read 2026-08-28

  • Recorded price in US: 6.79324 USD per one millilitre, across 2 priced products whose strengths and pack forms differ, as of 2026-08-26, paid by retail pharmacies buying the product, as surveyed by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. It is not a list price, an insurance price, or what anyone pays at a counter..

    Recorded source · 2026-08-26 · read 2026-08-28

Evidence carries across two names for one substance. It does not carry across a salt, a mirror form or a mixture.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What you could measure

This one is decided with a clinician, so this section holds questions to ask rather than a plan to run.

RNAWiki could not confidently classify this substance, so no self-experiment plan is offered.

Questions worth asking

  • Which of the trials of Calcitriol studied people like me?
  • What was measured, and for how long?
  • Was the result a laboratory value or a health outcome?
  • What would we watch for, and when would we stop?

Tracking can show whether something changed for you. It cannot show what caused it.

RNAWiki records evidence. It does not say whether this substance is right for you.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Claims that go past the evidence

Things said about this substance that sound reasonable, and the exact step that is missing between the evidence and the claim.

Goes past the evidence

That suppressing parathyroid hormone and normalising alkaline phosphatase translates into fewer deaths, fractures or less vascular calcification

Why it sounds right. It follows from something real on this page: a body step, an animal result or a related finding.

The missing step. Nobody measured this in people for this use, or the study that did measure it did not show it.

What would change this

A study in people, for this exact use, measuring this exact thing, that a reviewer signs off.

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Goes past the evidence

That calcitriol is a treatment for postmenopausal osteoporosis, which is not an approved indication and rests on one unreplicated single-blind trial

Why it sounds right. It follows from something real on this page: a body step, an animal result or a related finding.

The missing step. Nobody measured this in people for this use, or the study that did measure it did not show it.

What would change this

A study in people, for this exact use, measuring this exact thing, that a reviewer signs off.

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Goes past the evidence

That the newer analogues are safer, when the pooled hypercalcaemia relative risk against placebo was higher for them, at 5.15, than for the established sterols

Why it sounds right. It follows from something real on this page: a body step, an animal result or a related finding.

The missing step. Nobody measured this in people for this use, or the study that did measure it did not show it.

What would change this

A study in people, for this exact use, measuring this exact thing, that a reviewer signs off.

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Goes past the evidence

That ordinary vitamin D supplements do the same thing — they cannot, because the missing activation step is the one the kidney performs

Why it sounds right. It follows from something real on this page: a body step, an animal result or a related finding.

The missing step. Nobody measured this in people for this use, or the study that did measure it did not show it.

What would change this

A study in people, for this exact use, measuring this exact thing, that a reviewer signs off.

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What nobody knows yet

Open questions, each with why it is open and what would close it.

Missing populations

Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing long-term data

No completed tested study window is recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

No reviewed conclusion

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing interaction studies

No interaction was found in the registers checked. Not finding one is not the same as showing there is none.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Formulation uncertainty

Several salts, forms or products of Calcitriol are recorded. Results from one form may not transfer to another.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Mechanism not reviewed

No reviewed mechanism story exists for this substance.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Check any of this yourself

Every line above traced back to the study it came from. This is the technical layer, and the vocabulary changes here.

Every line above can be traced to the study named beside it. Follow the link and read it.

Seventy-six trials, and no demonstrated benefit to a patient
In plain words
All the randomised trials of vitamin D drugs in kidney disease were pooled: seventy-six of them, in 3667 people. They did not reduce deaths, bone pain, hardening of arteries or the need for parathyroid surgery. They roughly doubled the chance of a high calcium level.
What was measured
Hypercalcaemia relative risk 2.37 (95% CI 1.16 to 4.85) for established sterols; no reduction in death, bone pain, vascular calcification or parathyroidectomy across 76 trials
Effect estimate
No reviewed effect estimate exists for this record.
Limits
This entry records a failure.
From the source
Palmer and colleagues identified 76 randomised controlled trials of vitamin D compounds in chronic kidney disease enrolling 3667 participants. The compounds did not reduce the risk of death, bone pain, vascular calcification or parathyroidectomy. Against placebo, established vitamin D sterols — the group calcitriol belongs to — increased hypercalcaemia (relative risk 2.37, 95% CI 1.16 to 4.85) and hyperphosphataemia (relative risk 1.77, 95% CI 1.15 to 2.74) and did not show a consistent reduction in parathyroid hormone. Newer analogues did reduce parathyroid hormone (weighted mean difference -10.77 pmol/L, 95% CI -20.51 to -1.03) but were associated with hypercalcaemia at a relative risk of 5.15 (1.06 to 24.97). Only 8 of the 76 trials reported mortality. The authors concluded that vitamin D compounds do not consistently reduce parathyroid hormone and that beneficial effects on patient-level outcomes are unproven.
Source
Palmer SC et al., Ann Intern Med 2007;147:840-853
Role in the trial
Not matched to a registered study
Identity check
no open identity hold
Audit mark
caution
Review state
Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim
It is prescribed to move a number, and the number is not the outcome
In plain words
Treatment is guided by parathyroid hormone levels in blood. Bringing that number down is what the drug is judged on. Whether doing so makes anyone live longer, break fewer bones or feel better has not been established.
What was measured
That normalising parathyroid hormone and alkaline phosphatase translates into fewer fractures, less vascular calcification or longer life — the surrogate is measured routinely and the outcome has not been demonstrated
Effect estimate
No reviewed effect estimate exists for this record.
Limits
See the technical detail.
From the source
The label defines the predialysis indication around a serum intact parathyroid hormone level of 100 pg/mL or above as strongly suggestive of secondary hyperparathyroidism, and describes the dialysis indication in terms of enhanced calcium absorption, reduced serum alkaline phosphatase, possible reduction of parathyroid hormone and the histological manifestations of osteitis fibrosa cystica. Every one of those is a laboratory or histological measure. The pooled trial evidence found only 8 of 76 trials reported mortality at all, and found no reduction in bone pain, the one patient-level outcome that was reported. Treating a biochemical target is a reasonable clinical strategy in the absence of outcome trials; it is not the same as having them.
Source
Calcitriol United States prescribing information, Indications and Usage (openFDA label endpoint); Palmer SC et al., Ann Intern Med 2007;147:840-853
Role in the trial
Not matched to a registered study
Identity check
no open identity hold
Audit mark
contested
Review state
Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim
The 1992 osteoporosis trial was never replicated and never led to an indication
In plain words
A New Zealand trial in 622 women reported that this drug cut spinal fractures dramatically compared with calcium alone. It was only single-blind, the comparison group fractured at an extraordinary rate, the effect appeared only in a subgroup, and it never became an approved use.
What was measured
That calcitriol is an osteoporosis treatment — a single-blind trial against a calcium comparator with an implausibly high event rate, positive only in a subgroup, that no regulator converted into an indication
Effect estimate
No reviewed effect estimate exists for this record.
Limits
See the technical detail.
From the source
Tilyard and colleagues randomised 622 postmenopausal women with one or more vertebral compression fractures to calcitriol 0.25 micrograms twice daily or 1 g of elemental calcium daily for three years, in a single-blind multicentre study. New vertebral fractures were 9.3 against 25.0 per 100 patient-years in year two and 9.9 against 31.5 in year three, P<0.001. The effect was present only in the subgroup with five or fewer vertebral fractures at baseline, where the figures were 5.2 against 25.3 and 4.2 against 31.0. Peripheral fractures were 11 in 11 women against 24 in 22 women, P<0.05. Three features limit it: single-blind design in a fracture trial read radiographically, a calcium-group fracture rate several times higher than in contemporaneous placebo arms of other osteoporosis trials, and a treatment effect confined to a baseline-severity subgroup. Postmenopausal osteoporosis is not an approved indication for calcitriol in the United States, and the result has not been reproduced at that magnitude.
Source
Tilyard MW et al., N Engl J Med 1992;326:357-362
Role in the trial
Not matched to a registered study
Identity check
no open identity hold
Audit mark
contested
Review state
Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim
Hypercalcaemia is common and the label quantifies it
In plain words
In the hypoparathyroidism studies, about one in three patients had a high calcium level at least once and about one in seven had too much calcium in the urine. About one in six had a rise in a kidney blood test.
What was measured
Hypercalcaemia in about 1 in 3 patients, hypercalciuria in about 1 in 7, elevated serum creatinine in about 1 in 6, in the hypoparathyroidism programme
Effect estimate
No reviewed effect estimate exists for this record.
Limits
See the technical detail.
From the source
The label reports that in clinical studies in hypoparathyroidism and pseudohypoparathyroidism, hypercalcaemia was noted on at least one occasion in about one in three patients and hypercalciuria in about one in seven, while elevated serum creatinine was observed in about one in six, roughly half of whom had normal values at baseline. Where hypercalcaemia and hyperphosphataemia coexist, soft-tissue calcification can occur and can be seen radiographically. In patients with normal renal function, chronic hypercalcaemia may itself raise serum creatinine. Because the drug has a short biological half-life, calcium normalises within a few days of withdrawal, much faster than after vitamin D3 preparations.
Source
Calcitriol United States prescribing information, Adverse Reactions and Warnings (openFDA label endpoint)
Role in the trial
Not matched to a registered study
Identity check
no open identity hold
Audit mark
caution
Review state
Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim
This is a gene switch, not a mineral
In plain words
The drug does not carry calcium into the body. It binds a receptor that sits on DNA and turns on the genes for the transporters that carry calcium across the gut wall, and turns down the gene for parathyroid hormone.
What was measured
Roughly thousandfold higher vitamin D receptor affinity than 25-hydroxyvitamin D, requiring both the hepatic 25- and renal 1-alpha hydroxyls
Effect estimate
No reviewed effect estimate exists for this record.
Limits
See the technical detail.
From the source
Calcitriol binds the vitamin D receptor, which heterodimerises with the retinoid X receptor and occupies vitamin D response elements in target gene promoters. In intestinal epithelium this raises transcription of the apical calcium channel TRPV6 and of the cytosolic shuttle calbindin, increasing transcellular calcium absorption. In the parathyroid chief cell the same complex acts on a negative response element in the parathyroid hormone gene, suppressing its transcription — which is the basis of the secondary hyperparathyroidism indication and, in the same action, of the hypercalcaemia risk. The label describes the drug as the active hormone exerting vitamin D activity, and describes its adverse effects as in general those of excessive vitamin D intake.
Source
Calcitriol United States prescribing information, Indications and Usage and Adverse Reactions (openFDA label endpoint)
Role in the trial
Not matched to a registered study
Identity check
no open identity hold
Audit mark
verified
Review state
Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim

How many documents were read

  • 27 documents were read for this substance.

    RNAWiki source record

  • 22 of them state the same halfLife, and they agree.

    RNAWiki source record

Where else this substance is registered

FDA substance identifier (UNII)
FXC9231JVH
RxNorm concept
308867

Checks this page had to pass

  • Passed

    Identity resolved

    no open identity hold

  • Passed

    No unresolved merge across substance families

    no quarantine open

  • Passed

    Every public sentence names a source

    The opening statement carries the origin: Written into the record, not signed off.

  • Not passed

    Trial roles classified for highlighted evidence

    No registered study is classified as testing this substance.

  • Passed

    No internal keys in reader text

    enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

  • Not passed

    Safety mode resolved

    No register row and no identity class settled the question.

  • Passed

    Canonical metadata present

    slug and display name present

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

How this medicine reached us

Kept near the foot of the page. A historical event moves up only when it changes something about this substance today.

What the approval register records

  • 23 approved applications cover products containing this substance. The earliest was NDA018044, approved 19780817 to ESJAY PHARMA.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA018044 · read 2026-08-29

  • Marketing status on the register: discontinued and prescription.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA018044 · read 2026-08-29

  • The earliest marketing start date recorded for a listed product is 19991101.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 72266-251 · read 2026-08-29

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What to learn next

Ordered by what would most change how you read this page, starting with what is easiest to misunderstand.

This order is fixed in code and does not count clicks or time on the page.

What is not here

7 questions this page could not answer

These sections were prepared and left out because there was nothing to put in them. They are listed rather than hidden, so the gaps in this record are visible.

  • What was measured, goal by goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How close this is to real life — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Felt, measured, or meaningful — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How long anything takes — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What it may clash with — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Other ways to the same goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What changed on this page — found nothing in the sources checked.

The record as stored

The full record, for auditing

Everything above is built from what is below. This layer keeps the technical vocabulary, record identifiers and every stored row, so a reader who wants to check the page can.

The older medicine-wide conclusion held in this record

Written for a clinical reader, and about the medicine as a whole rather than about one indication, population and set of trials. RNAWiki does not treat it as a programme conclusion and no reviewer has signed it off in that form. It is here word for word because it is what the record holds.

The finished, kidney-activated form of vitamin D given as a drug when the kidney can no longer make it — a nuclear receptor ligand that switches on calcium-absorption genes in the gut and switches off parathyroid hormone transcription in the gland, and whose class, across 76 randomised trials in 3667 people, did not reduce death, bone pain, vascular calcification or parathyroidectomy while roughly doubling the risk of hypercalcaemia.

Recorded evidence blocks (9)

On the Calcitriol label: indicated for what?


"Predialysis Patients Calcitriol capsules are indicated in the management of secondary hyperparathyroidism and resultant metabolic bone disease in patients with moderate to severe chronic renal failure (Ccr 15 to 55 mL/min) not yet on dialysis. In children, the creatinine clearance value must be corrected for a surface…": indications and usage on Calcitriol's label. DailyMed label · bf621b22-b783-416f-aee3-e0dbfdb782ca · 2026-07-15

128 registered trials of Calcitriol — at which phases?


Registered studies posting no result
85 of 128

128 registered studies of Calcitriol: 40 phase2, 33 phase4, 23 na, 21 phase1, 12 phase3, 5 early phase1, 1 na or unstated. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

620 with a PubMed record

Show the evidence
  • phase2
    40
  • phase4
    33
  • na
    23
  • phase1
    21
  • phase3
    12
  • early phase1
    5
6 more recorded rows
  • na or unstated
    1
  • completed
    78
  • unknown
    22
  • terminated
    21
  • withdrawn
    4
  • recruiting
    3

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

23 of Calcitriol's trials stopped: safety, futility/efficacy, accrual/recruitment, funding/business, other?


safety (2), futility/efficacy (1), accrual/recruitment (6), funding/business (5) and other (9): Calcitriol's stop wording, clustered. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

"Lack of funds"; 23 of 128 registered studies

Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT00004468
    withdrawn; "Lack of funds"
  • NCT00084864
    terminated; "sample size is too small to draw a conclusion"
  • NCT00118066
    terminated; "Slow accruaL, lack of scientific progress"
  • NCT00273338
    terminated; "DSMB"
  • NCT00383487
    terminated; "Extreme toxicity"
  • NCT00459563
    withdrawn; "Inadequate enrollment"
14 further recorded trials
  • NCT00486512
    terminated; "The overall program was terminated"
  • NCT00508898
    withdrawn; "Funding problem; trial abandoned."
  • NCT00524589
    terminated; "closed due to futility"
  • NCT00536991
    terminated; "difficult to recruit"
  • NCT00585442
    terminated; "Lack of quality data"
  • NCT00623974
    terminated; "Terminated due to slow accrual."
  • NCT00664430
    terminated; "Low enrollment rate"
  • NCT01026363
    withdrawn; "Inadequate enrollment"
  • NCT01093092
    terminated; "Study transferring to INOVA Health"
  • NCT01134315
    terminated; "Terminated after FDA agreement."
  • NCT01725113
    terminated; "Nationwide shortage of study meds in 2013 loss of funding \& competing studies"
  • NCT02410005
    terminated; "Logistic challenges"
  • NCT02859896
    terminated; "The study was conducted to fulfill a post-marketing commitment (PMC).FDA acknowledged the fulfillment of this PMC."
  • NCT03261336
    terminated; "can not meet enrollment"

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Human studies of Calcitriol used Calcitriol 3mcg/g — over how long?


Human studies of Calcitriol used "Calcitriol 3mcg/g". ClinicalTrials.gov · 2026-09-01

11 recorded entries; human; also "0.5 mg calcitriol (1a -25-dihydroxycholecalciferol)", "placebo to 0.5 mg calcitriol (1a -25-dihydroxycholecalciferol)", "Compound 31543 Calcitriol 5 μg/mL"

Show the evidence

human

  • NCT00419666
    Calcitriol 3mcg/g
  • NCT00486512
    0.5 mg calcitriol (1a -25-dihydroxycholecalciferol)
  • NCT00486512
    placebo to 0.5 mg calcitriol (1a -25-dihydroxycholecalciferol)
  • NCT01588522
    Compound 31543 Calcitriol 5 μg/mL
  • NCT01588522
    Compound 31543 Calcitriol 10 μg/mL
  • NCT01588522
    Compound 31543 Calcitriol 20 μg/mL
5 more recorded rows
  • human NCT01588522
    Compound 31543 Calcitriol 40 μg/mL
  • human NCT01588522
    Compound 31543 Calcitriol 60 ug/mL
  • human NCT01588522
    Compound 31543 Calcitriol 80 μg/mL
  • human NCT01988116
    Oral Calcitriol 0.5 mcg once daily for 6 weeks
  • human NCT05202496
    Calcitriol 0.25Mcg Cap

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Calcitriol's half-life is 5 to 8 hours — which schedules were studied?


5 to 8 hours, the half-life Calcitriol's label states: "The elimination half-life of calcitriol in serum after single oral doses is about 5 to 8 hours in normal subjects." DailyMed label · bf621b22-b783-416f-aee3-e0dbfdb782ca · 2026-07-15

Show the evidence
  • half life pharmacokinetics
    5 to 8 hours; The elimination half-life of calcitriol in serum after single oral doses is about 5 to 8 hours in normal subjects.
  • metabolism pharmacokinetics
    Metabolism In vivo and in vitro studies indicate the presence of two pathways of metabolism for calcitriol.

recorded 2026-07-15 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 40 trials of Calcitriol posted no result?


Posted no result
40 of 40 completed trials
Registrations
NCT00004402, NCT00006275, NCT00000412, NCT00010231, NCT00004043 and NCT00601328, and 34 more
Completion dates
oldest 2000-06; newest 2024-07-31
Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT00004402
    2000-06
  • NCT00006275
    2000-07
  • NCT00000412
    2002-04
  • NCT00010231
    2002-11
  • NCT00004043
    2003-03
  • NCT00601328
    2003-08
14 further recorded trials
  • NCT00008086
    2004-09
  • NCT00004928
    2004-10
  • NCT00009802
    2005-06
  • NCT00054522
    2006-03
  • NCT00017576
    2006-07
  • NCT00182741
    2006-08
  • NCT00238199
    2006-08
  • NCT00560300
    2006-11
  • NCT00084708
    2007-05
  • NCT00319761
    2007-09
  • NCT00763503
    2009-02
  • NCT00030069
    2009-05
  • NCT00800358
    2009-12
  • NCT01205880
    2010-01

At the median, Calcitriol's trials enrolled 40 people — anything larger?


Median enrolment
40
Largest enrolment
2200
Registered trials counted
124

What do 986 spontaneous reports say about Calcitriol — and not say?


These are reports people sent to a regulator. They do not show the medicine caused the reaction. Nobody counted how many people took the medicine and reported nothing. The same event can be reported more than once, and many reports are incomplete. News coverage, lawsuits and new warnings change how often people report. A count is not a rate and not a risk.

Calcitriol appears in spontaneous reports to regulators. Across the 10 most-reported reaction terms, 986 reaction mentions were counted: hypercalcaemia 265; pain 118; acute kidney injury 91; hospitalisation 87. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL846 · 2026-06-24

Show the evidence
  • hypercalcaemia
    265
  • pain
    118
  • acute kidney injury
    91
  • hospitalisation
    87
  • macular degeneration
    78
  • hypertension
    73
4 more recorded rows
  • abdominal discomfort
    73
  • milk-alkali syndrome
    72
  • gastrooesophageal reflux disease
    70
  • confusional state
    59

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 10 reactions does Calcitriol's label not list?


abdominal discomfort, acute kidney injury and confusional state and 7 more reported for Calcitriol, absent from its label. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL846 · 2026-06-24

3 label terms; 10 reported and unlisted; 7fa4ab07-3d8e-4300-91f3-b1e17cba8691

Show the evidence
  • abdominal discomfort
    count not stated
  • acute kidney injury
    count not stated
  • confusional state
    count not stated
  • gastrooesophageal reflux disease
    count not stated
  • hospitalisation
    count not stated
  • hypercalcaemia
    count not stated
4 more recorded rows
  • hypertension
    count not stated
  • macular degeneration
    count not stated
  • milk-alkali syndrome
    count not stated
  • pain
    count not stated

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Where it is registered
Identifiers, relations and other names

The exact record

ChEMBL id
CHEMBL846
PubChem CID
5280453
CAS number
32222-06-3
RxCUI
1894
InChIKey
GMRQFYUYWCNGIN-NKMMMXOESA-N
Also called
1,25-dihydroxy vitamin d3, 1,25-dihydroxyvitamin d3, 1,25-hydroxylated vitamin d, 1alpha,25-dihydroxycholecalciferol, 1alpha,25-dihydroxyvitamin d3, 1,25 dihydroxycholecalciferol, 1,25(oh)2 vitamin d3, 1,25(oh)2d3, 1,25-dihydroxyvitamin d, 1,25d, active vitamin d, cd 2027
Trade name
Calcijex, Dihydroxyvitamin d 3, Rocaltrol, Silkis, Vectical, Rocaltrol / Calcijex / Vectical
Development code
RO 21-5535, RO-215535
Salt form
vectical ointment, CALCITRIOL CAPSULES 0.25 MCG, CALCITRIOL CAPSULES 0.5 MCG
Sources (7)

Sources

1 more source

ChEMBL 37 — CC BY-SA 3.0 Unported · ChEMBL ATC CC BY-SA · ClinicalTrials.gov — US Government work · Open Targets 26.06 — CC0 · mixed register set; per-register licences in docs/specs/corpus-20k-sources.md · openFDA / DailyMed — US Government work

How these records are assembled · Which registers were checked

Index-quality checks
  • identity passed: no open identity hold
  • required summary fields resolved: 4 required field(s) not terminal: Why people use it, Best-supported result, Biggest unanswered question, Human evidence
  • public claims reviewed: 0 reviewed claim(s); drafts are never rendered
  • source coverage passed: 7 source rows
  • no critical contamination: no quarantine open
  • canonical metadata passed: slug and display name present
  • no raw internal fields: enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

This is a record of evidence. It is not medical advice, and it does not say this substance suits you. Nothing here says any substance on RNAWiki is appropriate for a child.