Skip to content

Aztreonam

  • Prescription medicine
  • Prescription only
  • Identity checked
  • Sources last checked 2026-09-04

This page shows what was measured, who it was measured in, and what that does not settle.

What Aztreonam does in the body

The following infections caused by susceptible Gram-negative microorganisms

From the FDA-approved label: Aztreonam is a bactericidal agent that acts by inhibition of bacterial cell wall synthesis. Aztreonam has activity in the presence of some beta-lactamases, both penicillinases and cephalosporinases, of Gram-negative and Gram-positive bacteria.

What happened in people

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

A fixed RNAWiki sentence

Where this came from

Wording RNAWiki always uses, not a finding about this substance.

No reviewed claim names a result for any goal on this record.

No source is stored against this line.

The limit that matters most

Not recorded.

Where it acts
Not recorded.
Kind of result
No result is published, so no kind of result applies yet
Supervision
RNAWiki has not recorded a supervision or regulatory status for this substance.

What the registries record it as

  • The substance registry classes this as chemical.

    FDA substance registry · G2B4VE5GH8 · read 2026-08-29

Where each sentence above came from

No recorded sentence describes the change this makes in a way that stands on its own. The page opens with what it is taken for instead, and the recorded explanation follows below.

Shown as the opening line on this page.

No statement of the main limit is recorded.

The four opening statements run to 57 words.

Words this page uses

Four words worth knowing first

Chosen from what this page shows, with each one explained before the word it depends on.

Biomarker

A biomarker is a number from a test that stands in for something about health.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A biomarker is like a fuel gauge.

Where that stops being true. A gauge is wired to the tank. Many biomarkers are only loosely tied to health.

What people get wrong. A better number is read as a better life. Several medicines improved a number and helped nobody.

A measurable indicator used as a substitute for a clinical outcome of interest.

Placebo

A placebo is a dummy treatment given so the real one can be compared with it.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A placebo is like a blank control in an experiment.

Where that stops being true. A blank does nothing. People given a placebo often do get better.

What people get wrong. A placebo effect is read as imaginary. The improvement is measured and real.

An inactive intervention matched in appearance to the test intervention, used to control for non-specific effects.

Comparator

A comparator is whatever the treatment was measured against.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

It is like the other runner in a race.

Where that stops being true. A race has one winner. A study can show both arms improved.

What people get wrong. Results are read without asking what the other group got. Beating nothing is not beating a treatment.

The control condition against which the experimental intervention is assessed.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What happened in people

Each card is one study: the exact question it asked, who was in it, and whether it showed what it set out to show.

Number of days of broad-spectrum antibiotic therapy

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT05568654
How many people
28580
Study design
Not applicable
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Injection

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Objective Response of ≥20% Reduction in Lesion Erythema Area Compared to Baseline at 48 to 72 Hours After Initiation of Treatment as Determined by Digital Measurements of the Leading Edge.

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT01984684
How many people
850
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Injection

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Clinical Response at Test of Cure (TOC) in Modified Intent-to-treat (MITT) Analysis Set

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT01499277
How many people
802
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Injection

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Clinical Cure Rate at Test of Cure (TOC) (MITT Population)

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00424190
How many people
698
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Injection

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Clinical Cure Rate at Test of Cure (TOC) (MITT Population)

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00423657
How many people
680
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Injection

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Early Clinical Response

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT03137173
How many people
679
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Injection

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
What we know
RNAWiki holds 6 written-up human studies for this substance, each with the question it asked.
How we know it
Each card names the study, the number of people and what the study set out to measure.
What this does not prove
These summaries were written by a person and have not been signed off as reviewed claims.
Why it matters
A study that failed is as informative as one that worked, and both are here.
What we still do not know
No reviewed claim exists, so no exact population, effect size or interval is published yet.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Were people like you studied?

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it, and where the result stops carrying.

Who was studied

People similar to this profile were included.

  • To reduce the development of drug-resistant bacteria and maintain the effectiveness of AZACTAM (aztreonam for injection, USP) and other antibacterial drugs, AZACTAM should be used only to treat or prevent infections that are proven or strongly suspected to be caused by susceptible bacteria.

Who is missing from the studies

  • Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What the label states about particular groups

  • On pediatric, the label states: “Patients 7 years and older were included in clinical trials with CAYSTON.”

    US prescribing information · 67300ca3-8c53-4ce4-8e86-2c03be1f9b8a · read 2026-08-30

  • On older people, the label states: “Clinical trials of CAYSTON did not include CAYSTON-treated patients aged 65 years of age and older to determine whether they respond differently from younger patients.”

    US prescribing information · 67300ca3-8c53-4ce4-8e86-2c03be1f9b8a · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are pregnant, the label states: “Risk Summary Available data on CAYSTON use in pregnant women is insufficient to inform a drug-associated risk of major birth defects, miscarriage, or adverse maternal or fetal outcomes; however, systemic absorption of aztreonam following inhaled administration is expected to be minimal [see Clinical Pharmacology (12.3) ].”

    US prescribing information · 67300ca3-8c53-4ce4-8e86-2c03be1f9b8a · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are breastfeeding, the label states: “Risk Summary Following intravenous administration of aztreonam for injection, aztreonam is excreted in human milk at concentrations that are less than one percent of those determined in simultaneously obtained maternal serum.”

    US prescribing information · 67300ca3-8c53-4ce4-8e86-2c03be1f9b8a · read 2026-08-30

Where the result stopped carrying

  • This is a scope explorer, not a diagnosis engine.
  • It shows who was studied so you can see whether people similar to you were included.

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Why it might seem to do nothing

A real effect and a noticed effect are different things. These are the recorded reasons the two come apart.

It was studied in different people

The people in the studies were not much like the reader.

On this record: Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

The evidence may simply be wrong

Small early studies often do not hold up.

On this record: RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Other reasons RNAWiki checked and found nothing for (11)
It was studied for a different goal
The studies measured something else entirely. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
A different form was studied
The studied form is not the form on the shelf. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
There was nothing to correct
Where a level is already normal, topping it up may change nothing. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else had to happen too
In the studies it was paired with training, a diet or another treatment. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The change is too small to feel
A real change can still sit below what a person notices. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Day-to-day swing hides it
Sleep, food, stress and time of day move most numbers more than this would. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Not enough time yet
The studies ran longer than the person has waited. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
It was not taken as studied
Missed days change the result, and studies count them. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else changed at the same time
Two changes at once cannot be told apart afterwards. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The product may not be what it says
Contents of a sold product are not always what the label states. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
No recorded reason
RNAWiki has nothing stored that would explain it. Nothing in this record points to this reason.

None of these is a reason to take more. Taking more is not a step this page ever suggests.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What taking it involves

The recorded facts about getting hold of it and using it. Nothing here is a suggestion about what you should do.

How it is supplied

Prescription only

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Read from the recorded approval status.

No source is stored against this line.

Form and route

Injection

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form and route recorded on this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

Who oversees it

RNAWiki has not recorded a supervision or regulatory status for this substance.

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

No register row and no identity class settled the question.

No source is stored against this line.

What is in the pack

Sold as injectable, for solution, powder, injection, powder, for solution, given by the injection, inhalation, intravenous route.

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

Recorded notes on how this is sold and what that means for what is in the pack.

No source is stored against this line.

Where it is registered

Regulatory records are listed in the technical disclosure at the foot of this page.

Counted from records

Where this came from

A count of rows RNAWiki holds. It describes our records, not your body.

Register entries are stored per jurisdiction and shown with their dates.

No source is stored against this line.

Why people stop

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

No record of why people stopped taking it is stored for this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

What it would be like to takeNothing found in the sources checked

What can go wrong

Sorted by where each line came from. A regulator's label and a report somebody sent in are not the same kind of fact.

Nothing found in the sources checked

No harm is recorded against this substance in the sources RNAWiki checked. Finding nothing is not the same as showing there is nothing.

The sources listed were searched and held nothing. That is not the same as nothing existing.

Over a long time. No completed tested study window is recorded, so long-term effects are not established by the registry record.

Groups the studies covered thinly. Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Does the exact form matter?

Evidence belongs to the exact thing that was tested. A different salt, a different mixture or a different preparation is a different question.

The form that was studied

Injection

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form used in the studies cited on this page.

No source is stored against this line.

What is sold

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

Nothing further is recorded about which forms are sold.

No source is stored against this line.

What is recorded as being sold

  • 21 products list this as an active ingredient in the United States drug directory. 20 of them contain it and nothing else.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 24525-0025 · read 2026-08-29

  • They are sold as inhalant, injection, powder, for solution, injection, powder, lyophilized, for solution, powder and powder, for solution, taken intramuscular and intravenous.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 24525-0025 · read 2026-08-29

  • The regulator's established pharmacologic class for it is monobactam antibacterial [epc] and monobactams [cs].

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 24525-0025 · read 2026-08-29

  • 8 published labels name it as an active ingredient. 7 of them describe this substance alone, which is where its own label text on this page comes from.

    US prescribing information · 9a105eaf-ee77-4016-beeb-d425a5565db2 · read 2026-08-29

  • Those labels are classed as human prescription drug.

    US prescribing information · 9a105eaf-ee77-4016-beeb-d425a5565db2 · read 2026-08-29

Evidence carries across two names for one substance. It does not carry across a salt, a mirror form or a mixture.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What you could measure

This one is decided with a clinician, so this section holds questions to ask rather than a plan to run.

RNAWiki could not confidently classify this substance, so no self-experiment plan is offered.

Questions worth asking

  • Which of the trials of Aztreonam studied people like me?
  • What was measured, and for how long?
  • Was the result a laboratory value or a health outcome?
  • What would we watch for, and when would we stop?

Tracking can show whether something changed for you. It cannot show what caused it.

RNAWiki records evidence. It does not say whether this substance is right for you.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What nobody knows yet

Open questions, each with why it is open and what would close it.

Missing populations

Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing long-term data

No completed tested study window is recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

No reviewed conclusion

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing interaction studies

No interaction was found in the registers checked. Not finding one is not the same as showing there is none.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Formulation uncertainty

Several salts, forms or products of Aztreonam are recorded. Results from one form may not transfer to another.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Mechanism not reviewed

No reviewed mechanism story exists for this substance.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Check any of this yourself

Every line above traced back to the study it came from. This is the technical layer, and the vocabulary changes here.

How many documents were read

  • 7 documents were read for this substance.

    RNAWiki source record

  • 6 of them state the same halfLife, and they agree.

    RNAWiki source record

  • 6 of them state the same proteinBinding, and they agree.

    RNAWiki source record

  • 6 of them state the same volumeOfDistribution, and they agree.

    RNAWiki source record

Where else this substance is registered

FDA substance identifier (UNII)
G2B4VE5GH8
RxNorm concept
1664981

Checks this page had to pass

  • Passed

    Identity resolved

    no open identity hold

  • Passed

    No unresolved merge across substance families

    no quarantine open

  • Passed

    Every public sentence names a source

    The opening statement carries the origin: Written into the record, not signed off.

  • Not passed

    Trial roles classified for highlighted evidence

    No registered study is classified as testing this substance.

  • Passed

    No internal keys in reader text

    enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

  • Not passed

    Safety mode resolved

    No register row and no identity class settled the question.

  • Passed

    Canonical metadata present

    slug and display name present

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

How this medicine reached us

Kept near the foot of the page. A historical event moves up only when it changes something about this substance today.

What the approval register records

  • 8 approved applications cover products containing this substance. The earliest was NDA050580, approved 19861231 to LABS DELBERT.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA050580 · read 2026-08-29

  • Marketing status on the register: discontinued and prescription.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA050580 · read 2026-08-29

  • The earliest marketing start date recorded for a listed product is 20090715.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 24525-0025 · read 2026-08-29

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What to learn next

Ordered by what would most change how you read this page, starting with what is easiest to misunderstand.

This order is fixed in code and does not count clicks or time on the page.

What is not here

9 questions this page could not answer

These sections were prepared and left out because there was nothing to put in them. They are listed rather than hidden, so the gaps in this record are visible.

  • What was measured, goal by goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How close this is to real life — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • The path through the body — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Felt, measured, or meaningful — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How long anything takes — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What it may clash with — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Other ways to the same goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Claims that go past the evidence — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What changed on this page — found nothing in the sources checked.

The record as stored

The full record, for auditing

Everything above is built from what is below. This layer keeps the technical vocabulary, record identifiers and every stored row, so a reader who wants to check the page can.

Recorded evidence blocks (9)

On the Aztreonam label: indicated for what?


"CAYSTON ® is indicated to improve respiratory symptoms in cystic fibrosis (CF) patients with Pseudomonas aeruginosa . Safety and effectiveness have not been established in pediatric patients below the age of 7 years, patients with FEV 1 <25% or >75% predicted, or patients colonized with Burkholderia cepacia [see…": indications and usage on Aztreonam's label. DailyMed label · 67300ca3-8c53-4ce4-8e86-2c03be1f9b8a · 2025-12-01

28 registered trials of Aztreonam — at which phases?


Registered studies posting no result
10 of 28

28 registered studies of Aztreonam: 13 phase3, 9 phase2, 3 phase1, 3 phase4, 2 na or unstated, 1 early phase1. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

253 with a PubMed record

Show the evidence
  • phase3
    13
  • phase2
    9
  • phase1
    3
  • phase4
    3
  • na or unstated
    2
  • early phase1
    1
3 more recorded rows
  • completed
    21
  • terminated
    6
  • not yet recruiting
    1

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

6 of Aztreonam's trials stopped: accrual/recruitment, other?


accrual/recruitment (4) and other (2): Aztreonam's stop wording, clustered. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

"Not enough patient enrollment and lack of staffing"; 6 of 28 registered studies

Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT02099240
    terminated; "Not enough patient enrollment and lack of staffing"
  • NCT02168816
    terminated; "The study was stopped for feasibility (i.e., low recruitment)"
  • NCT02202135
    terminated; "Overall study status is changed to "Terminated" due to low enrollment"
  • NCT02730793
    terminated; "terminated due to an inability to recruit study subjects"
  • NCT03219164
    terminated; "Study was terminated early by sponsor due to the challenges and risks introduced by Coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) pandemic."
  • NCT03696290
    terminated; "Poor recruitment"

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Human studies of Aztreonam used Aztreonam 2000 mg — over how long?


Human studies of Aztreonam used "Aztreonam 2000 mg". ClinicalTrials.gov · 2026-09-01

Show the evidence
  • human NCT07113574
    Aztreonam 2000 mg

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Aztreonam's half-life is 2.1 hours — which schedules were studied?


2.1 hours, the half-life Aztreonam's label states: "Excretion The elimination half-life of aztreonam from plasma is approximately 2.1 hours following administration of CAYSTON to adult patients with CF, similar to what has been reported for aztreonam for injection." DailyMed label · 67300ca3-8c53-4ce4-8e86-2c03be1f9b8a · 2025-12-01

tmax 28 days.

Show the evidence
  • half life pharmacokinetics
    2.1 hours; Excretion The elimination half-life of aztreonam from plasma is approximately 2.1 hours following administration of CAYSTON to adult patients with CF, similar to what has been reported for aztreonam for injection.
  • tmax pharmacokinetics
    28 days; Mean peak plasma concentrations in patients receiving CAYSTON 3 times a day for 28 days were 0.55 mcg/mL, 0.67 mcg/mL, and 0.65 mcg/mL on Days 0, 14, and 28, respectively, indicating no systemic accumulation of aztreonam.
  • metabolism pharmacokinetics
    Metabolism Following intramuscular administration of aztreonam for injection 500 mg every 8 hours for 7 days, approximately 6% of the dose was excreted as a microbiologically inactive open β-lactam ring hydrolysis product in an 8-hour urine collection on the last day of multiple dosing.

recorded 2025-12-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 7 trials of Aztreonam posted no result?


Posted no result
7 of 7 completed trials
Registrations
NCT01055847, NCT02179710, NCT03376529, NCT02894684, NCT02795949 and NCT02449031, and 1 more
Completion dates
oldest 2004-09; newest 2022-07-24
Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT01055847
    2004-09
  • NCT02179710
    2016-09
  • NCT03376529
    2017-12-20
  • NCT02894684
    2019-09
  • NCT02795949
    2020-01
  • NCT02449031
    2021-12-31
  • 1 further recorded trial NCT07113574
    2022-07-24

At the median, Aztreonam's trials enrolled 105 people — anything larger?


Median enrolment
105
Largest enrolment
850
Registered trials counted
28

What do 576 spontaneous reports say about Aztreonam — and not say?


These are reports people sent to a regulator. They do not show the medicine caused the reaction. Nobody counted how many people took the medicine and reported nothing. The same event can be reported more than once, and many reports are incomplete. News coverage, lawsuits and new warnings change how often people report. A count is not a rate and not a risk.

Aztreonam appears in spontaneous reports to regulators. Across the 10 most-reported reaction terms, 576 reaction mentions were counted: infective pulmonary exacerbation of cystic fibrosis 82; dyspnoea 81; cough 80; eosinophilia 62. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL158 · 2026-06-24

Show the evidence
  • infective pulmonary exacerbation of cystic fibrosis
    82
  • dyspnoea
    81
  • cough
    80
  • eosinophilia
    62
  • rash
    58
  • pyrexia
    52
4 more recorded rows
  • haemoptysis
    52
  • chest discomfort
    37
  • drug reaction with eosinophilia and systemic symptoms
    36
  • condition aggravated
    36

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 10 reactions does Aztreonam's label not list?


chest discomfort, condition aggravated and cough and 7 more reported for Aztreonam, absent from its label. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL158 · 2026-06-24

3 label terms; 10 reported and unlisted; 67300ca3-8c53-4ce4-8e86-2c03be1f9b8a

Show the evidence
  • chest discomfort
    count not stated
  • condition aggravated
    count not stated
  • cough
    count not stated
  • drug reaction with eosinophilia and systemic symptoms
    count not stated
  • dyspnoea
    count not stated
  • eosinophilia
    count not stated
4 more recorded rows
  • haemoptysis
    count not stated
  • infective pulmonary exacerbation of cystic fibrosis
    count not stated
  • pyrexia
    count not stated
  • rash
    count not stated

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Where it is registered
Identifiers, relations and other names

The exact record

ChEMBL id
CHEMBL158
PubChem CID
5459211
CAS number
99341-02-3
RxCUI
1664981
InChIKey
WZPBZJONDBGPKJ-VEHQQRBSSA-N
Trade name
Azactam, Cayston, Azactam in Plastic Container, Azactam / Azactam in Plastic Container / Cayston, Emblaveo
Also called
Azonam, Aztreon, Nebactam, Primbactam, atm, azli, AZTREONAM LYSINE, Aztreonam l-lysine salt, Aztreonam lysinate, Aztreonam [INN], Aztreonam [JAN], Aztreonam [MART.]
Development code
NSC-646279, NSC-758913, SO 26776, SQ 26776, Corus 1020, CORUS1020
Salt form
aztreonam for inhalation solution
Sources (6)

Sources

ChEMBL 37 — CC BY-SA 3.0 Unported · ChEMBL ATC CC BY-SA · ClinicalTrials.gov — US Government work · Open Targets 26.06 — CC0 · mixed register set; per-register licences in docs/specs/corpus-20k-sources.md · openFDA / DailyMed — US Government work

How these records are assembled · Which registers were checked

Index-quality checks
  • identity passed: no open identity hold
  • required summary fields resolved: 4 required field(s) not terminal: Why people use it, Best-supported result, Biggest unanswered question, Human evidence
  • public claims reviewed: 0 reviewed claim(s); drafts are never rendered
  • source coverage passed: 6 source rows
  • no critical contamination: no quarantine open
  • canonical metadata passed: slug and display name present
  • no raw internal fields: enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

This is a record of evidence. It is not medical advice, and it does not say this substance suits you. Nothing here says any substance on RNAWiki is appropriate for a child.