Skip to content

Atenolol

  • Prescription medicine
  • Prescription only
  • Identity checked
  • Sources last checked 2026-09-04

This page shows what was measured, who it was measured in, and what that does not settle.

What Atenolol does in the body

Hypertension, to lower blood pressure

From the FDA-approved label: Atenolol is a beta 1 -selective (cardioselective) beta-adrenergic receptor blocking agent without membrane stabilizing or intrinsic sympathomimetic (partial agonist) activities. This preferential effect is not absolute, however, and at higher doses, atenolol inhibits beta 2 -adrenoreceptors, chiefly located in the bronchial and vascular musculature. Pharmacokinetics and Metabolism In man, absorption of an oral dose is rapid and consistent but incomplete. Approximately 50% of an oral dose is absorbed from the gastrointestinal tract, the remainder being excreted unchanged in the feces. Peak blood levels are reached between two (2) and four (4) hours after ingestion.

What happened in people

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

A fixed RNAWiki sentence

Where this came from

Wording RNAWiki always uses, not a finding about this substance.

No reviewed claim names a result for any goal on this record.

No source is stored against this line.

The limit that matters most

Not recorded.

Where it acts
Not recorded.
Kind of result
No result is published, so no kind of result applies yet
Supervision
RNAWiki has not recorded a supervision or regulatory status for this substance.

What the registries record it as

  • The substance registry classes this as chemical.

    FDA substance registry · 50VV3VW0TI · read 2026-08-29

Where each sentence above came from

No recorded sentence describes the change this makes in a way that stands on its own. The page opens with what it is taken for instead, and the recorded explanation follows below.

Shown as the opening line on this page.

No statement of the main limit is recorded.

The four opening statements run to 116 words.

Words this page uses

Four words worth knowing first

Chosen from what this page shows, with each one explained before the word it depends on.

Biomarker

A biomarker is a number from a test that stands in for something about health.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A biomarker is like a fuel gauge.

Where that stops being true. A gauge is wired to the tank. Many biomarkers are only loosely tied to health.

What people get wrong. A better number is read as a better life. Several medicines improved a number and helped nobody.

A measurable indicator used as a substitute for a clinical outcome of interest.

Placebo

A placebo is a dummy treatment given so the real one can be compared with it.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A placebo is like a blank control in an experiment.

Where that stops being true. A blank does nothing. People given a placebo often do get better.

What people get wrong. A placebo effect is read as imaginary. The improvement is measured and real.

An inactive intervention matched in appearance to the test intervention, used to control for non-specific effects.

Comparator

A comparator is whatever the treatment was measured against.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

It is like the other runner in a race.

Where that stops being true. A race has one winner. A study can show both arms improved.

What people get wrong. Results are read without asking what the other group got. Beating nothing is not beating a treatment.

The control condition against which the experimental intervention is assessed.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What happened in people

Each card is one study: the exact question it asked, who was in it, and whether it showed what it set out to show.

First occurrence of death or nonfatal myocardial infarction (MI) or nonfatal stroke

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00133692
How many people
22000
Study design
Phase 4
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
Living longer, or avoiding a major event
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

To evaluate the impact of circadian time of treatment in cardiovascular, cerebrovascular, metabolic, and renal risk assessment.

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00741585
How many people
21983
Study design
Phase 4
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Number of hypertensive subjects with BP controlled during follow-up

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT03147092
How many people
15000
Study design
Early phase 1
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Incidence rate of the composite of "all-cause death, nonfatal reinfarction, or heart failure hospitalization" (MACE)

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT03596385
How many people
8505
Study design
Phase 4
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
Living longer, or avoiding a major event
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Polycap Primary Objective

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT01646437
How many people
7793
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Time to the composite of death of any cause or MI

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT03278509
How many people
5000
Study design
Phase 4
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
Living longer, or avoiding a major event
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
What we know
RNAWiki holds 6 written-up human studies for this substance, each with the question it asked.
How we know it
Each card names the study, the number of people and what the study set out to measure.
What this does not prove
These summaries were written by a person and have not been signed off as reviewed claims.
Why it matters
A study that failed is as informative as one that worked, and both are here.
What we still do not know
No reviewed claim exists, so no exact population, effect size or interval is published yet.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Were people like you studied?

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it, and where the result stops carrying.

Who was studied

People similar to this profile were included.

  • Hypertension Atenolol tablets are indicated for the treatment of hypertension, to lower blood pressure. Lowering blood pressure lowers the risk of fatal and non-fatal cardiovascular events, primarily strokes and myocardial infarctions. These benefits have been seen in controlled trials of antihypertensive drugs from a wide variety of pharmacologic classes including atenolol.

Who is missing from the studies

  • Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What the label states about particular groups

  • On pediatric, the label states: “Safety and effectiveness in pediatric patients have not been established.”

    US prescribing information · 24f1f3f4-bbda-458b-b15f-d942c90534e2 · read 2026-08-30

  • On older people, the label states: “Hypertension and Angina Pectoris Due to Coronary Atherosclerosis Clinical studies of atenolol did not include sufficient number of patients aged 65 and over to determine whether they respond differently from younger subjects.”

    US prescribing information · 24f1f3f4-bbda-458b-b15f-d942c90534e2 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are pregnant, the label states: “Usage in Pregnancy Teratogenic Effects Pregnancy Category D See WARNINGS , Pregnancy and Fetal Injury .”

    US prescribing information · 24f1f3f4-bbda-458b-b15f-d942c90534e2 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are breastfeeding, the label states: “Atenolol is excreted in human breast milk at a ratio of 1.5 to 6.8 when compared to the concentration in plasma.”

    US prescribing information · 24f1f3f4-bbda-458b-b15f-d942c90534e2 · read 2026-08-30

Where the result stopped carrying

  • This is a scope explorer, not a diagnosis engine.
  • It shows who was studied so you can see whether people similar to you were included.

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Why it might seem to do nothing

A real effect and a noticed effect are different things. These are the recorded reasons the two come apart.

It was studied in different people

The people in the studies were not much like the reader.

On this record: Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

The evidence may simply be wrong

Small early studies often do not hold up.

On this record: RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Other reasons RNAWiki checked and found nothing for (11)
It was studied for a different goal
The studies measured something else entirely. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
A different form was studied
The studied form is not the form on the shelf. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
There was nothing to correct
Where a level is already normal, topping it up may change nothing. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else had to happen too
In the studies it was paired with training, a diet or another treatment. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The change is too small to feel
A real change can still sit below what a person notices. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Day-to-day swing hides it
Sleep, food, stress and time of day move most numbers more than this would. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Not enough time yet
The studies ran longer than the person has waited. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
It was not taken as studied
Missed days change the result, and studies count them. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else changed at the same time
Two changes at once cannot be told apart afterwards. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The product may not be what it says
Contents of a sold product are not always what the label states. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
No recorded reason
RNAWiki has nothing stored that would explain it. Nothing in this record points to this reason.

None of these is a reason to take more. Taking more is not a step this page ever suggests.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What taking it involves

The recorded facts about getting hold of it and using it. Nothing here is a suggestion about what you should do.

How it is supplied

Prescription only

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Read from the recorded approval status.

No source is stored against this line.

Form and route

Oral

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form and route recorded on this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

Who oversees it

RNAWiki has not recorded a supervision or regulatory status for this substance.

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

No register row and no identity class settled the question.

No source is stored against this line.

What is in the pack

Sold as tablet, injectable, given by the oral, injection route.

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

Recorded notes on how this is sold and what that means for what is in the pack.

No source is stored against this line.

Where it is registered

Regulatory records are listed in the technical disclosure at the foot of this page.

Counted from records

Where this came from

A count of rows RNAWiki holds. It describes our records, not your body.

Register entries are stored per jurisdiction and shown with their dates.

No source is stored against this line.

Why people stop

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

No record of why people stopped taking it is stored for this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

What it would be like to takeNothing found in the sources checked

What can go wrong

Sorted by where each line came from. A regulator's label and a report somebody sent in are not the same kind of fact.

Nothing found in the sources checked

No harm is recorded against this substance in the sources RNAWiki checked. Finding nothing is not the same as showing there is nothing.

The sources listed were searched and held nothing. That is not the same as nothing existing.

Over a long time. No completed tested study window is recorded, so long-term effects are not established by the registry record.

Groups the studies covered thinly. Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Does the exact form matter?

Evidence belongs to the exact thing that was tested. A different salt, a different mixture or a different preparation is a different question.

The form that was studied

Oral

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form used in the studies cited on this page.

No source is stored against this line.

What is sold

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

Nothing further is recorded about which forms are sold.

No source is stored against this line.

What is recorded as being sold

  • 158 products list this as an active ingredient in the United States drug directory. 137 of them contain it and nothing else.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 0904-7187 · read 2026-08-29

  • They are sold as powder and tablet, taken oral.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 0904-7187 · read 2026-08-29

  • The regulator's established pharmacologic class for it is adrenergic beta-antagonists [moa] and beta-adrenergic blocker [epc].

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 0904-7187 · read 2026-08-29

  • 106 published labels name it as an active ingredient. 95 of them describe this substance alone, which is where its own label text on this page comes from.

    US prescribing information · a6794dfa-adbb-491b-9d48-f89a44e866c5 · read 2026-08-29

  • Those labels are classed as human prescription drug.

    US prescribing information · a6794dfa-adbb-491b-9d48-f89a44e866c5 · read 2026-08-29

  • Atenolol is oral at HOW SUPPLIED Atenolol tablets USP, 25 mg (White to off-white marble finish, round, flat beveled edge tablets., recorded as fda label in effect 2022-06-01 in the United States.

    US prescribing information · 24f1f3f4-bbda-458b-b15f-d942c90534e2 · read 2026-08-30

  • Recorded price in US: 0.02168–0.03702 USD per one unit as the pricing file counts it — a tablet, capsule, patch or single item, across 51 priced products whose strengths and pack forms differ, as of 2026-08-26, paid by retail pharmacies buying the product, as surveyed by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. It is not a list price, an insurance price, or what anyone pays at a counter..

    Recorded source · 2026-08-26 · read 2026-08-28

Evidence carries across two names for one substance. It does not carry across a salt, a mirror form or a mixture.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What you could measure

This one is decided with a clinician, so this section holds questions to ask rather than a plan to run.

RNAWiki could not confidently classify this substance, so no self-experiment plan is offered.

Questions worth asking

  • Which of the trials of Atenolol studied people like me?
  • What was measured, and for how long?
  • Was the result a laboratory value or a health outcome?
  • What would we watch for, and when would we stop?

Tracking can show whether something changed for you. It cannot show what caused it.

RNAWiki records evidence. It does not say whether this substance is right for you.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What nobody knows yet

Open questions, each with why it is open and what would close it.

Missing populations

Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing long-term data

No completed tested study window is recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

No reviewed conclusion

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing interaction studies

No interaction was found in the registers checked. Not finding one is not the same as showing there is none.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Formulation uncertainty

Several salts, forms or products of Atenolol are recorded. Results from one form may not transfer to another.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Mechanism not reviewed

No reviewed mechanism story exists for this substance.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Check any of this yourself

Every line above traced back to the study it came from. This is the technical layer, and the vocabulary changes here.

How many documents were read

  • 95 documents were read for this substance.

    RNAWiki source record

  • 95 of them state the same halfLife, and they agree.

    RNAWiki source record

Where else this substance is registered

FDA substance identifier (UNII)
50VV3VW0TI
RxNorm concept
197379

Checks this page had to pass

  • Passed

    Identity resolved

    no open identity hold

  • Passed

    No unresolved merge across substance families

    no quarantine open

  • Passed

    Every public sentence names a source

    The opening statement carries the origin: Written into the record, not signed off.

  • Not passed

    Trial roles classified for highlighted evidence

    No registered study is classified as testing this substance.

  • Passed

    No internal keys in reader text

    enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

  • Not passed

    Safety mode resolved

    No register row and no identity class settled the question.

  • Passed

    Canonical metadata present

    slug and display name present

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

How this medicine reached us

Kept near the foot of the page. A historical event moves up only when it changes something about this substance today.

  1. Withdrawn in United States, 2022, for "Label Mix - up; a bottle labeled as Atenolol 25mg Tablets contained Clopidogrel 75mg Tablets" (openFDA drug enforcement Class I recall)

What the approval register records

  • 42 approved applications cover products containing this substance. The earliest was NDA018240, approved 19810819 to TWI PHARMS.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA018240 · read 2026-08-29

  • Marketing status on the register: discontinued and prescription.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA018240 · read 2026-08-29

  • The earliest marketing start date recorded for a listed product is 19920124.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 0904-7187 · read 2026-08-29

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What to learn next

Ordered by what would most change how you read this page, starting with what is easiest to misunderstand.

This order is fixed in code and does not count clicks or time on the page.

What is not here

9 questions this page could not answer

These sections were prepared and left out because there was nothing to put in them. They are listed rather than hidden, so the gaps in this record are visible.

  • What was measured, goal by goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How close this is to real life — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • The path through the body — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Felt, measured, or meaningful — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How long anything takes — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What it may clash with — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Other ways to the same goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Claims that go past the evidence — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What changed on this page — found nothing in the sources checked.

The record as stored

The full record, for auditing

Everything above is built from what is below. This layer keeps the technical vocabulary, record identifiers and every stored row, so a reader who wants to check the page can.

Recorded evidence blocks (9)

On the Atenolol label: indicated for what?


"Hypertension Atenolol tablets are indicated for the treatment of hypertension, to lower blood pressure. Lowering blood pressure lowers the risk of fatal and non-fatal cardiovascular events, primarily strokes and myocardial infarctions.": indications and usage on Atenolol's label. DailyMed label · 70d7a585-7a46-4eac-b2b5-2ac5b98d9882 · 2025-12-05

84 registered trials of Atenolol — at which phases?


Registered studies posting no result
55 of 84

84 registered studies of Atenolol: 33 phase4, 20 phase3, 11 na, 9 phase2, 7 phase1, 4 early phase1, 3 na or unstated. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

2087 with a PubMed record

Show the evidence
  • phase4
    33
  • phase3
    20
  • na
    11
  • phase2
    9
  • phase1
    7
  • early phase1
    4
7 more recorded rows
  • na or unstated
    3
  • completed
    54
  • unknown
    12
  • terminated
    9
  • withdrawn
    4
  • recruiting
    3
  • enrolling by invitation
    2

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

11 of Atenolol's trials stopped: safety, accrual/recruitment, funding/business, other?


safety (2), accrual/recruitment (5), funding/business (2) and other (2): Atenolol's stop wording, clustered. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

"Stopped by data safety monitoring board"; 11 of 84 registered studies

Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT00582114
    terminated; "Stopped by data safety monitoring board"
  • NCT00589303
    terminated; "Lack of funding"
  • NCT00625742
    terminated; "Low Accrual"
  • NCT01009944
    withdrawn; "Not funded."
  • NCT01132768
    terminated; "Low recruitment"
  • NCT01202721
    terminated; "Terminated early due to lack of study feasibility and poor patient recruitment"
5 further recorded trials
  • NCT02479204
    terminated; "Based on results from the pilot phase, the study is terminated. No safety events leading to discontinuation were reported"
  • NCT03070730
    terminated; "Recruitment was slow and subjects declined participation after signing the ICF."
  • NCT03082014
    terminated; "completed for the primary study group of sporadic SVD patients, halted prematurely for the additional study group due to slow recruitment at 26 of 30 CADASIL patients in December 2022"
  • NCT03245970
    withdrawn; "Investigator retired. Other investigators did not want to continue study."
  • NCT03578354
    withdrawn; "Funding not acquired"

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Human studies of Atenolol used atenolol 50 mg — over how long?


Human studies of Atenolol used "atenolol 50 mg". ClinicalTrials.gov · 2026-09-01

14 recorded entries; human; also "Atenolol 50 mg tablets", "Atenolol 100 mg tablets", "Atenolol 100mg Tablets"

Show the evidence

human

  • NCT00310778
    atenolol 50 mg
  • NCT00687973
    Atenolol 50 mg tablets
  • NCT00687973
    Atenolol 100 mg tablets
  • NCT00775580
    Atenolol 100mg Tablets
  • NCT00913965
    Atenolol Tablets 100 mg (Cord Laboratories)
  • NCT00913965
    Atenolol Tablets 100 mg (Stuart Pharmaceutical)
8 more recorded rows
  • human NCT00946725
    Atenolol (Tenormin) 100 mg Tablets Zeneca (Astra Zeneca Pharmaceutical)
  • human NCT00946725
    Atenolol 100 mg Tablets (Geneva Pharmaceutical, Inc.)
  • human NCT01202721
    Atenolol 25/50/100 mg
  • human NCT01445964
    Atenolol with apple juice 1200 mL
  • human NCT01445964
    Atenolol with apple juice 600 mL
  • human NCT03105661
    Atenolol 25 mg
  • human NCT03245970
    Atenolol 25 mg daily
  • human NCT04905277
    Atenolol 50 MG

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Atenolol's half-life is 6 to 7 hours — which schedules were studied?


6 to 7 hours, the half-life Atenolol's label states: "The elimination half-life of oral atenolol is approximately 6 to 7 hours, and there is no alteration of the kinetic profile of the drug by chronic administration." DailyMed label · 70d7a585-7a46-4eac-b2b5-2ac5b98d9882 · 2025-12-05

Show the evidence
  • half life pharmacokinetics
    6 to 7 hours; The elimination half-life of oral atenolol is approximately 6 to 7 hours, and there is no alteration of the kinetic profile of the drug by chronic administration.
  • metabolism pharmacokinetics
    and Metabolism In man, absorption of an oral dose is rapid and consistent but incomplete.

recorded 2025-12-05 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 29 trials of Atenolol posted no result?


Posted no result
29 of 29 completed trials
Registrations
NCT00913965, NCT00000513, NCT00000514, NCT00000478, NCT00946725 and NCT00158093, and 23 more
Completion dates
oldest 1989-08; newest 2023-10-01
Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT00913965
    1989-08
  • NCT00000513
    1994-11
  • NCT00000514
    1996-10
  • NCT00000478
    1997-06
  • NCT00946725
    2000-11
  • NCT00158093
    2003-07
14 further recorded trials
  • NCT00529750
    2005-01
  • NCT00185094
    2005-07
  • NCT00775580
    2005-07
  • NCT00185185
    2006-02
  • NCT00310778
    2007-03
  • NCT02262533
    2007-06
  • NCT00171132
    2007-08
  • NCT00507663
    2007-11
  • NCT01295047
    2008-12
  • NCT02441842
    2008-12
  • NCT01030016
    2009-05
  • NCT01587638
    2009-12
  • NCT01022463
    2010-10
  • NCT00593710
    2011-12

At the median, Atenolol's trials enrolled 76 people — anything larger?


Median enrolment
76
Largest enrolment
22213
Registered trials counted
81

What do 4171 spontaneous reports say about Atenolol — and not say?


These are reports people sent to a regulator. They do not show the medicine caused the reaction. Nobody counted how many people took the medicine and reported nothing. The same event can be reported more than once, and many reports are incomplete. News coverage, lawsuits and new warnings change how often people report. A count is not a rate and not a risk.

Atenolol appears in spontaneous reports to regulators. Across the 10 most-reported reaction terms, 4171 reaction mentions were counted: bradycardia 1171; hypotension 884; syncope 435; drug interaction 379. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL24 · 2026-06-24

Show the evidence
  • bradycardia
    1171
  • hypotension
    884
  • syncope
    435
  • drug interaction
    379
  • toxicity to various agents
    249
  • sinus bradycardia
    244
4 more recorded rows
  • suicide attempt
    222
  • blood pressure increased
    199
  • loss of consciousness
    198
  • hyperkalaemia
    190

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 10 reactions does Atenolol's label not list?


blood pressure increased, bradycardia and drug interaction and 7 more reported for Atenolol, absent from its label. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL24 · 2026-06-24

3 label terms; 10 reported and unlisted; 70d7a585-7a46-4eac-b2b5-2ac5b98d9882

Show the evidence
  • blood pressure increased
    count not stated
  • bradycardia
    count not stated
  • drug interaction
    count not stated
  • hyperkalaemia
    count not stated
  • hypotension
    count not stated
  • loss of consciousness
    count not stated
4 more recorded rows
  • sinus bradycardia
    count not stated
  • suicide attempt
    count not stated
  • syncope
    count not stated
  • toxicity to various agents
    count not stated

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Where it is registered

Where it’s registered

Withdrawn in United States, 2022, for "Label Mix - up; a bottle labeled as Atenolol 25mg Tablets contained Clopidogrel 75mg Tablets" (openFDA drug enforcement Class I recall)

Identifiers, relations and other names

The exact record

ChEMBL id
CHEMBL24
PubChem CID
180559
CAS number
56715-13-0
RxCUI
197379
InChIKey
METKIMKYRPQLGS-UHFFFAOYSA-N
Trade name
Antipressan, Atenamin, Atenix-100, Atenix-25, Atenix-50, Atenolol component of polycap, Atenolol component of tenoretic, Ibinolo, Kentol, Tenormin, Tenormin 25, Tenormin l.s.
Also called
Atenololum, Betacard, Corotenol, Duraatenolol, Juvental, Myocord, Novaten, Prenormine, Urosin, beta-blocker, ATENOLOL [EP MONOGRAPH], ATENOLOL [HSDB]
Development code
C07AB03, ICI 66,082, ICI 66082, NSC-757832
Sources (7)

Sources

1 more source

ChEMBL 37 — CC BY-SA 3.0 Unported · ChEMBL ATC CC BY-SA · ClinicalTrials.gov — US Government work · Open Targets 26.06 — CC0 · mixed register set; per-register licences in docs/specs/corpus-20k-sources.md · openFDA / DailyMed — US Government work · openFDA enforcement — US Government work

How these records are assembled · Which registers were checked

Index-quality checks
  • identity passed: no open identity hold
  • required summary fields resolved: 4 required field(s) not terminal: Why people use it, Best-supported result, Biggest unanswered question, Human evidence
  • public claims reviewed: 0 reviewed claim(s); drafts are never rendered
  • source coverage passed: 7 source rows
  • no critical contamination: no quarantine open
  • canonical metadata passed: slug and display name present
  • no raw internal fields: enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

This is a record of evidence. It is not medical advice, and it does not say this substance suits you. Nothing here says any substance on RNAWiki is appropriate for a child.