Skip to content

Aprepitant

  • Prescription medicine
  • Given by a clinician
  • Identity checked
  • Sources last checked 2026-09-04

This page shows what was measured, who it was measured in, and what that does not settle.

What Aprepitant does in the body

CINVANTI is a substance P/neurokinin-1 (NK 1 ) receptor antagonist, indicated in adults, in combination with other antiemetic agents, for the prevention of: acute and delayed nausea and vomiting associated with initial and repeat courses of highly emetogenic cancer chemotherapy (HEC) including high-dose cisplatin as a single-dose regimen.

From the FDA-approved label: Aprepitant is a selective high-affinity antagonist of human substance P/neurokinin 1 (NK 1 ) receptors. Aprepitant has little or no affinity for serotonin (5-HT 3 ), dopamine, and corticosteroid receptors, the targets of existing therapies for chemotherapy-induced nausea and vomiting (CINV) and postoperative nausea and vomiting (PONV). Aprepitant has been shown in animal models to inhibit emesis induced by cytotoxic chemotherapeutic agents, such as cisplatin, via central actions. Animal and human Positron Emission Tomography (PET) studies with aprepitant have shown that it crosses the blood brain barrier and occupies brain NK 1 receptors.

Why people take it. CINVANTI is a substance P/neurokinin-1 (NK 1 ) receptor antagonist, indicated in adults, in combination with other antiemetic agents, for the prevention of: acute and delayed nausea and vomiting associated with initial and repeat courses of highly emetogenic cancer chemotherapy (HEC) including high-dose cisplatin as a single-dose regimen.

What happened in people

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

A fixed RNAWiki sentence

Where this came from

Wording RNAWiki always uses, not a finding about this substance.

No reviewed claim names a result for any goal on this record.

No source is stored against this line.

The limit that matters most

Not recorded.

Where it acts
Not recorded.
Kind of result
No result is published, so no kind of result applies yet
Supervision
RNAWiki has not recorded a supervision or regulatory status for this substance.

What the registries record it as

  • The substance registry classes this as chemical.

    FDA substance registry · 1NF15YR6UY · read 2026-08-29

  • Its recorded molecular formula is C23H21F7N4O3, weighing 534.43.

    US prescribing information · 4c218d3a-a508-4abc-9ed8-a6e8e191d1b4 · read 2026-08-30

Where each sentence above came from

The use the label states, quoted from it. No plain-language version of this sentence has been written.

The use the label states, quoted from it. It is written for a clinician, not for a reader without medical training.

No statement of the main limit is recorded.

The four opening statements run to 203 words.

Words this page uses

Four words worth knowing first

Chosen from what this page shows, with each one explained before the word it depends on.

Biomarker

A biomarker is a number from a test that stands in for something about health.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A biomarker is like a fuel gauge.

Where that stops being true. A gauge is wired to the tank. Many biomarkers are only loosely tied to health.

What people get wrong. A better number is read as a better life. Several medicines improved a number and helped nobody.

A measurable indicator used as a substitute for a clinical outcome of interest.

Placebo

A placebo is a dummy treatment given so the real one can be compared with it.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A placebo is like a blank control in an experiment.

Where that stops being true. A blank does nothing. People given a placebo often do get better.

What people get wrong. A placebo effect is read as imaginary. The improvement is measured and real.

An inactive intervention matched in appearance to the test intervention, used to control for non-specific effects.

Comparator

A comparator is whatever the treatment was measured against.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

It is like the other runner in a race.

Where that stops being true. A race has one winner. A study can show both arms improved.

What people get wrong. Results are read without asking what the other group got. Beating nothing is not beating a treatment.

The control condition against which the experimental intervention is assessed.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What happened in people

Each card is one study: the exact question it asked, who was in it, and whether it showed what it set out to show.

Adherence to PONV Guidelines

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT02625181
How many people
27034
Study design
Not applicable
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Intravenous

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

30 Day Hospital Free Days

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT04606264
How many people
3395
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Intravenous

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Safety of Fosaprepitant Dimeglumine

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT05755659
How many people
3000
Study design
Not applicable
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Intravenous

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

A Complete Response (no Vomiting and no Use of Rescue Therapy) Overall (in the 120 Hours Following Initiation of Cisplatin).

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00619359
How many people
2322
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Intravenous

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

complete response

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT05841849
How many people
1028
Study design
Phase 4
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Intravenous

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Home Record: Severity of Delayed Nausea

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00475085
How many people
1021
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Intravenous

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
What we know
RNAWiki holds 6 written-up human studies for this substance, each with the question it asked.
How we know it
Each card names the study, the number of people and what the study set out to measure.
What this does not prove
These summaries were written by a person and have not been signed off as reviewed claims.
Why it matters
A study that failed is as informative as one that worked, and both are here.
What we still do not know
No reviewed claim exists, so no exact population, effect size or interval is published yet.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Were people like you studied?

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it, and where the result stops carrying.

Who was studied

People similar to this profile were included.

  • Aprepitant is a substance P/neurokinin 1 (NK 1 ) receptor antagonist. Aprepitant capsules is indicated • in combination with other antiemetic agents, in patients 12 years of age and older for prevention of: • acute and delayed nausea and vomiting associated with initial and repeat courses of highly emetogenic cancer chemotherapy (HEC) including high-dose cisplatin ( 1.1 ) • nausea and vomiting associated with…

Who is missing from the studies

  • Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What the label states about particular groups

  • On pediatric, the label states: “The safety and effectiveness of CINVANTI have not been established in pediatric patients.”

    US prescribing information · 4c218d3a-a508-4abc-9ed8-a6e8e191d1b4 · read 2026-08-30

  • On older people, the label states: “Of the 1649 adult cancer patients treated with intravenous fosaprepitant in HEC and MEC clinical studies, 27% were aged 65 and over, while 5% were aged 75 and over.”

    US prescribing information · 4c218d3a-a508-4abc-9ed8-a6e8e191d1b4 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are pregnant, the label states: “Risk Summary There are no available data on CINVANTI use in pregnant women to inform a drug-associated risk of adverse developmental outcomes.”

    US prescribing information · 4c218d3a-a508-4abc-9ed8-a6e8e191d1b4 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are breastfeeding, the label states: “Risk Summary There are no data on the presence of aprepitant in human milk, the effects on the breastfed infant, or the effects on milk production.”

    US prescribing information · 4c218d3a-a508-4abc-9ed8-a6e8e191d1b4 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people with reduced liver function, the label states: “The pharmacokinetics of aprepitant in patients with mild and moderate hepatic impairment were similar to those of healthy subjects with normal hepatic function.”

    US prescribing information · 4c218d3a-a508-4abc-9ed8-a6e8e191d1b4 · read 2026-08-30

Where the result stopped carrying

  • This is a scope explorer, not a diagnosis engine.
  • It shows who was studied so you can see whether people similar to you were included.

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Why it might seem to do nothing

A real effect and a noticed effect are different things. These are the recorded reasons the two come apart.

It was studied in different people

The people in the studies were not much like the reader.

On this record: Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

The evidence may simply be wrong

Small early studies often do not hold up.

On this record: RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Other reasons RNAWiki checked and found nothing for (11)
It was studied for a different goal
The studies measured something else entirely. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
A different form was studied
The studied form is not the form on the shelf. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
There was nothing to correct
Where a level is already normal, topping it up may change nothing. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else had to happen too
In the studies it was paired with training, a diet or another treatment. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The change is too small to feel
A real change can still sit below what a person notices. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Day-to-day swing hides it
Sleep, food, stress and time of day move most numbers more than this would. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Not enough time yet
The studies ran longer than the person has waited. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
It was not taken as studied
Missed days change the result, and studies count them. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else changed at the same time
Two changes at once cannot be told apart afterwards. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The product may not be what it says
Contents of a sold product are not always what the label states. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
No recorded reason
RNAWiki has nothing stored that would explain it. Nothing in this record points to this reason.

None of these is a reason to take more. Taking more is not a step this page ever suggests.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What taking it involves

The recorded facts about getting hold of it and using it. Nothing here is a suggestion about what you should do.

How it is supplied

Given by a clinician

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Read from the recorded approval status.

No source is stored against this line.

Form and route

Intravenous

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form and route recorded on this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

Who oversees it

RNAWiki has not recorded a supervision or regulatory status for this substance.

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

No register row and no identity class settled the question.

No source is stored against this line.

What is in the pack

Sold as emulsion, capsule, for suspension, injection, emulsion, given by the intravenous, oral route.

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

Recorded notes on how this is sold and what that means for what is in the pack.

No source is stored against this line.

Where it is registered

Regulatory records are listed in the technical disclosure at the foot of this page.

Counted from records

Where this came from

A count of rows RNAWiki holds. It describes our records, not your body.

Register entries are stored per jurisdiction and shown with their dates.

No source is stored against this line.

Why people stop

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

No record of why people stopped taking it is stored for this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

What it would be like to takeNothing found in the sources checked

What can go wrong

Sorted by where each line came from. A regulator's label and a report somebody sent in are not the same kind of fact.

Nothing found in the sources checked

No harm is recorded against this substance in the sources RNAWiki checked. Finding nothing is not the same as showing there is nothing.

The sources listed were searched and held nothing. That is not the same as nothing existing.

Over a long time. No completed tested study window is recorded, so long-term effects are not established by the registry record.

Groups the studies covered thinly. Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Does the exact form matter?

Evidence belongs to the exact thing that was tested. A different salt, a different mixture or a different preparation is a different question.

The form that was studied

Intravenous

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form used in the studies cited on this page.

No source is stored against this line.

What is sold

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

Nothing further is recorded about which forms are sold.

No source is stored against this line.

What is recorded as being sold

  • 37 products list this as an active ingredient in the United States drug directory. 37 of them contain it and nothing else.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 50370-0038 · read 2026-08-29

  • They are sold as capsule, emulsion, injection, emulsion, powder and powder, for suspension, taken intravenous and oral.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 50370-0038 · read 2026-08-29

  • The regulator's established pharmacologic class for it is cytochrome p450 2c9 inducers [moa], cytochrome p450 3a4 inducers [moa] and cytochrome p450 3a4 inhibitors [moa].

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 50370-0038 · read 2026-08-29

  • 8 published labels name it as an active ingredient. 8 of them describe this substance alone, which is where its own label text on this page comes from.

    US prescribing information · 4c218d3a-a508-4abc-9ed8-a6e8e191d1b4 · read 2026-08-29

  • Those labels are classed as human prescription drug.

    US prescribing information · 4c218d3a-a508-4abc-9ed8-a6e8e191d1b4 · read 2026-08-29

  • CINVANTI is intravenous at 3 DOSAGE FORMS AND STRENGTHS Injectable emulsion: 130 mg/18 mL (7.2 mg/mL) aprepitant as an opaque, off-white to amber emulsion, in single-dose vial Injectable emulsion: 130 mg/18 mL (7.2 mg/mL) aprepitant in single-dos…, recorded as fda label in effect 2026-04-01 in the United States.

    US prescribing information · 4c218d3a-a508-4abc-9ed8-a6e8e191d1b4 · read 2026-08-30

  • Recorded price in US: 45.38809–115.11438 USD per one unit as the pricing file counts it — a tablet, capsule, patch or single item, across 34 priced products whose strengths and pack forms differ, as of 2026-08-26, paid by retail pharmacies buying the product, as surveyed by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. It is not a list price, an insurance price, or what anyone pays at a counter..

    Recorded source · 2026-08-26 · read 2026-08-28

Evidence carries across two names for one substance. It does not carry across a salt, a mirror form or a mixture.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What you could measure

This one is decided with a clinician, so this section holds questions to ask rather than a plan to run.

RNAWiki could not confidently classify this substance, so no self-experiment plan is offered.

Questions worth asking

  • Which of the trials of Aprepitant studied people like me?
  • What was measured, and for how long?
  • Was the result a laboratory value or a health outcome?
  • What would we watch for, and when would we stop?

Tracking can show whether something changed for you. It cannot show what caused it.

RNAWiki records evidence. It does not say whether this substance is right for you.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What nobody knows yet

Open questions, each with why it is open and what would close it.

Missing populations

Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing long-term data

No completed tested study window is recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

No reviewed conclusion

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing interaction studies

No interaction was found in the registers checked. Not finding one is not the same as showing there is none.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Formulation uncertainty

Several salts, forms or products of Aprepitant are recorded. Results from one form may not transfer to another.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Mechanism not reviewed

No reviewed mechanism story exists for this substance.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Check any of this yourself

Every line above traced back to the study it came from. This is the technical layer, and the vocabulary changes here.

How many documents were read

  • 8 documents were read for this substance.

    RNAWiki source record

  • 6 of them state the same bioavailability, and they agree.

    RNAWiki source record

Where else this substance is registered

FDA substance identifier (UNII)
1NF15YR6UY
RxNorm concept
1995150

Checks this page had to pass

  • Passed

    Identity resolved

    no open identity hold

  • Passed

    No unresolved merge across substance families

    no quarantine open

  • Passed

    Every public sentence names a source

    The opening statement carries the origin: Quoted from a stored source.

  • Not passed

    Trial roles classified for highlighted evidence

    No registered study is classified as testing this substance.

  • Passed

    No internal keys in reader text

    enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

  • Not passed

    Safety mode resolved

    No register row and no identity class settled the question.

  • Passed

    Canonical metadata present

    slug and display name present

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

How this medicine reached us

Kept near the foot of the page. A historical event moves up only when it changes something about this substance today.

What the approval register records

  • 10 approved applications cover products containing this substance. The earliest was NDA021549, approved 20030326 to MSD.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA021549 · read 2026-08-29

  • Marketing status on the register: discontinued, none (tentative approval) and prescription.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA021549 · read 2026-08-29

  • The earliest marketing start date recorded for a listed product is 20030326.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 50370-0038 · read 2026-08-29

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What to learn next

Ordered by what would most change how you read this page, starting with what is easiest to misunderstand.

This order is fixed in code and does not count clicks or time on the page.

What is not here

9 questions this page could not answer

These sections were prepared and left out because there was nothing to put in them. They are listed rather than hidden, so the gaps in this record are visible.

  • What was measured, goal by goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How close this is to real life — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • The path through the body — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Felt, measured, or meaningful — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How long anything takes — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What it may clash with — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Other ways to the same goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Claims that go past the evidence — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What changed on this page — found nothing in the sources checked.

The record as stored

The full record, for auditing

Everything above is built from what is below. This layer keeps the technical vocabulary, record identifiers and every stored row, so a reader who wants to check the page can.

Recorded evidence blocks (10)

On the Aprepitant label: indicated for what?


"Aprepitant is a substance P/neurokinin 1 (NK1) receptor antagonist. Aprepitant capsules are indicated • in combination with other antiemetic agents, in patients 12 years of age and older for prevention of: o acute and delayed nausea and vomiting associated with initial and repeat courses of highly emetogenic cancer…": indications and usage on Aprepitant's label. DailyMed label · af9b6086-4bf2-472c-8740-4134eaaebace · 2026-06-11

130 registered trials of Aprepitant — at which phases?


Registered studies posting no result
77 of 130

130 registered studies of Aprepitant: 30 phase2, 30 phase3, 29 na, 24 phase4, 16 phase1, 2 early phase1, 2 na or unstated. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

276 with a PubMed record

Show the evidence
  • phase2
    30
  • phase3
    30
  • na
    29
  • phase4
    24
  • phase1
    16
  • early phase1
    2
7 more recorded rows
  • na or unstated
    2
  • completed
    91
  • unknown
    16
  • terminated
    10
  • withdrawn
    7
  • not yet recruiting
    4
  • recruiting
    2

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

15 of Aprepitant's trials stopped: accrual/recruitment, other?


accrual/recruitment (10) and other (5): Aprepitant's stop wording, clustered. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

"change of study population and chemotherapeutic regimen"; 15 of 130 registered studies

Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT00429754
    withdrawn; "change of study population and chemotherapeutic regimen"
  • NCT00499668
    withdrawn; "slow accrual"
  • NCT00699894
    withdrawn; "Logistical difficulties running the study"
  • NCT00869973
    terminated; "We terminated the study after enrolling 580/900 patients due to a slow accrual"
  • NCT00888329
    terminated; "Slow accrual."
  • NCT01017809
    withdrawn; "NYU 03-67 reached accrual prior to this study opening."
9 further recorded trials
  • NCT01183481
    terminated; "Study was stopped due to inadequate accrual."
  • NCT01186029
    withdrawn; "It didn't get IRB approval."
  • NCT01249001
    terminated; "lack of eligible participants to enrol"
  • NCT01275664
    terminated; "Study terminated due to no patient population available"
  • NCT01625455
    terminated; "Difficulty recruiting."
  • NCT01843868
    withdrawn; "Study halted prematurely, prior to enrollment of first participant due to protracted logistical and subsequent funding matters."
  • NCT02550119
    terminated; "Insufficient accrual"
  • NCT03237611
    terminated; "Expired IRB approval on 2/11/21"
  • NCT05189756
    terminated; "Low recruiting rate"

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Human studies of Aprepitant used aprepitant 40 mg — over how long?


Human studies of Aprepitant used "aprepitant 40 mg". ClinicalTrials.gov · 2026-09-01

20 recorded entries; human; capsule, oral; also "aprepitant 165 mg", "Comparator: aprepitant 185 mg", "Comparator: fosaprepitant 150 mg"

Show the evidence

human

  • NCT00699894
    aprepitant 40 mg
  • NCT00945321
    aprepitant 165 mg
  • NCT00945321
    Comparator: aprepitant 185 mg
  • NCT00945321
    Comparator: fosaprepitant 150 mg
  • NCT00990821
    40 mg Aprepitant
  • NCT00990821
    125 mg Aprepitant
14 more recorded rows
  • human NCT00999544
    Aprepitant 0mg
  • human NCT00999544
    Aprepitant 40mg
  • human NCT00999544
    Aprepitant 200mg
  • human NCT01111851
    Fosaprepitant 150 mg
  • human NCT01111851
    Aprepitant 165 mg
  • human NCT01111851
    Aprepitant 250 mg
  • human NCT01362530
    Aprepitant 125 mg
  • human NCT01362530
    Aprepitant 80 mg
  • human NCT01362530
    Placebo for Aprepitant 125 mg
  • human NCT01362530
    Placebo for Aprepitant 80 mg
  • human NCT01854177
    capsule; aprepitant 125 mg capsule
  • human NCT03237611
    Fosaprepitant 115 MG
  • human NCT03245918
    Aprepitant Capsule 125 MG
  • human NCT03245918
    oral; Aprepitant oral suspension 20 mg/mL

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Aprepitant's half-life is 9 to 13 hours — which schedules were studied?


9 to 13 hours, the half-life Aprepitant's label states: "The apparent terminal halflife ranged from approximately 9 to 13 hours." DailyMed label · af9b6086-4bf2-472c-8740-4134eaaebace · 2026-06-11

tmax 3 hours; bioavailability 60 to 65 %.

Show the evidence
  • half life pharmacokinetics
    9 to 13 hours; The apparent terminal halflife ranged from approximately 9 to 13 hours.
  • tmax pharmacokinetics
    3 hours; Absorption Following oral administration of a single 40-mg dose of aprepitant in the fasted state, mean area under the plasma concentration-time curve (AUC 0 - ∞ ) was 7.8 mcg•hr/mL and mean peak plasma concentration (C max ) was 0.7 mcg/mL, occurring at approximately 3 hours postdose (T max ).
  • bioavailability pharmacokinetics
    60 to 65 %; At the dose range of 80 to 125 mg, the mean absolute oral bioavailability of aprepitant is approximately 60 to 65%.
  • metabolism pharmacokinetics
    Elimination Metabolism Aprepitant undergoes extensive metabolism.

recorded 2026-06-11 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 38 trials of Aprepitant posted no result?


Posted no result
38 of 38 completed trials
Registrations
NCT00035282, NCT00048594, NCT00034983, NCT00035048, NCT00048607 and NCT00080444, and 32 more
Completion dates
oldest 2003-12; newest 2024-08-22
Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT00035282
    2003-12
  • NCT00048594
    2003-12-22
  • NCT00034983
    2003-12-29
  • NCT00035048
    2003-12-31
  • NCT00048607
    2003-12-31
  • NCT00080444
    2007-03
14 further recorded trials
  • NCT00314743
    2008-12
  • NCT00415103
    2009-09
  • NCT00428519
    2009-12
  • NCT00871910
    2010-02-22
  • NCT01440673
    2010-09
  • NCT00719173
    2010-10
  • NCT01683552
    2011-11
  • NCT00956215
    2012-01
  • NCT01101529
    2012-12
  • NCT01402024
    2013-06
  • NCT01897337
    2013-06
  • NCT01300988
    2013-08
  • NCT01527994
    2015-02
  • NCT02357693
    2015-08

At the median, Aprepitant's trials enrolled 84 people — anything larger?


Median enrolment
84
Largest enrolment
27034
Registered trials counted
130

What do 2030 spontaneous reports say about Aprepitant — and not say?


These are reports people sent to a regulator. They do not show the medicine caused the reaction. Nobody counted how many people took the medicine and reported nothing. The same event can be reported more than once, and many reports are incomplete. News coverage, lawsuits and new warnings change how often people report. A count is not a rate and not a risk.

Aprepitant appears in spontaneous reports to regulators. Across the 10 most-reported reaction terms, 2030 reaction mentions were counted: nausea 373; dyspnoea 324; erythema 252; hypersensitivity 201. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL1471 · 2026-06-24

Show the evidence
  • nausea
    373
  • dyspnoea
    324
  • erythema
    252
  • hypersensitivity
    201
  • pyrexia
    192
  • vomiting
    187
4 more recorded rows
  • flushing
    145
  • hypotension
    134
  • pruritus
    119
  • alopecia
    103

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 10 reactions does Aprepitant's label not list?


alopecia, dyspnoea and erythema and 7 more reported for Aprepitant, absent from its label. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL1471 · 2026-06-24

2 label terms; 10 reported and unlisted; af9b6086-4bf2-472c-8740-4134eaaebace

Show the evidence
  • alopecia
    count not stated
  • dyspnoea
    count not stated
  • erythema
    count not stated
  • flushing
    count not stated
  • hypersensitivity
    count not stated
  • hypotension
    count not stated
4 more recorded rows
  • nausea
    count not stated
  • pruritus
    count not stated
  • pyrexia
    count not stated
  • vomiting
    count not stated

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Aprepitant and CYP3A4 and CYP2C9: shared by which compounds?


CYP3A4 and CYP2C9 appear in Aprepitant's recorded interaction sentences, 8 in all. DailyMed label · af9b6086-4bf2-472c-8740-4134eaaebace · 2026-06-11

CYP2C9, CYP2C9, CYP3A4, CYP3A4, CYP3A4; 5 shared nodes; drug_interactions

Show the evidence

Interaction statement

  • drug_interactions
    ( 4 , 5.1 , 5.2 , 5.3 , 7.1 , 7.2 ) 7.1 Effect of Aprepitant on the Pharmacokinetics of Other Drugs Aprepitant is a substrate, a weak-to-moderate (dose-dependent) inhibitor, and an inducer of CYP3A4.
  • drug_interactions
    Aprepitant is also an inducer of CYP2C9 [see Clinical Pharmacology ( 12.3 )] .
  • drug_interactions
    Aprepitant acts as a moderate inhibitor of CYP3A4 when administered as a 3-day regimen (125mg/80-mg/80-mg) and can increase plasma concentrations of concomitant drugs that are substrates for CYP3A4.
  • drug_interactions
    Aprepitant acts as a weak inhibitor when administered as a single 40-mg dose and has not been shown to alter the plasma concentrations of concomitant drugs that are primarily metabolized through CYP3A4.
  • drug_interactions
    Some substrates of CYP3A4 are contraindicated with aprepitant [see Contraindications ( 4 )] .
  • drug_interactions
    Dosage adjustment of some CYP3A4 and CYP2C9 substrates may be warranted, as shown in Table 10.
2 more recorded rows
  • Interaction statement drug_interactions
    Table 10: Effects of Aprepitant on the Pharmacokinetics of Other Drugs CYP3A4 Substrates Pimozide Clinical Impact Increased pimozide exposure Intervention Aprepitant is contraindicated [see Contraindications ( 4 )] .
  • Interaction statement drug_interactions
    Benzodiazepines Clinical Impact Increased exposure to midazolam or other benzodiazepines metabolized via CYP3A4 (alprazolam, triazolam) may increase the risk of adverse reactions [see Clinical Pharmacology ( 12.3 )].

CYP2C9

  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Rasagiline, Golodirsen, Tinidazole, Naldemedine
  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Rasagiline, Golodirsen, Tinidazole, Naldemedine

CYP3A4

  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, ERYTHROMYCIN LACTOBIONATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Beclometasone, Rasagiline, Sofpironium
  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, ERYTHROMYCIN LACTOBIONATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Beclometasone, Rasagiline, Sofpironium
  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, ERYTHROMYCIN LACTOBIONATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Beclometasone, Rasagiline, Sofpironium

recorded 2026-06-11 · last checked 2026-09-04

Where it is registered
Identifiers, relations and other names

The exact record

ChEMBL id
CHEMBL1471
PubChem CID
135934924
CAS number
170902-81-5
RxCUI
1995150
InChIKey
ATALOFNDEOCMKK-OITMNORJSA-N
Also called
APONVIE, CINVANTI, EMEND, L-754,030, L-754030, MK-0869, MK-869, NSC-748825, Ono-7436, apr, fosaprepitant, mk0869
Trade name
Emend / Cinvanti / Aponvie
Sources (6)

Sources

ChEMBL 37 — CC BY-SA 3.0 Unported · ChEMBL ATC CC BY-SA · ClinicalTrials.gov — US Government work · Open Targets 26.06 — CC0 · mixed register set; per-register licences in docs/specs/corpus-20k-sources.md · openFDA / DailyMed — US Government work

How these records are assembled · Which registers were checked

Index-quality checks
  • identity passed: no open identity hold
  • required summary fields resolved: 4 required field(s) not terminal: Why people use it, Best-supported result, Biggest unanswered question, Human evidence
  • public claims reviewed: 0 reviewed claim(s); drafts are never rendered
  • source coverage passed: 6 source rows
  • no critical contamination: no quarantine open
  • canonical metadata passed: slug and display name present
  • no raw internal fields: enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

This is a record of evidence. It is not medical advice, and it does not say this substance suits you. Nothing here says any substance on RNAWiki is appropriate for a child.