Skip to content

Apremilast

  • Prescription medicine
  • Prescription only
  • Identity checked
  • Sources last checked 2026-09-04

This page shows what was measured, who it was measured in, and what that does not settle.

What Apremilast does in the body

Adult patients and pediatric patients 6 years of age and older and weighing at least 20 kg with active psoriatic arthritis

From the FDA-approved label: Apremilast is an oral small molecule inhibitor of phosphodiesterase 4 (PDE4) specific for cyclic adenosine monophosphate (cAMP). PDE4 inhibition results in increased intracellular cAMP levels. The specific mechanism(s) by which apremilast exerts its therapeutic action is not well defined.

What happened in people

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

A fixed RNAWiki sentence

Where this came from

Wording RNAWiki always uses, not a finding about this substance.

No reviewed claim names a result for any goal on this record.

No source is stored against this line.

The limit that matters most

Not recorded.

Where it acts
Not recorded.
Kind of result
No result is published, so no kind of result applies yet
Supervision
Professional supervision is normally required. A regulator classifies this substance in a way that restricts how it is supplied.

What the registries record it as

  • The substance registry classes this as chemical.

    FDA substance registry · UP7QBP99PN · read 2026-08-29

  • Its recorded molecular formula is C22H24N2O7S, weighing 460.5.

    US prescribing information · f6b1f516-4972-4d82-bced-113e47b41cc5 · read 2026-08-30

Where each sentence above came from

The recorded explanation is written in label language rather than for a beginner. The page opens with what it is taken for instead, and the recorded explanation follows below.

Shown as the opening line on this page.

No statement of the main limit is recorded.

The four opening statements run to 78 words.

Words this page uses

Four words worth knowing first

Chosen from what this page shows, with each one explained before the word it depends on.

Biomarker

A biomarker is a number from a test that stands in for something about health.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A biomarker is like a fuel gauge.

Where that stops being true. A gauge is wired to the tank. Many biomarkers are only loosely tied to health.

What people get wrong. A better number is read as a better life. Several medicines improved a number and helped nobody.

A measurable indicator used as a substitute for a clinical outcome of interest.

Placebo

A placebo is a dummy treatment given so the real one can be compared with it.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A placebo is like a blank control in an experiment.

Where that stops being true. A blank does nothing. People given a placebo often do get better.

What people get wrong. A placebo effect is read as imaginary. The improvement is measured and real.

An inactive intervention matched in appearance to the test intervention, used to control for non-specific effects.

Comparator

A comparator is whatever the treatment was measured against.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

It is like the other runner in a race.

Where that stops being true. A race has one winner. A study can show both arms improved.

What people get wrong. Results are read without asking what the other group got. Beating nothing is not beating a treatment.

The control condition against which the experimental intervention is assessed.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What happened in people

Each card is one study: the exact question it asked, who was in it, and whether it showed what it set out to show.

All-cause mortality

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT02735707
How many people
20000
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
Living longer, or avoiding a major event
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Identify agents that will result in substantial improvements to the clinical condition of participants with COVID-19.

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT04488081
How many people
1500
Study design
Phase 2
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Percentage of Participants Achieving a Static Physician's Global Assessment (sPGA) of Clear (0) or Almost Clear (1) With a ≥2-Point Decrease from Baseline at Week 16 Comparing TAK-279 Against Placebo

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT06108544
How many people
1108
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

The Number of Participants With a Static Physician's Global Assessment (sPGA) Score of 0 or 1 in Participants Receiving BMS-986165 Compared to Placebo at Week 16 (sPGA 0/1)

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT03611751
How many people
1020
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

To determine whether ESK-001 reduces the severity of psoriasis by 75% (using the PASI) or by at least 2 points (using sPGA score) compared to placebo

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT06586112
How many people
912
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

To determine whether ESK-001 reduces the severity of psoriasis by 75% (using the PASI) or by at least 2 points (using sPGA score) compared to placebo

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT06588738
How many people
862
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
What we know
RNAWiki holds 6 written-up human studies for this substance, each with the question it asked.
How we know it
Each card names the study, the number of people and what the study set out to measure.
What this does not prove
These summaries were written by a person and have not been signed off as reviewed claims.
Why it matters
A study that failed is as informative as one that worked, and both are here.
What we still do not know
No reviewed claim exists, so no exact population, effect size or interval is published yet.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Were people like you studied?

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it, and where the result stops carrying.

Who was studied

People similar to this profile were included.

  • OTEZLA/OTEZLA XR, an inhibitor of phosphodiesterase 4 (PDE4), is indicated for the treatment of: Adult patients with: Active psoriatic arthritis ( 1.1 ) Plaque psoriasis who are candidates for phototherapy or systemic therapy ( 1.2 ) Oral ulcers associated with Behçet's Disease ( 1.3 ) Pediatric patients 6 years of age and older with: Active psoriatic arthritis ( 1.1 ) Moderate to severe plaque psoriasis who are…

Who is missing from the studies

  • Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What the label states about particular groups

  • On pediatric, the label states: “The safety and effectiveness of OTEZLA have not been established in pediatric patients below the age of 6 years or weighing less than 20 kg with moderate to severe plaque psoriasis.”

    US prescribing information · f6b1f516-4972-4d82-bced-113e47b41cc5 · read 2026-08-30

  • On older people, the label states: “Of the 1493 patients who enrolled in Trials PsA-1, PsA-2, and PsA-3, a total of 146 (9.8%) psoriatic arthritis patients were 65 years of age and older, including 19 (1.3%) patients 75 years and older.”

    US prescribing information · f6b1f516-4972-4d82-bced-113e47b41cc5 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are pregnant, the label states: “Risk Summary Available data with OTEZLA use in pregnant women have not identified a drug-associated risk of major birth defects or adverse maternal or fetal outcomes (see Data ) .”

    US prescribing information · f6b1f516-4972-4d82-bced-113e47b41cc5 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are breastfeeding, the label states: “Risk Summary There are no data on the presence of apremilast in human milk, its effects on the breastfed infant, or its effects on milk production.”

    US prescribing information · f6b1f516-4972-4d82-bced-113e47b41cc5 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people with reduced liver function, the label states: “Apremilast pharmacokinetics were characterized in subjects with moderate (Child Pugh B) and severe (Child Pugh C) hepatic impairment.”

    US prescribing information · f6b1f516-4972-4d82-bced-113e47b41cc5 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people with reduced kidney function, the label states: “OTEZLA pharmacokinetics were characterized in adult subjects with mild, moderate, and severe renal impairment as defined by a creatinine clearance of 60-89, 30-59, and less than 30 mL per minute, respectively, by the Cockcroft–Gault equation.”

    US prescribing information · f6b1f516-4972-4d82-bced-113e47b41cc5 · read 2026-08-30

Where the result stopped carrying

  • This is a scope explorer, not a diagnosis engine.
  • It shows who was studied so you can see whether people similar to you were included.

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Why it might seem to do nothing

A real effect and a noticed effect are different things. These are the recorded reasons the two come apart.

It was studied in different people

The people in the studies were not much like the reader.

On this record: Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

The evidence may simply be wrong

Small early studies often do not hold up.

On this record: RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Other reasons RNAWiki checked and found nothing for (11)
It was studied for a different goal
The studies measured something else entirely. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
A different form was studied
The studied form is not the form on the shelf. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
There was nothing to correct
Where a level is already normal, topping it up may change nothing. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else had to happen too
In the studies it was paired with training, a diet or another treatment. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The change is too small to feel
A real change can still sit below what a person notices. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Day-to-day swing hides it
Sleep, food, stress and time of day move most numbers more than this would. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Not enough time yet
The studies ran longer than the person has waited. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
It was not taken as studied
Missed days change the result, and studies count them. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else changed at the same time
Two changes at once cannot be told apart afterwards. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The product may not be what it says
Contents of a sold product are not always what the label states. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
No recorded reason
RNAWiki has nothing stored that would explain it. Nothing in this record points to this reason.

None of these is a reason to take more. Taking more is not a step this page ever suggests.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What taking it involves

The recorded facts about getting hold of it and using it. Nothing here is a suggestion about what you should do.

How it is supplied

Prescription only

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Read from the recorded approval status.

No source is stored against this line.

Form and route

Oral

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form and route recorded on this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

Who oversees it

Professional supervision is normally required. A regulator classifies this substance in a way that restricts how it is supplied.

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Suppression classes recorded: S1.

No source is stored against this line.

What is in the pack

Sold as tablet, tablet, extended release, tablet, film coated, given by the oral route.

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

Recorded notes on how this is sold and what that means for what is in the pack.

No source is stored against this line.

Where it is registered

Regulatory records are listed in the technical disclosure at the foot of this page.

Counted from records

Where this came from

A count of rows RNAWiki holds. It describes our records, not your body.

Register entries are stored per jurisdiction and shown with their dates.

No source is stored against this line.

Why people stop

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

No record of why people stopped taking it is stored for this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

What it would be like to takeNothing found in the sources checked

What can go wrong

Sorted by where each line came from. A regulator's label and a report somebody sent in are not the same kind of fact.

Nothing found in the sources checked

No harm is recorded against this substance in the sources RNAWiki checked. Finding nothing is not the same as showing there is nothing.

The sources listed were searched and held nothing. That is not the same as nothing existing.

Over a long time. No completed tested study window is recorded, so long-term effects are not established by the registry record.

Groups the studies covered thinly. Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Does the exact form matter?

Evidence belongs to the exact thing that was tested. A different salt, a different mixture or a different preparation is a different question.

The form that was studied

Oral

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form used in the studies cited on this page.

No source is stored against this line.

What is sold

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

Nothing further is recorded about which forms are sold.

No source is stored against this line.

What is recorded as being sold

  • 28 products list this as an active ingredient in the United States drug directory. 28 of them contain it and nothing else.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 53069-1050 · read 2026-08-29

  • They are sold as powder and tablet, film coated, taken oral.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 53069-1050 · read 2026-08-29

  • The regulator's established pharmacologic class for it is phosphodiesterase 4 inhibitor [epc] and phosphodiesterase 4 inhibitors [moa].

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 53069-1050 · read 2026-08-29

  • 1 published label names it as an active ingredient. 1 of them describe this substance alone, which is where its own label text on this page comes from.

    US prescribing information · f6b1f516-4972-4d82-bced-113e47b41cc5 · read 2026-08-29

  • Those labels are classed as human prescription drug.

    US prescribing information · f6b1f516-4972-4d82-bced-113e47b41cc5 · read 2026-08-29

  • Otezla is oral at 3 DOSAGE FORMS AND STRENGTHS OTEZLA is available as diamond-shaped, film-coated tablets in the following dosage strengths: 10-mg pink tablet engraved with "APR" on one side and "10" on the other side 20-mg brown tablet…, recorded as fda label in effect 2025-08-22 in the United States.

    US prescribing information · f6b1f516-4972-4d82-bced-113e47b41cc5 · read 2026-08-30

Evidence carries across two names for one substance. It does not carry across a salt, a mirror form or a mixture.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What you could measure

This one is decided with a clinician, so this section holds questions to ask rather than a plan to run.

Self-experiment planning is not offered for a prescription or clinician-supervised medicine. The questions below are for a clinician or pharmacist.

Questions worth asking

  • Which of the trials of Apremilast studied people like me?
  • What was measured, and for how long?
  • Was the result a laboratory value or a health outcome?
  • What would we watch for, and when would we stop?

Tracking can show whether something changed for you. It cannot show what caused it.

RNAWiki records evidence. It does not say whether this substance is right for you.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What nobody knows yet

Open questions, each with why it is open and what would close it.

Missing populations

Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing long-term data

No completed tested study window is recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

No reviewed conclusion

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing interaction studies

No interaction was found in the registers checked. Not finding one is not the same as showing there is none.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Formulation uncertainty

Several salts, forms or products of Apremilast are recorded. Results from one form may not transfer to another.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Mechanism not reviewed

No reviewed mechanism story exists for this substance.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Check any of this yourself

Every line above traced back to the study it came from. This is the technical layer, and the vocabulary changes here.

Where else this substance is registered

FDA substance identifier (UNII)
UP7QBP99PN
RxNorm concept
1492732

Checks this page had to pass

  • Passed

    Identity resolved

    no open identity hold

  • Passed

    No unresolved merge across substance families

    no quarantine open

  • Passed

    Every public sentence names a source

    The opening statement carries the origin: Written into the record, not signed off.

  • Not passed

    Trial roles classified for highlighted evidence

    No registered study is classified as testing this substance.

  • Passed

    No internal keys in reader text

    enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

  • Passed

    Safety mode resolved

    Suppression classes recorded: S1.

  • Passed

    Canonical metadata present

    slug and display name present

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

How this medicine reached us

Kept near the foot of the page. A historical event moves up only when it changes something about this substance today.

What the approval register records

  • 17 approved applications cover products containing this substance. The earliest was NDA205437, approved 20140321 to AMGEN INC.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA205437 · read 2026-08-29

  • Marketing status on the register: discontinued, none (tentative approval) and prescription.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA205437 · read 2026-08-29

  • The earliest marketing start date recorded for a listed product is 20140321.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 53069-1050 · read 2026-08-29

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What to learn next

Ordered by what would most change how you read this page, starting with what is easiest to misunderstand.

This order is fixed in code and does not count clicks or time on the page.

What is not here

9 questions this page could not answer

These sections were prepared and left out because there was nothing to put in them. They are listed rather than hidden, so the gaps in this record are visible.

  • What was measured, goal by goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How close this is to real life — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • The path through the body — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Felt, measured, or meaningful — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How long anything takes — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What it may clash with — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Other ways to the same goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Claims that go past the evidence — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What changed on this page — found nothing in the sources checked.

The record as stored

The full record, for auditing

Everything above is built from what is below. This layer keeps the technical vocabulary, record identifiers and every stored row, so a reader who wants to check the page can.

Recorded evidence blocks (11)

On the Apremilast label: indicated for what?


"OTEZLA/OTEZLA XR, an inhibitor of phosphodiesterase 4 (PDE4), is indicated for the treatment of: Adult patients with: Active psoriatic arthritis ( 1.1 ) Plaque psoriasis who are candidates for phototherapy or systemic therapy ( 1.2 ) Oral ulcers associated with Behçet's Disease ( 1.3 ) Pediatric patients 6 years of…": indications and usage on Apremilast's label. DailyMed label · f6b1f516-4972-4d82-bced-113e47b41cc5 · 2025-08-22

143 registered trials of Apremilast — at which phases?


Registered studies posting no result
72 of 143

143 registered studies of Apremilast: 47 phase2, 39 phase3, 29 phase4, 13 na or unstated, 13 phase1, 3 na, 2 early phase1. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

124 with a PubMed record

Show the evidence
  • phase2
    47
  • phase3
    39
  • phase4
    29
  • na or unstated
    13
  • phase1
    13
  • na
    3
9 more recorded rows
  • early phase1
    2
  • completed
    100
  • recruiting
    11
  • unknown
    9
  • withdrawn
    8
  • active not recruiting
    5
  • terminated
    5
  • not yet recruiting
    4
  • no longer available
    1

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

13 of Apremilast's trials stopped: futility/efficacy, accrual/recruitment, funding/business, sponsor decision unspecified, other?


futility/efficacy (2), accrual/recruitment (3), funding/business (3), sponsor decision unspecified (1) and other (4): Apremilast's stop wording, clustered. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

"Investigator discretion due to lack of efficacy in three subjects enrolled"; 13 of 143 registered studies

Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT00889421
    terminated; "Investigator discretion due to lack of efficacy in three subjects enrolled"
  • NCT00997581
    withdrawn; "Colaborator withdrew support."
  • NCT01074502
    terminated; "lack of funding due to Celgene administrative decision"
  • NCT01140503
    terminated; "Slow recruitment of participants"
  • NCT01200264
    withdrawn; "Contract never executed; withdrawn by sponsor"
  • NCT01204138
    withdrawn; "decision of sponsor to withdraw before initiation; 0 patients enrolled"
7 further recorded trials
  • NCT01285310
    terminated; "Study is terminated due to lack of efficacy"
  • NCT02558361
    withdrawn; "FDA approved synovial biopsy device unavailable"
  • NCT03741933
    withdrawn; "The principal investigator left George Washington University and closed the study at their departure."
  • NCT03836885
    withdrawn; "Study was terminated due to delay in enrollment."
  • NCT04102449
    withdrawn; "Funding stopped"
  • NCT04811573
    terminated; "due to company decision"
  • NCT05601492
    withdrawn; "Terminated IRB approval 6/26/2024, study was never initiated or activated"

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Human studies of Apremilast used Apremilast 10mg — over how long?


studies of Apremilast used the recorded amount. ClinicalTrials.gov · 2026-09-01

13 recorded entries; human; tablet; also "Apremilast 10mg", "Apremilast 20mg", "Apremilast 30 mg"

Show the evidence

human

  • NCT00773734
    Apremilast 10mg
  • NCT00773734
    Apremilast 20mg
  • NCT00773734
    Apremilast 30 mg
  • NCT00773734
    Apremilast 30mg
  • NCT01172938
    Placebo + 20 mg Apremilast
  • NCT01172938
    Placebo + 30 mg Apremilast
7 more recorded rows
  • human NCT01285310
    Apremilast 20 mg
  • human NCT01583374
    tablet; Apremilast tablet 20 mg
  • human NCT01583374
    tablet; Apremilast tablet 30 mg BID
  • human NCT04822909
    Apremilast;Apremilast;Apremilast 10 MG; 20 MG; 30 MG Oral Tablet
  • human NCT06084663
    Apremilast 30 mg Tablets
  • human NCT06084663
    Otezla 30 mg film-coated tablets
  • human NCT07029529
    Apremilast 60mg

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Apremilast's half-life is 6-9 hours — which schedules were studied?


6-9 hours, the half-life Apremilast's label states: "Elimination The plasma clearance of apremilast is about 10 L/hr in healthy subjects, with a terminal elimination half-life of approximately 6-9 hours." DailyMed label · f6b1f516-4972-4d82-bced-113e47b41cc5 · 2025-08-22

tmax 2.5 hours; bioavailability 73 %.

Show the evidence
  • half life pharmacokinetics
    6-9 hours; Elimination The plasma clearance of apremilast is about 10 L/hr in healthy subjects, with a terminal elimination half-life of approximately 6-9 hours.
  • tmax pharmacokinetics
    2.5 hours; Absorption OTEZLA when taken orally is absorbed with an absolute bioavailability of ~73%, with peak plasma concentrations (C max ) occurring at a median time (t max ) of ~2.5 hours.
  • bioavailability pharmacokinetics
    73 %; Absorption OTEZLA when taken orally is absorbed with an absolute bioavailability of ~73%, with peak plasma concentrations (C max ) occurring at a median time (t max ) of ~2.5 hours.
  • metabolism pharmacokinetics
    Metabolism Following oral administration in humans, apremilast is a major circulating component (45%) followed by inactive metabolite M12 (39%), a glucuronide conjugate of O-demethylated apremilast.

recorded 2025-08-22 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which running trial of Apremilast could settle lifespan?


NCT02735707 measures All-cause mortality, reading out 2028-02.

1 open trial; n 20000; "Randomized, Embedded, Multifactorial Adaptive Platform Trial for Community- Acquired Pneumonia"

Show the evidence
  • Trial NCT02735707
    "Randomized, Embedded, Multifactorial Adaptive Platform Trial for Community- Acquired Pneumonia"; n 20000; "All-cause mortality"; 2028-02

Which 24 trials of Apremilast posted no result?


Posted no result
24 of 24 completed trials
Registrations
NCT00604682, NCT00606450, NCT01200472, NCT01250548, NCT02695212 and NCT02963779, and 18 more
Completion dates
oldest 2005-12-01; newest 2023-08-10
Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT00604682
    2005-12-01
  • NCT00606450
    2007-05-01
  • NCT01200472
    2013-10
  • NCT01250548
    2014-06
  • NCT02695212
    2017-08
  • NCT02963779
    2017-10-05
14 further recorded trials
  • NCT03049267
    2018-06-28
  • NCT03097003
    2018-12-20
  • NCT03096990
    2018-12-27
  • NCT03123016
    2019-08-05
  • NCT03399708
    2019-10-25
  • NCT03036995
    2019-11-25
  • NCT04822909
    2020-06-30
  • NCT03616561
    2020-07-23
  • NCT04031027
    2021-01-27
  • NCT04161456
    2021-02-08
  • NCT03757013
    2021-09-10
  • NCT03160248
    2021-09-15
  • NCT03828045
    2021-10-20
  • NCT03608657
    2022-03-30

At the median, Apremilast's trials enrolled 67 people — anything larger?


Median enrolment
67
Largest enrolment
20000
Registered trials counted
142

What do 68413 spontaneous reports say about Apremilast — and not say?


These are reports people sent to a regulator. They do not show the medicine caused the reaction. Nobody counted how many people took the medicine and reported nothing. The same event can be reported more than once, and many reports are incomplete. News coverage, lawsuits and new warnings change how often people report. A count is not a rate and not a risk.

Apremilast appears in spontaneous reports to regulators. Across the 10 most-reported reaction terms, 68413 reaction mentions were counted: diarrhoea 15222; nausea 14410; psoriasis 11827; headache 10604. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL514800 · 2026-06-24

Show the evidence
  • diarrhoea
    15222
  • nausea
    14410
  • psoriasis
    11827
  • headache
    10604
  • abdominal discomfort
    3970
  • psoriatic arthropathy
    3292
4 more recorded rows
  • weight decreased
    2841
  • depression
    2768
  • abdominal pain upper
    2060
  • therapy non-responder
    1419

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 10 reactions does Apremilast's label not list?


abdominal discomfort, abdominal pain upper and depression and 7 more reported for Apremilast, absent from its label. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL514800 · 2026-06-24

2 label terms; 10 reported and unlisted; f6b1f516-4972-4d82-bced-113e47b41cc5

Show the evidence
  • abdominal discomfort
    count not stated
  • abdominal pain upper
    count not stated
  • depression
    count not stated
  • diarrhoea
    count not stated
  • headache
    count not stated
  • nausea
    count not stated
4 more recorded rows
  • psoriasis
    count not stated
  • psoriatic arthropathy
    count not stated
  • therapy non-responder
    count not stated
  • weight decreased
    count not stated

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Apremilast and CYP3A4, CYP1A2 and CYP2A6: shared by which compounds?


CYP3A4, CYP1A2 and CYP2A6 appear in Apremilast's recorded interaction sentences, 8 in all. DailyMed label · f6b1f516-4972-4d82-bced-113e47b41cc5 · 2025-08-22

CYP1A2, CYP1A2, CYP2A6, CYP2A6, CYP2B6, CYP2C19; 17 shared nodes; pharmacokinetics, clinical_pharmacology

Show the evidence

Interaction statement

  • pharmacokinetics
    In vitro , CYP metabolism of apremilast is primarily mediated by CYP3A4, with minor contributions from CYP1A2 and CYP2A6.
  • pharmacokinetics
    Drug Interactions In vitro data: Apremilast is not an inhibitor of CYP1A2, CYP2A6, CYP2B6, CYP2C8, CYP2C9, CYP2C19, CYP2D6, CYP2E1, or CYP3A4 and not an inducer of CYP1A2, CYP2B6, CYP2C9, CYP2C19, or CYP3A4.
  • pharmacokinetics
    Apremilast is a substrate, but not an inhibitor of P-glycoprotein (P-gp) and is not a substrate or an inhibitor of organic anion transporter (OAT)1 and OAT3, organic cation transporter (OCT)2, organic anion transporting polypeptide (OATP)1B1 and OATP1B3, or breast cancer resistance protein (BCRP).
  • pharmacokinetics
    Drug interaction trials were performed with apremilast and CYP3A4 substrates (oral contraceptive containing ethinyl estradiol and norgestimate), CYP3A and P-gp inhibitor (ketoconazole), CYP450 inducer (rifampin) and frequently co-administered drug in this patient population (methotrexate).
  • clinical_pharmacology
    In vitro , CYP metabolism of apremilast is primarily mediated by CYP3A4, with minor contributions from CYP1A2 and CYP2A6.
  • clinical_pharmacology
    Drug Interactions In vitro data: Apremilast is not an inhibitor of CYP1A2, CYP2A6, CYP2B6, CYP2C8, CYP2C9, CYP2C19, CYP2D6, CYP2E1, or CYP3A4 and not an inducer of CYP1A2, CYP2B6, CYP2C9, CYP2C19, or CYP3A4.
2 more recorded rows
  • Interaction statement clinical_pharmacology
    Apremilast is a substrate, but not an inhibitor of P-glycoprotein (P-gp) and is not a substrate or an inhibitor of organic anion transporter (OAT)1 and OAT3, organic cation transporter (OCT)2, organic anion transporting polypeptide (OATP)1B1 and OATP1B3, or breast cancer resistance protein (BCRP).
  • Interaction statement clinical_pharmacology
    Drug interaction trials were performed with apremilast and CYP3A4 substrates (oral contraceptive containing ethinyl estradiol and norgestimate), CYP3A and P-gp inhibitor (ketoconazole), CYP450 inducer (rifampin) and frequently co-administered drug in this patient population (methotrexate).

CYP1A2

  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Rasagiline, Sofpironium, Golodirsen, Tinidazole
  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Rasagiline, Sofpironium, Golodirsen, Tinidazole

CYP2A6

  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, Rasagiline, Naldemedine, Methylnaltrexone, Tivozanib, Metaxalone, Selegiline, Trametinib
  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, Rasagiline, Naldemedine, Methylnaltrexone, Tivozanib, Metaxalone, Selegiline, Trametinib
  • CYP2B6
    FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Sofpironium, Bupropion, Golodirsen, Tinidazole, Naldemedine
  • CYP2C19
    FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Rasagiline, Golodirsen, Naldemedine, Etravirine
  • CYP2C8
    FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Golodirsen, Naldemedine, Methylnaltrexone, Lapatinib, Tivozanib
  • CYP2C9
    FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Rasagiline, Golodirsen, Tinidazole, Naldemedine
  • CYP2D6
    FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, Darunavir Propylene Glycolate, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Rasagiline, Sofpironium, Fluoxetine
  • CYP2E1
    FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, Rasagiline, Tinidazole, Naldemedine, Methylnaltrexone, Alosetron, Metaxalone
1 more recorded row
  • CYP3A
    FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, Darunavir Propylene Glycolate, Vincristine, Naldemedine, Pemetrexed, Eravacycline, Rasburicase, Repotrectinib

CYP3A4

  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, ERYTHROMYCIN LACTOBIONATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Beclometasone, Rasagiline, Sofpironium
  • FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, ERYTHROMYCIN LACTOBIONATE, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Beclometasone, Rasagiline, Sofpironium
  • BCRP
    TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Ceftobiprole Medocaril, Deoxycholic acid, Golodirsen, Naldemedine, Eravacycline, Omadacycline
  • OAT3
    TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Ceftobiprole Medocaril, Deoxycholic acid, Golodirsen, Naldemedine, Pemetrexed, Eravacycline
  • OATP1B3
    FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Ceftobiprole Medocaril, Deoxycholic acid, Golodirsen, Naldemedine, Eravacycline
  • P-gp
    FINGOLIMOD LAURYL SULFATE, ERYTHROMYCIN LACTOBIONATE, Darunavir Propylene Glycolate, FOSAPREPITANT DIMEGLUMINE, TAFAMIDIS MEGLUMINE, Arimoclomol, Ceftobiprole Medocaril, Vincristine

recorded 2025-08-22 · last checked 2026-09-04

Where it is registered
Identifiers, relations and other names

The exact record

ChEMBL id
CHEMBL514800
PubChem CID
11561674
CAS number
608141-41-9
RxCUI
1492727
InChIKey
IMOZEMNVLZVGJZ-QGZVFWFLSA-N
Trade name
Apremilast accord, Otezla, Apremilast Viatris
Development code
CC-10004, CC10004
Also called
amg 407, apr, Apremilast [INN], Apremilast [JAN], Apremilast [MI], Apremilast [ORANGE BOOK], Apremilast [USAN], Apremilast [VANDF], Apremilast [WHO-DD]
Sources (6)

Sources

ChEMBL 37 — CC BY-SA 3.0 Unported · ChEMBL ATC CC BY-SA · ClinicalTrials.gov — US Government work · Open Targets 26.06 — CC0 · mixed register set; per-register licences in docs/specs/corpus-20k-sources.md · openFDA / DailyMed — US Government work

How these records are assembled · Which registers were checked

Index-quality checks
  • identity passed: no open identity hold
  • required summary fields resolved: 4 required field(s) not terminal: Why people use it, Best-supported result, Biggest unanswered question, Human evidence
  • public claims reviewed: 0 reviewed claim(s); drafts are never rendered
  • source coverage passed: 6 source rows
  • no critical contamination: no quarantine open
  • canonical metadata passed: slug and display name present
  • no raw internal fields: enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

This is a record of evidence. It is not medical advice, and it does not say this substance suits you. Nothing here says any substance on RNAWiki is appropriate for a child.