Skip to content

Apomorphine

  • Prescription medicine
  • Given by a clinician
  • Identity checked
  • Sources last checked 2026-09-04

This page shows what was measured, who it was measured in, and what that does not settle.

What Apomorphine does in the body

The acute, intermittent treatment of hypomobility, "off" episodes

From the FDA-approved label: Apomorphine hydrocloride is a non-ergoline dopamine agonist with high in vitro binding affinity for the dopamine D 4 receptor, and moderate affinity for the dopamine D 2 , D 3 , and D 5 , and adrenergic α 1 D, α 2 B, α 2 C receptors. The precise mechanism of action of apomorphine hydrocloride as a treatment for Parkinson's disease is unknown, although it is believed to be due to stimulation of post-synaptic dopamine D 2 -type receptors within the caudate-putamen in the brain.

What happened in people

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

A fixed RNAWiki sentence

Where this came from

Wording RNAWiki always uses, not a finding about this substance.

No reviewed claim names a result for any goal on this record.

No source is stored against this line.

The limit that matters most

Not recorded.

Where it acts
Not recorded.
Kind of result
No result is published, so no kind of result applies yet
Supervision
RNAWiki has not recorded a supervision or regulatory status for this substance.

What the registries record it as

  • Its recorded molecular formula is C17H17NO2∙HCl.

    US prescribing information · aedf70e4-1949-44bc-bf1b-0f282c4f0705 · read 2026-08-30

Where each sentence above came from

No recorded sentence describes the change this makes in a way that stands on its own. The page opens with what it is taken for instead, and the recorded explanation follows below.

Shown as the opening line on this page.

No statement of the main limit is recorded.

The four opening statements run to 107 words.

Words this page uses

Four words worth knowing first

Chosen from what this page shows, with each one explained before the word it depends on.

Biomarker

A biomarker is a number from a test that stands in for something about health.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A biomarker is like a fuel gauge.

Where that stops being true. A gauge is wired to the tank. Many biomarkers are only loosely tied to health.

What people get wrong. A better number is read as a better life. Several medicines improved a number and helped nobody.

A measurable indicator used as a substitute for a clinical outcome of interest.

Placebo

A placebo is a dummy treatment given so the real one can be compared with it.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A placebo is like a blank control in an experiment.

Where that stops being true. A blank does nothing. People given a placebo often do get better.

What people get wrong. A placebo effect is read as imaginary. The improvement is measured and real.

An inactive intervention matched in appearance to the test intervention, used to control for non-specific effects.

Comparator

A comparator is whatever the treatment was measured against.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

It is like the other runner in a race.

Where that stops being true. A race has one winner. A study can show both arms improved.

What people get wrong. Results are read without asking what the other group got. Beating nothing is not beating a treatment.

The control condition against which the experimental intervention is assessed.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What happened in people

Each card is one study: the exact question it asked, who was in it, and whether it showed what it set out to show.

adverse events (AE)s

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00142545
How many people
800
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Subcutaneous

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Evaluate the changes from baseline to W24 in motor symptoms (UPDRS Section III).

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00605683
How many people
679
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Subcutaneous

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Evaluation of Safety and Tolerability Data Collected, Based on Number of Participants With Adverse Events in the LTS Phase

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT02542696
How many people
496
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Subcutaneous

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Assessment of the impact of different actigraphy procedures on the healthcare organization of Parkinson's disease (PK) patients using an apomorphine pump

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT03213379
How many people
190
Study design
Not applicable
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Subcutaneous

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Decision to change management

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT03152721
How many people
147
Study design
Not applicable
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Subcutaneous

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Mean Change From Pre-Dose to 30 Minutes Post-Dose in The Movement Disorders Society Unified Parkinson's Disease Rating Scale Part III Motor Examination (MDS-UPDRS Part III) Score at Maintenance Visit 4 (MV4) - Week 12

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT02469090
How many people
141
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Subcutaneous

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
What we know
RNAWiki holds 6 written-up human studies for this substance, each with the question it asked.
How we know it
Each card names the study, the number of people and what the study set out to measure.
What this does not prove
These summaries were written by a person and have not been signed off as reviewed claims.
Why it matters
A study that failed is as informative as one that worked, and both are here.
What we still do not know
No reviewed claim exists, so no exact population, effect size or interval is published yet.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Were people like you studied?

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it, and where the result stops carrying.

Who was studied

People similar to this profile were included.

  • Apomorphine hydrochloride injection is indicated for the acute, intermittent treatment of hypomobility, "off" episodes ("end-of-dose wearing off" and unpredictable "on/off" episodes) in patients with advanced Parkinson's disease. Apomorphine hydrocloride inejction has been studied as an adjunct to other medications [see Clinical Studies (14) ].

Who is missing from the studies

  • Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What the label states about particular groups

  • On pediatric, the label states: “Safety and effectiveness in pediatric patients have not been established.”

    US prescribing information · aedf70e4-1949-44bc-bf1b-0f282c4f0705 · read 2026-08-30

  • On older people, the label states: “In the apomorphine hydrocloride clinical development program, there were 239 patients less than age 65 treated with apomorphine hydrocloride and 311 patients who were age 65 or older.”

    US prescribing information · aedf70e4-1949-44bc-bf1b-0f282c4f0705 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are pregnant, the label states: “Risk Summary There are no adequate data on the developmental risk associated with use of apomorphine hydrocloride in pregnant women.”

    US prescribing information · aedf70e4-1949-44bc-bf1b-0f282c4f0705 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are breastfeeding, the label states: “Risk Summary There are no data on the presence of apomorphine in human milk, the effects of apomorphine on the breastfed infant, or the effects of apomorphine on milk production.”

    US prescribing information · aedf70e4-1949-44bc-bf1b-0f282c4f0705 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people with reduced liver function, the label states: “Caution should be exercised when administrating apomorphine hydrocloride to patients with mild and moderate hepatic impairment because of the increased C max and AUC in these patients.”

    US prescribing information · aedf70e4-1949-44bc-bf1b-0f282c4f0705 · read 2026-08-30

  • On people with reduced kidney function, the label states: “The starting apomorphine hydrocloride dose should be reduced in patients with mild or moderate renal impairment because the concentration and exposure (C max and AUC) are increased in these patients.”

    US prescribing information · aedf70e4-1949-44bc-bf1b-0f282c4f0705 · read 2026-08-30

Where the result stopped carrying

  • This is a scope explorer, not a diagnosis engine.
  • It shows who was studied so you can see whether people similar to you were included.

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Why it might seem to do nothing

A real effect and a noticed effect are different things. These are the recorded reasons the two come apart.

It was studied in different people

The people in the studies were not much like the reader.

On this record: Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

The evidence may simply be wrong

Small early studies often do not hold up.

On this record: RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Other reasons RNAWiki checked and found nothing for (11)
It was studied for a different goal
The studies measured something else entirely. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
A different form was studied
The studied form is not the form on the shelf. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
There was nothing to correct
Where a level is already normal, topping it up may change nothing. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else had to happen too
In the studies it was paired with training, a diet or another treatment. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The change is too small to feel
A real change can still sit below what a person notices. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Day-to-day swing hides it
Sleep, food, stress and time of day move most numbers more than this would. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Not enough time yet
The studies ran longer than the person has waited. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
It was not taken as studied
Missed days change the result, and studies count them. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else changed at the same time
Two changes at once cannot be told apart afterwards. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The product may not be what it says
Contents of a sold product are not always what the label states. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
No recorded reason
RNAWiki has nothing stored that would explain it. Nothing in this record points to this reason.

None of these is a reason to take more. Taking more is not a step this page ever suggests.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What taking it involves

The recorded facts about getting hold of it and using it. Nothing here is a suggestion about what you should do.

How it is supplied

Given by a clinician

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Read from the recorded approval status.

No source is stored against this line.

Form and route

Subcutaneous

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form and route recorded on this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

Who oversees it

RNAWiki has not recorded a supervision or regulatory status for this substance.

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

No register row and no identity class settled the question.

No source is stored against this line.

What is in the pack

Sold as injectable, solution, film, injection, solution, given by the subcutaneous, sublingual, oral route.

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

Recorded notes on how this is sold and what that means for what is in the pack.

No source is stored against this line.

Where it is registered

Regulatory records are listed in the technical disclosure at the foot of this page.

Counted from records

Where this came from

A count of rows RNAWiki holds. It describes our records, not your body.

Register entries are stored per jurisdiction and shown with their dates.

No source is stored against this line.

Why people stop

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

No record of why people stopped taking it is stored for this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

What it would be like to takeNothing found in the sources checked

What can go wrong

Sorted by where each line came from. A regulator's label and a report somebody sent in are not the same kind of fact.

Nothing found in the sources checked

No harm is recorded against this substance in the sources RNAWiki checked. Finding nothing is not the same as showing there is nothing.

The sources listed were searched and held nothing. That is not the same as nothing existing.

Over a long time. No completed tested study window is recorded, so long-term effects are not established by the registry record.

Groups the studies covered thinly. Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Does the exact form matter?

Evidence belongs to the exact thing that was tested. A different salt, a different mixture or a different preparation is a different question.

The form that was studied

Subcutaneous

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form used in the studies cited on this page.

No source is stored against this line.

What is sold

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

Nothing further is recorded about which forms are sold.

No source is stored against this line.

What is recorded as being sold

  • 19 products list this as an active ingredient in the United States drug directory. 16 of them contain it and nothing else.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 52817-720 · read 2026-08-29

  • They are sold as injection, injection, solution, liquid, powder, solution and solution/ drops, taken oral, subcutaneous and sublingual.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 52817-720 · read 2026-08-29

  • The regulator's established pharmacologic class for it is dopamine agonists [moa] and dopaminergic agonist [epc].

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 52817-720 · read 2026-08-29

  • 5 published labels name it as an active ingredient. 2 of them describe this substance alone, which is where its own label text on this page comes from.

    US prescribing information · aedf70e4-1949-44bc-bf1b-0f282c4f0705 · read 2026-08-29

  • Those labels are classed as human otc drug and human prescription drug.

    US prescribing information · aedf70e4-1949-44bc-bf1b-0f282c4f0705 · read 2026-08-29

  • apomorphine hydrocloride is subcutaneous at 3 DOSAGE FORMS AND STRENGTHS Apomorphine hydrocloride 30 mg/3 mL (10 mg/mL) containing apomorphine hydrochloride (as apomorphine hydrochloride hemihydrate), USP is supplied as a clear, colorless, sterile, solution in a…, recorded as fda label in effect 2022-02-24 in the United States.

    US prescribing information · aedf70e4-1949-44bc-bf1b-0f282c4f0705 · read 2026-08-30

Evidence carries across two names for one substance. It does not carry across a salt, a mirror form or a mixture.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What you could measure

This one is decided with a clinician, so this section holds questions to ask rather than a plan to run.

RNAWiki could not confidently classify this substance, so no self-experiment plan is offered.

Questions worth asking

  • Which of the trials of Apomorphine studied people like me?
  • What was measured, and for how long?
  • Was the result a laboratory value or a health outcome?
  • What would we watch for, and when would we stop?

Tracking can show whether something changed for you. It cannot show what caused it.

RNAWiki records evidence. It does not say whether this substance is right for you.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What nobody knows yet

Open questions, each with why it is open and what would close it.

How much did people take in the studies?

The sources RNAWiki checked hold nothing for this field.

Why it matters. A result belongs to an amount. Without the amount the result floats free.

What would answer it

A stored source that records it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing populations

Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing long-term data

No completed tested study window is recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

No reviewed conclusion

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing interaction studies

No interaction was found in the registers checked. Not finding one is not the same as showing there is none.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Formulation uncertainty

Several salts, forms or products of Apomorphine are recorded. Results from one form may not transfer to another.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Mechanism not reviewed

No reviewed mechanism story exists for this substance.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Check any of this yourself

Every line above traced back to the study it came from. This is the technical layer, and the vocabulary changes here.

Read from sources, not yet reviewed

No traced study record is stored for this substance.

Built from stored sources by fixed rules. No reviewer has signed it off.

How many documents were read

  • 2 documents were read for this substance.

    RNAWiki source record

  • 2 of them state the same volumeOfDistribution, and they agree.

    RNAWiki source record

Checks this page had to pass

  • Passed

    Identity resolved

    no open identity hold

  • Passed

    No unresolved merge across substance families

    no quarantine open

  • Passed

    Every public sentence names a source

    The opening statement carries the origin: Written into the record, not signed off.

  • Not passed

    Trial roles classified for highlighted evidence

    No registered study is classified as testing this substance.

  • Passed

    No internal keys in reader text

    enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

  • Not passed

    Safety mode resolved

    No register row and no identity class settled the question.

  • Passed

    Canonical metadata present

    slug and display name present

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

How this medicine reached us

Kept near the foot of the page. A historical event moves up only when it changes something about this substance today.

  1. Withdrawn, in European Union; no reason is published (EMA Medicine.csv)

What the approval register records

  • 4 approved applications cover products containing this substance. The earliest was NDA021264, approved 20040420 to MDD US.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA021264 · read 2026-08-29

  • Marketing status on the register: discontinued and prescription.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA021264 · read 2026-08-29

  • The earliest marketing start date recorded for a listed product is 19840815.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 52817-720 · read 2026-08-29

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What to learn next

Ordered by what would most change how you read this page, starting with what is easiest to misunderstand.

This order is fixed in code and does not count clicks or time on the page.

What is not here

9 questions this page could not answer

These sections were prepared and left out because there was nothing to put in them. They are listed rather than hidden, so the gaps in this record are visible.

  • What was measured, goal by goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How close this is to real life — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • The path through the body — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Felt, measured, or meaningful — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How long anything takes — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What it may clash with — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Other ways to the same goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Claims that go past the evidence — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What changed on this page — found nothing in the sources checked.

The record as stored

The full record, for auditing

Everything above is built from what is below. This layer keeps the technical vocabulary, record identifiers and every stored row, so a reader who wants to check the page can.

Recorded evidence blocks (9)

On the Apomorphine label: indicated for what?


"ONAPGO is indicated for the treatment of motor fluctuations in adults with advanced Parkinson's disease. ONAPGO is a dopaminergic agonist indicated for the treatment of motor fluctuations in adults with advanced Parkinson's disease.": indications and usage on Apomorphine's label. DailyMed label · f3552b6e-5ae7-4993-aa1a-e399c4a7080a · 2026-07-10

32 registered trials of Apomorphine — at which phases?


Registered studies posting no result
23 of 32

32 registered studies of Apomorphine: 10 phase2, 10 phase3, 7 phase4, 3 na, 2 na or unstated, 1 early phase1. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

284 with a PubMed record

Show the evidence
  • phase2
    10
  • phase3
    10
  • phase4
    7
  • na
    3
  • na or unstated
    2
  • early phase1
    1
6 more recorded rows
  • completed
    23
  • unknown
    3
  • terminated
    2
  • withdrawn
    2
  • recruiting
    1
  • suspended
    1

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

3 of Apomorphine's trials stopped: accrual/recruitment, other?


accrual/recruitment (1) and other (2): Apomorphine's stop wording, clustered. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

"Insufficient study materials"; 3 of 32 registered studies

Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT00472355
    withdrawn; "Insufficient study materials"
  • NCT00758368
    withdrawn; "Inadequate support to conduct the study"
  • NCT02549573
    terminated; "Subject enrollment is unsatisfactory"

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Apomorphine's half-life is 40 minutes — which schedules were studied?


40 minutes, the half-life Apomorphine's label states: "After administration of an extra dose, the mean elimination half-life is approximately 40 minutes." DailyMed label · f3552b6e-5ae7-4993-aa1a-e399c4a7080a · 2026-07-10

tmax 20-40 minutes.

Show the evidence
  • half life pharmacokinetics
    40 minutes; After administration of an extra dose, the mean elimination half-life is approximately 40 minutes.
  • tmax pharmacokinetics
    20-40 minutes; If an extra dose is administered two hours or later following initiation of a continuous dose, the supplemental exposure from the extra dose reaches peak concentration in 20-40 minutes.
  • metabolism pharmacokinetics
    Metabolism Apomorphine metabolism is primarily via conjugation.

recorded 2026-07-10 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 14 trials of Apomorphine posted no result?


Posted no result
14 of 14 completed trials
Registrations
NCT00200512, NCT00200525, NCT00145171, NCT00142545, NCT00524914 and NCT00610103, and 8 more
Completion dates
oldest 1999-11; newest 2024-07-22
Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT00200512
    1999-11
  • NCT00200525
    2002-06
  • NCT00145171
    2002-08
  • NCT00142545
    2005-07
  • NCT00524914
    2008-03
  • NCT00610103
    2008-10
8 further recorded trials
  • NCT01744964
    2011-07
  • NCT00605683
    2012-03
  • NCT01432821
    2014-12
  • NCT02969629
    2014-12
  • NCT04786158
    2020-07-01
  • NCT02940912
    2021-04-12
  • NCT03693872
    2022-06-02
  • NCT04887467
    2024-07-22

At the median, Apomorphine's trials enrolled 46.5 people — anything larger?


Median enrolment
46.5
Largest enrolment
800
Registered trials counted
32

What do 2204 spontaneous reports say about Apomorphine — and not say?


These are reports people sent to a regulator. They do not show the medicine caused the reaction. Nobody counted how many people took the medicine and reported nothing. The same event can be reported more than once, and many reports are incomplete. News coverage, lawsuits and new warnings change how often people report. A count is not a rate and not a risk.

Apomorphine appears in spontaneous reports to regulators. Across the 10 most-reported reaction terms, 2204 reaction mentions were counted: nausea 550; somnolence 355; dizziness 324; vomiting 178. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL3187985 · 2026-06-24

Show the evidence
  • nausea
    550
  • somnolence
    355
  • dizziness
    324
  • vomiting
    178
  • fall
    172
  • blood pressure decreased
    154
4 more recorded rows
  • fatigue
    139
  • hyperhidrosis
    123
  • dyskinesia
    106
  • hallucination
    103

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 10 reactions does Apomorphine's label not list?


blood pressure decreased, dizziness and dyskinesia and 7 more reported for Apomorphine, absent from its label. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL3187985 · 2026-06-24

2 label terms; 10 reported and unlisted; f3552b6e-5ae7-4993-aa1a-e399c4a7080a

Show the evidence
  • blood pressure decreased
    count not stated
  • dizziness
    count not stated
  • dyskinesia
    count not stated
  • fall
    count not stated
  • fatigue
    count not stated
  • hallucination
    count not stated
4 more recorded rows
  • hyperhidrosis
    count not stated
  • nausea
    count not stated
  • somnolence
    count not stated
  • vomiting
    count not stated

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Where do the label and the trials disagree about Apomorphine?


"withdrawn" against "approved": withdrawal status vs register status for Apomorphine.

EMA_MEDICINE_REGISTER, Drugs@FDA; 1 recorded pair

Show the evidence
  • EMA_MEDICINE_REGISTER EMEA/H/C/000327
    withdrawn; 2026-09-04
  • Drugs@FDA NDA214056
    approved; 2026-08-28
Where it is registered

Where it’s registered

Withdrawn, in European Union; no reason is published (EMA Medicine.csv)

Identifiers, relations and other names

The exact record

ChEMBL id
CHEMBL3187985
PubChem CID
107882
CAS number
41372-20-7
RxCUI
71225
InChIKey
VMWNQDUVQKEIOC-CYBMUJFWSA-N
Also called
APOMORPHINE HYDROCHLORIDE, Apomorphinum muriaticum, Britaject, Ixense, Kw-6500, Taluvian, 6a.beta.-aporphine-10,11-diol, Apomorphinum, az-009, sc apomorphine, sl-apo, staccato apomorphine
Trade name
Apo-go, Apo-go pen, Apo-go pfs, Apokyn, Kynmobi, Uprima, Onapgo, apomorphine hydrocloride
Salt form
Apomorph hcl, Apomorphine hcl, Apomorphine hydrochloride hemihydrate, Apomorphine hydrochloride hydrate, apomorphine hcl injection, Kynmobi / Apokyn / Onapgo / Apomorphine Hydrochloride
Development code
NSC-755875, APL-130277, VR-040, VR040
Sources (6)

Sources

ChEMBL 37 — CC BY-SA 3.0 Unported · ClinicalTrials.gov — US Government work · EMA medicine register · Open Targets 26.06 — CC0 · mixed register set; per-register licences in docs/specs/corpus-20k-sources.md · openFDA / DailyMed — US Government work

How these records are assembled · Which registers were checked

Index-quality checks
  • identity passed: no open identity hold
  • required summary fields resolved: 4 required field(s) not terminal: Why people use it, Best-supported result, Biggest unanswered question, Human evidence
  • public claims reviewed: 0 reviewed claim(s); drafts are never rendered
  • source coverage passed: 6 source rows
  • no critical contamination: no quarantine open
  • canonical metadata passed: slug and display name present
  • no raw internal fields: enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

This is a record of evidence. It is not medical advice, and it does not say this substance suits you. Nothing here says any substance on RNAWiki is appropriate for a child.