Skip to content

Anhydrous Citric Acid

  • Plant preparation
  • Given by a clinician
  • Identity checked
  • Sources last checked 2026-09-04

This page shows what was measured, who it was measured in, and what that does not settle.

What Anhydrous Citric Acid does in the body

Community-acquired bacterial pneumonia (CABP) caused by susceptible microorganisms

From the FDA-approved label: Sodium picosulfate is hydrolyzed by colonic bacteria to form an active metabolite: bis-(p-hydroxy-phenyl)-pyridyl-2-methane, BHPM, which acts directly on the colonic mucosa to stimulate colonic peristalsis. Magnesium oxide and citric acid react to create magnesium citrate in solution, which is an osmotic agent that causes water to be retained within the gastrointestinal tract.

What happened in people

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

A fixed RNAWiki sentence

Where this came from

Wording RNAWiki always uses, not a finding about this substance.

No reviewed claim names a result for any goal on this record.

No source is stored against this line.

The limit that matters most

Not recorded.

Where it acts
Not recorded.
Kind of result
No result is published, so no kind of result applies yet
Supervision
Not usually supervised: sold as a supplement or food ingredient where recorded. That is a legal category, not a safety judgement.

What the registries record it as

  • The substance registry classes this as chemical.

    FDA substance registry · 2968PHW8QP · read 2026-08-29

  • The supplement label database classes it as non-nutrient/non-botanical, under the name Citric Acid.

    NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database · 1653 · read 2026-08-29

Where each sentence above came from

No recorded sentence describes the change this makes in a way that stands on its own. The page opens with what it is taken for instead, and the recorded explanation follows below.

Shown as the opening line on this page.

No statement of the main limit is recorded.

The four opening statements run to 79 words.

Words this page uses

Four words worth knowing first

Chosen from what this page shows, with each one explained before the word it depends on.

Biomarker

A biomarker is a number from a test that stands in for something about health.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A biomarker is like a fuel gauge.

Where that stops being true. A gauge is wired to the tank. Many biomarkers are only loosely tied to health.

What people get wrong. A better number is read as a better life. Several medicines improved a number and helped nobody.

A measurable indicator used as a substitute for a clinical outcome of interest.

Placebo

A placebo is a dummy treatment given so the real one can be compared with it.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A placebo is like a blank control in an experiment.

Where that stops being true. A blank does nothing. People given a placebo often do get better.

What people get wrong. A placebo effect is read as imaginary. The improvement is measured and real.

An inactive intervention matched in appearance to the test intervention, used to control for non-specific effects.

Comparator

A comparator is whatever the treatment was measured against.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

It is like the other runner in a race.

Where that stops being true. A race has one winner. A study can show both arms improved.

What people get wrong. Results are read without asking what the other group got. Beating nothing is not beating a treatment.

The control condition against which the experimental intervention is assessed.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What happened in people

Each card is one study: the exact question it asked, who was in it, and whether it showed what it set out to show.

Adverse pregnancy outcome

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT05934318
How many people
2960
Study design
Not applicable
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Intravenous

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • FDA label (openFDA SPL) · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

High quality of entire colon cleansing according to the HS

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT04598880
How many people
1180
Study design
Phase 4
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Intravenous

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • FDA label (openFDA SPL) · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Rate of Wound infection

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT04161599
How many people
968
Study design
Phase 4
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Intravenous

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • FDA label (openFDA SPL) · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Percentage of Subjects Classified as a Responder Defined by "Excellent" or "Good"

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT03017235
How many people
917
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Intravenous

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • FDA label (openFDA SPL) · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Participants Who Achieved Clinical Resolution

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00105534
How many people
685
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Intravenous

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • FDA label (openFDA SPL) · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

The Efficacy Rate Based on the Overall Colon Cleansing Effect as Assessed by the Independent Central Judging Committee Using the Japanese Colon Cleansing Scale

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT02215954
How many people
637
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Intravenous

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • FDA label (openFDA SPL) · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
What we know
RNAWiki holds 6 written-up human studies for this substance, each with the question it asked.
How we know it
Each card names the study, the number of people and what the study set out to measure.
What this does not prove
These summaries were written by a person and have not been signed off as reviewed claims.
Why it matters
A study that failed is as informative as one that worked, and both are here.
What we still do not know
No reviewed claim exists, so no exact population, effect size or interval is published yet.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Were people like you studied?

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it, and where the result stops carrying.

Who was studied

People similar to this profile were included.

  • XENLETA is a pleuromutilin antibacterial indicated for the treatment of adults with community-acquired bacterial pneumonia (CABP) caused by susceptible microorganisms. ( 1.1 ) To reduce the development of drug resistant bacteria and maintain the effectiveness of XENLETA and other antibacterial drugs, XENLETA should be used only to treat or prevent infections that are proven or strongly suspected to be caused by…

Who is missing from the studies

  • Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

Where the result stopped carrying

  • This is a scope explorer, not a diagnosis engine.
  • It shows who was studied so you can see whether people similar to you were included.

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Why it might seem to do nothing

A real effect and a noticed effect are different things. These are the recorded reasons the two come apart.

It was studied in different people

The people in the studies were not much like the reader.

On this record: Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

The evidence may simply be wrong

Small early studies often do not hold up.

On this record: RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Other reasons RNAWiki checked and found nothing for (11)
It was studied for a different goal
The studies measured something else entirely. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
A different form was studied
The studied form is not the form on the shelf. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
There was nothing to correct
Where a level is already normal, topping it up may change nothing. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else had to happen too
In the studies it was paired with training, a diet or another treatment. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The change is too small to feel
A real change can still sit below what a person notices. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Day-to-day swing hides it
Sleep, food, stress and time of day move most numbers more than this would. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Not enough time yet
The studies ran longer than the person has waited. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
It was not taken as studied
Missed days change the result, and studies count them. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else changed at the same time
Two changes at once cannot be told apart afterwards. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The product may not be what it says
Contents of a sold product are not always what the label states. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
No recorded reason
RNAWiki has nothing stored that would explain it. Nothing in this record points to this reason.

None of these is a reason to take more. Taking more is not a step this page ever suggests.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What taking it involves

The recorded facts about getting hold of it and using it. Nothing here is a suggestion about what you should do.

How it is supplied

Given by a clinician

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Read from the recorded approval status.

No source is stored against this line.

Form and route

Intravenous

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form and route recorded on this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

Who oversees it

Not usually supervised: sold as a supplement or food ingredient where recorded. That is a legal category, not a safety judgement.

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

The identity record classes it as a supplement ingredient; no medicines register records an approval.

No source is stored against this line.

What is in the pack

Sold as solution, tablet, effervescent, liquid, solution/ drops, given by the intravenous, oral, sublingual route.

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

Recorded notes on how this is sold and what that means for what is in the pack.

No source is stored against this line.

Where it is registered

Regulatory records are listed in the technical disclosure at the foot of this page.

Counted from records

Where this came from

A count of rows RNAWiki holds. It describes our records, not your body.

Register entries are stored per jurisdiction and shown with their dates.

No source is stored against this line.

Why people stop

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

No record of why people stopped taking it is stored for this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

What it would be like to takeNothing found in the sources checked

What can go wrong

Sorted by where each line came from. A regulator's label and a report somebody sent in are not the same kind of fact.

Nothing found in the sources checked

No harm is recorded against this substance in the sources RNAWiki checked. Finding nothing is not the same as showing there is nothing.

The sources listed were searched and held nothing. That is not the same as nothing existing.

Over a long time. No completed tested study window is recorded, so long-term effects are not established by the registry record.

Groups the studies covered thinly. Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Does the exact form matter?

Evidence belongs to the exact thing that was tested. A different salt, a different mixture or a different preparation is a different question.

The form that was studied

Intravenous

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form used in the studies cited on this page.

No source is stored against this line.

What is sold

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

Nothing further is recorded about which forms are sold.

No source is stored against this line.

What is recorded as being sold

  • 169 products list this as an active ingredient in the United States drug directory. 30 of them contain it and nothing else.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 83021-551 · read 2026-08-29

  • They are sold as capsule, chewable gel, cream, gel, granule, effervescent and injection, solution, taken extracorporeal, hemodialysis, intravenous and irrigation.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 83021-551 · read 2026-08-29

  • The regulator's established pharmacologic class for it is acidifying activity [moa], anti-coagulant [epc] and calcium chelating activity [moa].

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 83021-551 · read 2026-08-29

  • 152 published labels name it as an active ingredient. 20 of them describe this substance alone, which is where its own label text on this page comes from.

    US prescribing information · eb972ea8-7502-422e-84bb-66cb8e93ca06 · read 2026-08-29

  • Those labels are classed as human otc drug and human prescription drug.

    US prescribing information · eb972ea8-7502-422e-84bb-66cb8e93ca06 · read 2026-08-29

  • 32867 marketed supplement labels list this ingredient, classed as non-nutrient/non-botanical.

    NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database · 219818 · read 2026-08-29

  • Those labels carry all other and structure/function claims. A claim of that kind is written by the manufacturer and is not assessed by any regulator, so its presence says nothing about whether it is true.

    NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database · 219818 · read 2026-08-29

  • Sodium Citrate and Citric Acid is oral at HOW SUPPLIED Sodium Citrate and Citric Acid Oral Solution, USP (colorless, grape flavor) is supplied in the following oral dosage forms: NDC 81033-017-15: 15 mL unit dose cup NDC 81033-017-50: Case containing 100 unit-d…, recorded as fda label in effect 2025-04-21 in the United States.

    US prescribing information · 3140f8fe-0644-7561-e063-6394a90a2c28 · read 2026-08-30

Evidence carries across two names for one substance. It does not carry across a salt, a mirror form or a mixture.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What you could measure

This one is decided with a clinician, so this section holds questions to ask rather than a plan to run.

A single-person plan is offered only as a structure for observing yourself. It never calculates an amount to take, and it cannot prove cause.

Questions worth asking

  • Which of the trials of Anhydrous Citric Acid studied people like me?
  • What was measured, and for how long?
  • Was the result a laboratory value or a health outcome?
  • What would we watch for, and when would we stop?

Tracking can show whether something changed for you. It cannot show what caused it.

RNAWiki records evidence. It does not say whether this substance is right for you.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What nobody knows yet

Open questions, each with why it is open and what would close it.

Missing populations

Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing long-term data

No completed tested study window is recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

No reviewed conclusion

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing interaction studies

No interaction was found in the registers checked. Not finding one is not the same as showing there is none.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Formulation uncertainty

Several salts, forms or products of Anhydrous Citric Acid are recorded. Results from one form may not transfer to another.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Mechanism not reviewed

No reviewed mechanism story exists for this substance.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Check any of this yourself

Every line above traced back to the study it came from. This is the technical layer, and the vocabulary changes here.

Where else this substance is registered

FDA substance identifier (UNII)
2968PHW8QP
CAS registry number
5949-29-1
PubChem compound
22230
ChEMBL
CHEMBL1261
ChEBI
30769
RxNorm concept
221079
EMA substance identifier
100000137641
DrugBank
DB04272

Checks this page had to pass

  • Passed

    Identity resolved

    no open identity hold

  • Passed

    No unresolved merge across substance families

    no quarantine open

  • Passed

    Every public sentence names a source

    The opening statement carries the origin: Written into the record, not signed off.

  • Not passed

    Trial roles classified for highlighted evidence

    No registered study is classified as testing this substance.

  • Passed

    No internal keys in reader text

    enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

  • Passed

    Safety mode resolved

    The identity record classes it as a supplement ingredient; no medicines register records an approval.

  • Passed

    Canonical metadata present

    slug and display name present

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

How this medicine reached us

Kept near the foot of the page. A historical event moves up only when it changes something about this substance today.

What the approval register records

  • 9 approved applications cover products containing this substance. The earliest was NDA018519, approved 19820622 to BAXTER HLTHCARE.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA018519 · read 2026-08-29

  • Marketing status on the register: discontinued, none (tentative approval) and prescription.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA018519 · read 2026-08-29

  • The earliest marketing start date recorded for a listed product is 19690101.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 83021-551 · read 2026-08-29

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What to learn next

Ordered by what would most change how you read this page, starting with what is easiest to misunderstand.

This order is fixed in code and does not count clicks or time on the page.

What is not here

9 questions this page could not answer

These sections were prepared and left out because there was nothing to put in them. They are listed rather than hidden, so the gaps in this record are visible.

  • What was measured, goal by goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How close this is to real life — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • The path through the body — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Felt, measured, or meaningful — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How long anything takes — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What it may clash with — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Other ways to the same goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Claims that go past the evidence — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What changed on this page — found nothing in the sources checked.

The record as stored

The full record, for auditing

Everything above is built from what is below. This layer keeps the technical vocabulary, record identifiers and every stored row, so a reader who wants to check the page can.

Recorded evidence blocks (8)

On the Anhydrous Citric Acid label: indicated for what?


"Sodium citrate and citric acid oral solution, is an effective alkalinizing agent. It is useful in those conditions where long-term maintenance of an alkaline urine is desirable, and is of value in the alleviation of chronic metabolic acidosis, such as results from chronic renal insufficiency or the syndrome of renal…": indications and usage on Anhydrous Citric Acid's label. DailyMed label · 58c24504-47de-487a-ab8d-18add155ea95 · 2026-04-07

13 registered trials of Anhydrous Citric Acid — at which phases?


Registered studies posting no result
10 of 13

13 registered studies of Anhydrous Citric Acid: 6 na, 2 phase2, 2 phase3, 2 phase4, 1 na or unstated, 1 phase1. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

1 with a PubMed record

Show the evidence
  • na
    6
  • phase2
    2
  • phase3
    2
  • phase4
    2
  • na or unstated
    1
  • phase1
    1
5 more recorded rows
  • completed
    8
  • unknown
    2
  • not yet recruiting
    1
  • terminated
    1
  • withdrawn
    1

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

2 of Anhydrous Citric Acid's trials stopped: safety, other?


safety (1) and other (1): Anhydrous Citric Acid's stop wording, clustered. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

"PI left the institution prior to any data being collected"; 2 of 13 registered studies

Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT01421160
    withdrawn; "PI left the institution prior to any data being collected"
  • NCT05918029
    terminated; "DSMB recommended termination due to insufficient accrual rate."

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Human studies of Anhydrous Citric Acid used 900mg (Sucanate (98% w/w), Citric Acid (2% w/w) — over how long?


Human studies of Anhydrous Citric Acid used "900mg (Sucanate (98% w/w), Citric Acid (2% w/w)". ClinicalTrials.gov · 2026-09-01

Show the evidence
  • human NCT00881452
    900mg (Sucanate (98% w/w), Citric Acid (2% w/w)

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 6 trials of Anhydrous Citric Acid posted no result?


Posted no result
6 of 6 completed trials
Registrations
NCT00881452, NCT01181570, NCT03468946, NCT02492126, NCT03769402 and NCT02359942
Completion dates
oldest 2011-09; newest 2018-12-31
Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT00881452
    2011-09
  • NCT01181570
    2011-09
  • NCT03468946
    2014-12
  • NCT02492126
    2017-06
  • NCT03769402
    2018-11-01
  • NCT02359942
    2018-12-31

At the median, Anhydrous Citric Acid's trials enrolled 30 people — anything larger?


Median enrolment
30
Largest enrolment
1200
Registered trials counted
13

What do 54 spontaneous reports say about Anhydrous Citric Acid — and not say?


These are reports people sent to a regulator. They do not show the medicine caused the reaction. Nobody counted how many people took the medicine and reported nothing. The same event can be reported more than once, and many reports are incomplete. News coverage, lawsuits and new warnings change how often people report. A count is not a rate and not a risk.

Anhydrous Citric Acid appears in spontaneous reports to regulators. Across the 10 most-reported reaction terms, 54 reaction mentions were counted: drug hypersensitivity 13; toxic epidermal necrolysis 9; haemorrhage 7; colitis 6. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL1261 · 2026-06-24

Show the evidence
  • drug hypersensitivity
    13
  • toxic epidermal necrolysis
    9
  • haemorrhage
    7
  • colitis
    6
  • product barcode issue
    4
  • swollen tongue
    4
4 more recorded rows
  • blood calcium decreased
    3
  • dermatitis
    3
  • imaging procedure artifact
    3
  • anorectal discomfort
    2

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 10 reactions does Anhydrous Citric Acid's label not list?


anorectal discomfort, blood calcium decreased and colitis and 7 more reported for Anhydrous Citric Acid, absent from its label. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL1261 · 2026-06-24

3 label terms; 10 reported and unlisted; 58c24504-47de-487a-ab8d-18add155ea95

Show the evidence
  • anorectal discomfort
    count not stated
  • blood calcium decreased
    count not stated
  • colitis
    count not stated
  • dermatitis
    count not stated
  • drug hypersensitivity
    count not stated
  • haemorrhage
    count not stated
4 more recorded rows
  • imaging procedure artifact
    count not stated
  • product barcode issue
    count not stated
  • swollen tongue
    count not stated
  • toxic epidermal necrolysis
    count not stated

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Where it is registered
Identifiers, relations and other names

The exact record

ChEMBL id
CHEMBL1261
PubChem CID
22230
CAS number
5949-29-1
RxCUI
221079
InChIKey
KRKNYBCHXYNGOX-UHFFFAOYSA-N
Trade name
Citric Buffered Normal Saline, Soothe Chewable, Earthmed Soothe Chewable Cherry, Earthmed Soothe Chewable Orange, Earthmed Soothe Chewable Strawberry, Earthmed Soothe Chewable Watermelon, AQUACETIC-30, CITRACID-50
Salt form
Sodium Citrate and Citric Acid, CITRIC ACID, SODIUM CITRATE, CITRIC ACID MONOHYDRATE, CLEANING SOLUTION FOR HEMODIALYSIS MACHINES, DESINFECTANT SOLUTION FOR HEMODIALYSIS MACHINE
Also called
1,2,3-PROPANETRICARBOXYLIC ACID, 2 HYDROXY-, MONOHYDRATE, 2-HYDROXY-1,2,3-PROPANE-TRICARBOXYLIC ACID, MONOHYDRATE, ACIDUM CITRICUM MONOHYDRATE [WHO-IP LATIN], B1650 [LANGUAL], CITRATE [II], CITRATE [VANDF], CITRIC ACID BP, CITRIC ACID HYDRATE [JAN], CITRIC ACID MONOHYDRATE [EP IMPURITY], CITRIC ACID MONOHYDRATE [EP MONOGRAPH], CITRIC ACID MONOHYDRATE [II]
Sources (6)

Sources

ChEMBL 37 — CC BY-SA 3.0 Unported · ChEMBL ATC CC BY-SA · ClinicalTrials.gov — US Government work · Open Targets 26.06 — CC0 · mixed register set; per-register licences in docs/specs/corpus-20k-sources.md · openFDA / DailyMed — US Government work

How these records are assembled · Which registers were checked

Index-quality checks
  • identity passed: no open identity hold
  • required summary fields resolved: 4 required field(s) not terminal: Why people use it, Best-supported result, Biggest unanswered question, Human evidence
  • public claims reviewed: 0 reviewed claim(s); drafts are never rendered
  • source coverage passed: 6 source rows
  • no critical contamination: no quarantine open
  • canonical metadata passed: slug and display name present
  • no raw internal fields: enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

This is a record of evidence. It is not medical advice, and it does not say this substance suits you. Nothing here says any substance on RNAWiki is appropriate for a child.