Skip to content

Amoxicillin Anhydrous

  • Prescription medicine
  • Prescription only
  • Identity checked
  • Sources last checked 2026-09-04

This page shows what was measured, who it was measured in, and what that does not settle.

What Amoxicillin Anhydrous does in the body

A bacterium is held together by a rigid outer mesh it has to keep repairing as it grows.

Amoxicillin is shaped like the piece the repair enzyme normally picks up, so the enzyme picks up the drug instead and is permanently stuck. The mesh stops being repaired, the cell swells under its own internal pressure, and it bursts. Human cells have no such mesh and no such enzyme, which is why the drug can be given to a six-month-old.

Why people take it. Used for certain bacterial infections of the ears, throat, sinuses, chest or urine.

What happened in people

In strictly diagnosed childhood ear infections, persistent infection fell from about one half to about one sixth.

Reviewed first-read answer

Where this came from

A person wrote this and a reviewer approved it against this exact record. It carries no effect size.

A reviewer approved this against this record. The reviewed-claim record carrying the exact population and effect size does not exist yet.

No source is stored against this line.

The limit that matters most

It does not help ordinary coughs when pneumonia is not suspected.

Where it acts
Bacterial periplasm and cell wall, at the site of infection
Kind of result
The kind of result is not recorded
Supervision
RNAWiki has not recorded a supervision or regulatory status for this substance.

What the registries record it as

  • Its recorded molecular formula is C16H19N3O5S, weighing 419.45.

    US prescribing information · 6a3d1af5-6e93-4f06-8d82-1c87290c46aa · read 2026-08-30

Where each sentence above came from

A person wrote this explanation into the record, with the studies named in the path below.

A reviewer approved this sentence against this exact record and its sources.

The limit a reviewer approved as the one that matters most here.

The four opening statements run to 109 words.

Words this page uses

Four words worth knowing first

Chosen from what this page shows, with each one explained before the word it depends on.

Comparator

A comparator is whatever the treatment was measured against.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

It is like the other runner in a race.

Where that stops being true. A race has one winner. A study can show both arms improved.

What people get wrong. Results are read without asking what the other group got. Beating nothing is not beating a treatment.

The control condition against which the experimental intervention is assessed.

Randomisation

Randomisation means chance decides who gets which treatment.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

It is like a coin toss deciding the groups.

Where that stops being true. A coin toss is fair once. Fairness here comes from doing it for everyone.

What people get wrong. It is thought to make groups identical. It makes them similar on average, including on things nobody measured.

Allocation of participants to arms by a chance process, so that unmeasured factors are balanced in expectation.

Absolute difference

An absolute difference is how many more people in a hundred were affected.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

It is like counting heads in two rooms of a hundred.

Where that stops being true. Heads are easy to count. Study results carry a margin of error too.

What people get wrong. It is confused with a percentage change, which can look far larger.

The arithmetic difference in event rates between arms.

Confidence interval

A confidence interval is the range the true answer is likely to sit in.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

It is like a weather forecast giving a range rather than one number.

Where that stops being true. A forecast range covers tomorrow. This one covers what the study could resolve.

What people get wrong. The middle number is read as the answer. A range crossing zero means no change is still possible.

An interval estimate that would contain the true parameter in a stated proportion of repeated studies.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What happened in people

Each card is one study: the exact question it asked, who was in it, and whether it showed what it set out to show.

Time to resolution of symptoms and rate of clinical failure on otoscopy in children aged 6 to 23 months

The study showed what it set out to show

Who was studied
Hoberman acute otitis media trial (NCT00377260)
How many people
291
Study design
Phase 4 randomised placebo-controlled
Compared against
A dummy treatment
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
P < 0.001 for clinical failure at day 10 to 12
Repeated elsewhere
Replicated

What this does not prove. Meeting one endpoint in one population does not carry to other goals or other people.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. Diarrhoea and diaper-area dermatitis were both more common with amoxicillin-clavulanate than with placebo.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral capsule, tablet, chewable tablet and powder for oral suspension

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

Time to treatment failure in children aged 6 to 35 months

The study showed what it set out to show

Who was studied
Tahtinen acute otitis media trial
How many people
319
Study design
Randomised placebo-controlled
Compared against
A dummy treatment
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Reported as significant in favour of amoxicillin-clavulanate
Repeated elsewhere
Replicated

What this does not prove. Meeting one endpoint in one population does not carry to other goals or other people.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral capsule, tablet, chewable tablet and powder for oral suspension

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

Duration of symptoms rated moderately bad or worse in acute lower respiratory tract infection without suspected pneumonia

The study did not show it

Who was studied
GRACE-10 (ISRCTN52261229, EudraCT 2007-001586-15)
How many people
2061
Study design
Randomised placebo-controlled, 12 countries
Compared against
A dummy treatment
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
P = 0.229 (hazard ratio 1.06, 95% CI 0.96 to 1.18)
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. Nausea, rash or diarrhoea were significantly more common on amoxicillin, number needed to harm 21, and one case of anaphylaxis occurred.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral capsule, tablet, chewable tablet and powder for oral suspension

Interval reported. 95% CI 0

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

Clinically indicated antibiotic re-treatment for respiratory infection within 28 days

The study showed what it set out to show

Who was studied
CAP-IT (ISRCTN76888927)
How many people
824
Study design
Phase 4 randomised 2x2 factorial non-inferiority
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Non-inferiority met for both dose and duration; margin 8%
Repeated elsewhere
Partially Replicated

What this does not prove. Meeting one endpoint in one population does not carry to other goals or other people.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. Cough lasted a median of two days longer on the three-day course, and sleep disturbed by cough was likewise longer.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral capsule, tablet, chewable tablet and powder for oral suspension

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

Physician-verified positive immune-mediated oral penicillin challenge within 1 hour

The study showed what it set out to show

Who was studied
PALACE (NCT04454229)
How many people
382
Study design
Randomised open-label non-inferiority
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Risk difference 0.0084 percentage points (90% CI -1.22 to 1.24), within the 5-point margin
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. Meeting one endpoint in one population does not carry to other goals or other people.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral capsule, tablet, chewable tablet and powder for oral suspension

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

What we know
RNAWiki holds 5 written-up human studies for this substance, each with the question it asked.
How we know it
Each card names the study, the number of people and what the study set out to measure.
What this does not prove
These summaries were written by a person and have not been signed off as reviewed claims.
Why it matters
A study that failed is as informative as one that worked, and both are here.
What we still do not know
No reviewed claim exists, so no exact population, effect size or interval is published yet.

What it changes in the bodyRead from sources, not yet reviewed

The path through the body

From what a person takes to what changes. A solid line is a step measured in people. A dashed line is a step nobody has measured that way.

  1. Start

    Amoxicillin Anhydrous

    What a person takes: Oral capsule, tablet, chewable tablet and powder for oral suspension.

    The measurement behind this step

    Given by mouth two or three times daily. Acid stability is what distinguishes amoxicillin from benzylpenicillin: the para-hydroxyl and alpha-amino substituents on the side chain let it survive gastric acid and be absorbed largely intact, which is why the same molecular target can be reached with a capsule rather than an injection.

  2. Getting in

    Swallowed, absorbed and delivered to the infected tissue

    Amoxicillin survives stomach acid better than the penicillin it was derived from, so most of an oral dose reaches the bloodstream and then the infected tissue.

    Described, with no measurement named. No measurement is named for this step, so it is drawn as an unconfirmed link.

    The measurement behind this step

    The para-hydroxyl and alpha-amino groups on the phenylglycine side chain raise acid stability and oral bioavailability relative to benzylpenicillin. Distribution is mainly extracellular, with penetration into middle-ear fluid, sinus secretions and lung tissue; clearance is predominantly renal and largely unchanged drug.

  3. Reaching the cell

    Through the bacterial outer layers to the periplasm

    The drug has to get past the bacterium outer coat to reach the space where the wall is being built.

    Described, with no measurement named. No measurement is named for this step, so it is drawn as an unconfirmed link.

    The measurement behind this step

    In Gram-negative organisms the drug crosses the outer membrane through porin channels into the periplasmic space. In Gram-positive organisms the thick peptidoglycan layer is directly accessible. Where a bacterium expresses a beta-lactamase in that space, the drug is hydrolysed before it ever reaches its target, which is why the clavulanate combination exists.

  4. What it acts on

    The beta-lactam ring mimics the natural substrate

    The strained four-membered ring at the heart of the molecule looks like the end of the chain the wall-building enzyme normally grabs.

    Described, with no measurement named. No measurement is named for this step, so it is drawn as an unconfirmed link.

    The measurement behind this step

    The beta-lactam ring is a structural analogue of the D-alanyl-D-alanine terminus of the peptidoglycan pentapeptide. Penicillin-binding proteins recognise it as substrate and the active-site serine attacks the carbonyl.

  5. The change it makes

    The enzyme is acylated and never released

    The enzyme grabs the drug, opens the ring and then cannot let go. Every enzyme that does this is permanently out of service.

    Described, with no measurement named. No measurement is named for this step, so it is drawn as an unconfirmed link.

    The measurement behind this step

    Nucleophilic attack by the active-site serine opens the strained beta-lactam ring, forming a covalent penicilloyl-enzyme ester that hydrolyses orders of magnitude more slowly than the natural acyl-enzyme intermediate. Transpeptidation stops, so new peptidoglycan strands are laid down without being cross-linked.

  6. What that does for a person

    The wall fails and the cell lyses

    With the mesh no longer being cross-linked while the cell keeps growing, internal pressure tears it open.

    Described, with no measurement named. No measurement is named for this step, so it is drawn as an unconfirmed link.

    The measurement behind this step

    Uncross-linked peptidoglycan cannot resist turgor pressure, and the bacterium activates its own autolysins, so killing is bactericidal rather than merely inhibitory. This is a time-dependent effect: efficacy tracks the fraction of the dosing interval during which free drug exceeds the minimum inhibitory concentration, not the peak level.

No suggested links are held for this record, so nothing is hidden from this path.

What we know
The record describes 5 steps from taking it to an effect in a person.
How we know it
Each step names the study behind it in the technical detail beside it.
What this does not prove
A change inside the body is a reason to look. It is not a result in a person.
Why it matters
A reader can see exactly where the chain stops being measured in people.
What we still do not know
No reviewed claim binds any of these steps to a named population.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Were people like you studied?

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it, and where the result stops carrying.

Who was studied

People similar to this profile were included.

  • Children with acute otitis media diagnosed on strict otoscopic criteria, adults and children with confirmed streptococcal pharyngitis or community-acquired pneumonia, and patients on Helicobacter pylori eradication regimens.

Who is missing from the studies

  • Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What the label states about particular groups

  • On pediatric, the label states: “The safety and effectiveness of amoxicillin for the treatment of upper respiratory tract infections, and infections of the genitourinary tract, skin and skin structure and lower respiratory tract have been established in pediatric patients.”

    US prescribing information · 6a3d1af5-6e93-4f06-8d82-1c87290c46aa · read 2026-08-30

  • On older people, the label states: “An analysis of clinical studies of amoxicillin was conducted to determine whether subjects aged 65 and over respond differently from younger subjects.”

    US prescribing information · 6a3d1af5-6e93-4f06-8d82-1c87290c46aa · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are pregnant, the label states: “Teratogenic Effects: Reproduction studies have been performed in mice and rats at doses up to 2000 mg/kg (3 and 6 times the 3 g human dose, based on body surface area).”

    US prescribing information · 6a3d1af5-6e93-4f06-8d82-1c87290c46aa · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are breastfeeding, the label states: “Penicillins have been shown to be excreted in human milk.”

    US prescribing information · 6a3d1af5-6e93-4f06-8d82-1c87290c46aa · read 2026-08-30

Where the result stopped carrying

  • GRACE: no reduction in symptom duration or severity for acute lower respiratory tract infection in primary care, with a number needed to harm of 21 for nausea, rash or diarrhoea
  • In the Hoberman trial, initial symptom resolution did not differ significantly from placebo (P=0.14) even though otoscopic failure did
  • This is a scope explorer, not a diagnosis engine.
  • It shows who was studied so you can see whether people similar to you were included.

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Why it might seem to do nothing

A real effect and a noticed effect are different things. These are the recorded reasons the two come apart.

It was studied in different people

The people in the studies were not much like the reader.

On this record: Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

The evidence may simply be wrong

Small early studies often do not hold up.

On this record: RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Other reasons RNAWiki checked and found nothing for (11)
It was studied for a different goal
The studies measured something else entirely. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
A different form was studied
The studied form is not the form on the shelf. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
There was nothing to correct
Where a level is already normal, topping it up may change nothing. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else had to happen too
In the studies it was paired with training, a diet or another treatment. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The change is too small to feel
A real change can still sit below what a person notices. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Day-to-day swing hides it
Sleep, food, stress and time of day move most numbers more than this would. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Not enough time yet
The studies ran longer than the person has waited. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
It was not taken as studied
Missed days change the result, and studies count them. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else changed at the same time
Two changes at once cannot be told apart afterwards. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The product may not be what it says
Contents of a sold product are not always what the label states. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
No recorded reason
RNAWiki has nothing stored that would explain it. Nothing in this record points to this reason.

None of these is a reason to take more. Taking more is not a step this page ever suggests.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What taking it involves

The recorded facts about getting hold of it and using it. Nothing here is a suggestion about what you should do.

How it is supplied

Prescription only

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Read from the recorded approval status.

No source is stored against this line.

Form and route

Oral capsule, tablet, chewable tablet and powder for oral suspension

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form and route recorded on this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

Who oversees it

RNAWiki has not recorded a supervision or regulatory status for this substance.

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

No register row and no identity class settled the question.

No source is stored against this line.

What is in the pack

Given by mouth two or three times daily.

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

Recorded notes on how this is sold. The rest of the recorded wording: Acid stability is what distinguishes amoxicillin from benzylpenicillin: the para-hydroxyl and alpha-amino substituents on the side chain let it survive gastric acid and be absorbed largely intact, which is why the same molecular target can be reached with a capsule rather than an injection.

No source is stored against this line.

Where it is registered

Regulatory records are listed in the technical disclosure at the foot of this page.

Counted from records

Where this came from

A count of rows RNAWiki holds. It describes our records, not your body.

Register entries are stored per jurisdiction and shown with their dates.

No source is stored against this line.

Why people stop

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

No record of why people stopped taking it is stored for this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What can go wrong

Sorted by where each line came from. A regulator's label and a report somebody sent in are not the same kind of fact.

Worth asking a clinician aboutWritten into the record from the studies named on this page

The most common adverse effects are diarrhoea, nausea and rash. A morbilliform rash during amoxicillin treatment of infectious mononucleosis is common and is not evidence of IgE-mediated penicillin allergy. True anaphylaxis is rare but occurred once in the 1,038 patients treated in the GRACE trial. Clostridioides difficile infection is a recognised complication of any broad-spectrum antibacterial course.

Nobody counted how many people took this and were fine, so this cannot be turned into a rate.

Where this came from

Over a long time. No completed tested study window is recorded, so long-term effects are not established by the registry record.

Groups the studies covered thinly. Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Does the exact form matter?

Evidence belongs to the exact thing that was tested. A different salt, a different mixture or a different preparation is a different question.

The form that was studied

Oral capsule, tablet, chewable tablet and powder for oral suspension

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form used in the studies cited on this page.

No source is stored against this line.

What is sold

A recorded note compares this form with the others that are sold. It is kept below, word for word.

A fixed RNAWiki sentence

Where this came from

Wording RNAWiki always uses, not a finding about this substance.

The recorded note, unchanged: Acid stability is what distinguishes amoxicillin from benzylpenicillin: the para-hydroxyl and alpha-amino substituents on the side chain let it survive gastric acid and be absorbed largely intact, which is why the same molecular target can be reached with a capsule rather than an injection.

No source is stored against this line.

What is recorded as being sold

  • 506 products list this as an active ingredient in the United States drug directory. 296 of them contain it and nothing else.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 72162-2210 · read 2026-08-29

  • They are sold as capsule, capsule, delayed release, for suspension, powder, powder, for suspension and suspension, taken oral.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 72162-2210 · read 2026-08-29

  • The regulator's established pharmacologic class for it is penicillin-class antibacterial [epc] and penicillins [cs].

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 72162-2210 · read 2026-08-29

  • 387 published labels name it as an active ingredient. 220 of them describe this substance alone, which is where its own label text on this page comes from.

    US prescribing information · ab1dbe70-696f-4ff9-a0c7-7406bff590ae · read 2026-08-29

  • Those labels are classed as human prescription drug.

    US prescribing information · ab1dbe70-696f-4ff9-a0c7-7406bff590ae · read 2026-08-29

  • 1 marketed supplement label lists this ingredient, classed as non-nutrient/non-botanical.

    NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database · 73183 · read 2026-08-29

  • Those labels carry all other and structure/function claims. A claim of that kind is written by the manufacturer and is not assessed by any regulator, so its presence says nothing about whether it is true.

    NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database · 73183 · read 2026-08-29

  • Recorded price in US: 0.01846–0.04425 USD per one millilitre, across 51 priced products whose strengths and pack forms differ, as of 2026-08-26, paid by retail pharmacies buying the product, as surveyed by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. It is not a list price, an insurance price, or what anyone pays at a counter..

    Recorded source · 2026-08-26 · read 2026-08-28

  • Recorded price in US: 0.06839–0.31064 USD per one unit as the pricing file counts it — a tablet, capsule, patch or single item, across 47 priced products whose strengths and pack forms differ, as of 2026-08-26, paid by retail pharmacies buying the product, as surveyed by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. It is not a list price, an insurance price, or what anyone pays at a counter..

    Recorded source · 2026-08-26 · read 2026-08-28

Evidence carries across two names for one substance. It does not carry across a salt, a mirror form or a mixture.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What you could measure

This one is decided with a clinician, so this section holds questions to ask rather than a plan to run.

RNAWiki could not confidently classify this substance, so no self-experiment plan is offered.

Questions worth asking

  • Which of the trials of Amoxicillin Anhydrous studied people like me?
  • What was measured, and for how long?
  • Was the result a laboratory value or a health outcome?
  • What would we watch for, and when would we stop?

Tracking can show whether something changed for you. It cannot show what caused it.

RNAWiki records evidence. It does not say whether this substance is right for you.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Claims that go past the evidence

Things said about this substance that sound reasonable, and the exact step that is missing between the evidence and the claim.

Goes past the evidence

That because amoxicillin works in strictly diagnosed acute otitis media it also works for acute cough: the GRACE trial tested that directly in 2,061 adults and found a hazard ratio of 1.06

Why it sounds right. It follows from something real on this page: a body step, an animal result or a related finding.

The missing step. Nobody measured this in people for this use, or the study that did measure it did not show it.

What would change this

A study in people, for this exact use, measuring this exact thing, that a reviewer signs off.

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Goes past the evidence

That a penicillin allergy recorded in childhood is a current allergy

Why it sounds right. It follows from something real on this page: a body step, an animal result or a related finding.

The missing step. Nobody measured this in people for this use, or the study that did measure it did not show it.

What would change this

A study in people, for this exact use, measuring this exact thing, that a reviewer signs off.

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Goes past the evidence

That the benefit measured in an individual patient trial is the whole benefit-harm calculation, when resistance selection is a population-level cost no such trial measures

Why it sounds right. It follows from something real on this page: a body step, an animal result or a related finding.

The missing step. Nobody measured this in people for this use, or the study that did measure it did not show it.

What would change this

A study in people, for this exact use, measuring this exact thing, that a reviewer signs off.

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What nobody knows yet

Open questions, each with why it is open and what would close it.

Missing populations

Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing long-term data

No completed tested study window is recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

No reviewed conclusion

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing interaction studies

No interaction was found in the registers checked. Not finding one is not the same as showing there is none.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Formulation uncertainty

Several salts, forms or products of Amoxicillin Anhydrous are recorded. Results from one form may not transfer to another.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Mechanism not reviewed

No reviewed mechanism story exists for this substance.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Check any of this yourself

Every line above traced back to the study it came from. This is the technical layer, and the vocabulary changes here.

Every line above can be traced to the study named beside it. Follow the link and read it.

Acute otitis media in children aged 6 to 23 months: clinical failure fell from 51% to 16%
In plain words
In 291 young children whose eardrums were examined against strict criteria, treatment cut the rate of persistent infection on examination from about half to about one in six.
What was measured
Rate of clinical failure on otoscopic examination at day 10 to 12
Effect estimate
No reviewed effect estimate exists for this record.
Limits
See the technical detail.
From the source
Randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled. Amoxicillin-clavulanate for 10 days versus placebo. Clinical failure, defined as persistence of signs of acute infection on otoscopy, occurred in 4% versus 23% at or before day 4 or 5 (P<0.001) and 16% versus 51% at or before day 10 to 12 (P<0.001). Sustained symptom resolution favoured treatment (P=0.04) but initial symptom resolution did not (P=0.14): the drug changed what the ear looked like sooner than it changed how the child felt.
Source
Hoberman A et al., N Engl J Med 2011;364:105-115 (NCT00377260)
Role in the trial
Not matched to a registered study
Identity check
no open identity hold
Audit mark
verified
Review state
Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim
GRACE: no benefit for acute lower respiratory tract infection in 2,061 primary-care adults
In plain words
In the largest placebo-controlled trial of amoxicillin for an acute cough, the drug did not shorten symptoms, and it caused more side effects than it prevented complications.
What was measured
Duration of symptoms rated moderately bad or worse
Effect estimate
No reviewed effect estimate exists for this record.
Limits
This entry records a failure.
From the source
Twelve countries, 1,038 patients on amoxicillin 1 g three times daily for 7 days versus 1,023 on placebo, all with cough of 28 days or less and no clinical suspicion of pneumonia. Duration of symptoms rated moderately bad or worse: hazard ratio 1.06 (95% CI 0.96 to 1.18; P=0.229). Mean symptom severity 1.62 versus 1.69 (P=0.074). New or worsening symptoms were less common on amoxicillin (15.9% versus 19.3%; P=0.043; number needed to treat 30) while nausea, rash or diarrhoea were more common (number needed to harm 21), and there was one case of anaphylaxis. No selective benefit was found in patients aged 60 or over.
Source
Little P et al., Lancet Infect Dis 2013;13:123-129
Role in the trial
Not matched to a registered study
Identity check
no open identity hold
Audit mark
verified
Review state
Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim
CAP-IT: three days was non-inferior to seven in childhood pneumonia
In plain words
A randomised trial found that three days of amoxicillin worked as well as seven for children discharged with community-acquired pneumonia, on the outcome of needing another antibiotic.
What was measured
Clinically indicated antibiotic re-treatment within 28 days
Effect estimate
No reviewed effect estimate exists for this record.
Limits
See the technical detail.
From the source
A 2x2 factorial non-inferiority trial in 824 children aged 6 months and over, discharged from emergency departments or wards in 28 UK hospitals and one Irish hospital. Antibiotic re-treatment for respiratory infection within 28 days occurred in 12.5% with 3 days and 12.5% with 7 days (difference 0.1%, one-sided 95% CI up to 3.9%, non-inferiority margin 8%), and in 12.6% with the lower dose versus 12.4% with the higher (difference 0.2%). Cough lasted a median of 12 days on 3 days of treatment versus 10 days on 7 days (HR 1.2; P=0.04), so the shorter course was not free of cost.
Source
Bielicki JA et al., JAMA 2021;326:1713-1724 (ISRCTN76888927)
Role in the trial
Not matched to a registered study
Identity check
no open identity hold
Audit mark
verified
Review state
Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim
The penicillin allergy label is inherited far more often than it is verified
In plain words
Most people carrying a penicillin allergy label are not allergic, and the label pushes them onto broader, more expensive antibiotics for the rest of their lives.
What was measured
That a childhood rash recorded as a penicillin allergy predicts a current IgE-mediated reaction
Effect estimate
No reviewed effect estimate exists for this record.
Limits
See the technical detail.
From the source
Fewer than 5% of patients labelled penicillin-allergic are truly allergic. In PALACE, a multicentre randomised non-inferiority trial across six specialist centres in North America and Australia, adults scoring below 3 on the PEN-FAST decision rule were assigned to direct oral penicillin challenge or to skin testing followed by challenge. A physician-verified positive immune-mediated challenge occurred in 1 of 187 (0.5%) and 1 of 190 (0.5%), risk difference 0.0084 percentage points (90% CI -1.22 to 1.24), within the 5-percentage-point non-inferiority margin. No serious adverse events occurred.
Source
Copaescu AM et al., JAMA Intern Med 2023;183:944-952 (NCT04454229)
Role in the trial
Not matched to a registered study
Identity check
no open identity hold
Audit mark
verified
Review state
Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim
Tahtinen: the parallel placebo-controlled trial replicated the otitis media result
In plain words
A second randomised trial published in the same issue of the same journal, run by a different group in a different country, found the same thing.
What was measured
Not recorded
Effect estimate
No reviewed effect estimate exists for this record.
Limits
See the technical detail.
From the source
A placebo-controlled trial of amoxicillin-clavulanate in children aged 6 to 35 months with acute otitis media diagnosed on stringent criteria, published alongside Hoberman. Two independent trials reaching a concordant conclusion in the same population is the reason this indication is graded as replicated here, and the reason the acute-cough result is graded separately.
Source
Tahtinen PA et al., N Engl J Med 2011;364:116-126
Role in the trial
Not matched to a registered study
Identity check
no open identity hold
Audit mark
verified
Review state
Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim
Resistance is a population-level cost that no individual prescription trial measures
In plain words
Every trial here counts what happened to the patients in it. None of them count what the prescribing did to the bacteria everyone else will meet.
What was measured
That the individual benefit measured in a treatment trial is the whole of the benefit-harm calculation for an antibiotic
Effect estimate
No reviewed effect estimate exists for this record.
Limits
See the technical detail.
From the source
The GBD antimicrobial resistance study estimated 4.95 million deaths (95% UI 3.62 to 6.57 million) associated with bacterial antimicrobial resistance in 2019, of which 1.27 million (0.911 to 1.71 million) were attributable to it. Lower respiratory infections were the most burdensome syndrome. That figure is an ecological estimate across 204 countries, not an outcome measured in any amoxicillin trial, and the two cannot be added together or traded off within a single randomised comparison.
Source
Murray CJL et al., Lancet 2022;399:629-655
Role in the trial
Not matched to a registered study
Identity check
no open identity hold
Audit mark
caution
Review state
Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim

How many documents were read

  • 218 documents were read for this substance.

    RNAWiki source record

  • 199 of them state the same tMax, and they agree.

    RNAWiki source record

Where else this substance is registered

FDA substance identifier (UNII)
804826J2HU
CAS registry number
26787-78-0
PubChem compound
33613
RxNorm concept
133008

Checks this page had to pass

  • Passed

    Identity resolved

    no open identity hold

  • Passed

    No unresolved merge across substance families

    no quarantine open

  • Passed

    Every public sentence names a source

    The opening statement carries the origin: Written into the record, not signed off.

  • Not passed

    Trial roles classified for highlighted evidence

    No registered study is classified as testing this substance.

  • Passed

    No internal keys in reader text

    enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

  • Not passed

    Safety mode resolved

    No register row and no identity class settled the question.

  • Passed

    Canonical metadata present

    slug and display name present

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

How this medicine reached us

Kept near the foot of the page. A historical event moves up only when it changes something about this substance today.

What the approval register records

  • 126 approved applications cover products containing this substance. The earliest was NDA050459, approved 19740118 to GLAXOSMITHKLINE.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA050459 · read 2026-08-29

  • Marketing status on the register: discontinued and prescription.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA050459 · read 2026-08-29

  • The earliest marketing start date recorded for a listed product is 19780803.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 72162-2210 · read 2026-08-29

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What to learn next

Ordered by what would most change how you read this page, starting with what is easiest to misunderstand.

This order is fixed in code and does not count clicks or time on the page.

What is not here

7 questions this page could not answer

These sections were prepared and left out because there was nothing to put in them. They are listed rather than hidden, so the gaps in this record are visible.

  • What was measured, goal by goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How close this is to real life — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Felt, measured, or meaningful — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How long anything takes — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What it may clash with — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Other ways to the same goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What changed on this page — found nothing in the sources checked.

The record as stored

The full record, for auditing

Everything above is built from what is below. This layer keeps the technical vocabulary, record identifiers and every stored row, so a reader who wants to check the page can.

The older medicine-wide conclusion held in this record

Written for a clinical reader, and about the medicine as a whole rather than about one indication, population and set of trials. RNAWiki does not treat it as a programme conclusion and no reviewer has signed it off in that form. It is here word for word because it is what the record holds.

A beta-lactam that jams the enzyme bacteria use to build their cell wall, with a large randomised benefit in strictly diagnosed acute otitis media and essentially none in acute cough where pneumonia is not suspected.

Recorded evidence blocks (9)

On the Amoxicillin Anhydrous label: indicated for what?


"Adults and Pediatric Patients Upper Respiratory Tract Infections of the Ear, Nose, and Throat: Amoxicillin capsules are indicated in the treatment of infections due to susceptible (ONLY β- lactamase–negative) isolates of Streptococcus species. (α- and β-hemolytic isolates only), Streptococcus pneumoniae ,…": indications and usage on Amoxicillin Anhydrous's label. DailyMed label · 3a4afd36-dffa-44a1-9d09-e93cf66053bf · 2026-08-20

323 registered trials of Amoxicillin Anhydrous — at which phases?


Registered studies posting no result
284 of 323

323 registered studies of Amoxicillin Anhydrous: 138 phase4, 78 na, 50 phase3, 29 phase2, 24 phase1, 10 na or unstated, 8 early phase1. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

2681 with a PubMed record

Show the evidence
  • phase4
    138
  • na
    78
  • phase3
    50
  • phase2
    29
  • phase1
    24
  • na or unstated
    10
8 more recorded rows
  • early phase1
    8
  • completed
    194
  • unknown
    63
  • recruiting
    20
  • not yet recruiting
    17
  • terminated
    16
  • withdrawn
    9
  • active not recruiting
    4

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

22 of Amoxicillin Anhydrous's trials stopped: safety, futility/efficacy, accrual/recruitment, funding/business, other?


safety (2), futility/efficacy (2), accrual/recruitment (7), funding/business (2) and other (9): Amoxicillin Anhydrous's stop wording, clustered. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

"no inclusion"; 22 of 323 registered studies

Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT00713947
    withdrawn; "no inclusion"
  • NCT00764062
    terminated; "The trial was stopped earlier than planned because of the slow accrual rate."
  • NCT00799838
    terminated; "Recruitment challenges despite several attenpts to increase enrollment"
  • NCT01059123
    terminated; "Insufficient number of inclusion"
  • NCT01533818
    terminated; "The study was stopped by DSMB based on high treatment failure rate in placebo compared to active drug."
  • NCT01930955
    withdrawn; "no patients were included"
14 further recorded trials
  • NCT02099240
    terminated; "Not enough patient enrollment and lack of staffing"
  • NCT02131818
    terminated; "The enrollment process is too difficult to complete"
  • NCT02332577
    terminated; "The sponsor stopped the study due to low recruitment with no safety concerns"
  • NCT02605122
    terminated; "Development not proceeding"
  • NCT02783404
    terminated; "Significant results (no control neither amoxicillin new arms needed)"
  • NCT03021590
    withdrawn; "No Participants Enrolled"
  • NCT03060473
    terminated; "Patient population that meets study criteria is insufficient to continue project in a reasonable amount of time. To continue is futile in resources, staff time, and effort."
  • NCT03208361
    terminated; "Lack of financial support to continue with the study recruitment. Independent study financially supported by a national grant with a 4.5 years duration."
  • NCT03431337
    terminated; "Futility found by interim analysis"
  • NCT04057014
    withdrawn; "No funding available for the activity"
  • NCT05165212
    withdrawn; "Unable to host study at clinic site."
  • NCT05250050
    withdrawn; "Unable to complete in vitro culture of Helicobacter pylori in our hospital"
  • NCT05464615
    terminated; "PI does not wish to proceed due to a different clinical decision tool becoming available"
  • NCT05473234
    terminated; "Study was halted due to low follow-up rates and issues with data collection"

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Human studies of Amoxicillin Anhydrous used Amoxicillin 600mg — over how long?


Human studies of Amoxicillin Anhydrous used "Amoxicillin 600mg". ClinicalTrials.gov · 2026-09-01

20 recorded entries; human; tablet; also "Amoxicillin 500 mg MYLAN, no. 30 + 20.", "Amoxicillin, Sandoz, 1 g tablet", "Chongkundang Amoxicillin Cap. 500mg"

Show the evidence

human

  • NCT00778050
    Amoxicillin 600mg
  • NCT01368341
    Amoxicillin 500 mg MYLAN, no. 30 + 20.
  • NCT01829529
    tablet; Amoxicillin, Sandoz, 1 g tablet
  • NCT02352701
    Chongkundang Amoxicillin Cap. 500mg
  • NCT02547012
    amoxicillin 500 mg
  • NCT02547025
    amoxicillin 1g
14 more recorded rows
  • human NCT02547038
    amoxicillin 1 g
  • human NCT02998437
    Amoxicillin 500 Mg
  • human NCT02998437
    Amoxicillin Cap. 500mg Chongkundang(the brand name)
  • human NCT03011996
    Amoxicillin 1g
  • human NCT03021590
    Amoxicillin 1000Mg Capsule
  • human NCT03132714
    Amoxicillin 500mg
  • human NCT03431337
    Amoxicillin 875 mg
  • human NCT03499184
    Amoxil 500 mg Oral Capsule
  • human NCT03588273
    Amoxil 500 MG Oral Capsule
  • human NCT03992144
    amoxill 500mg
  • human NCT03992144
    metronidazol 400mg and amoxicillin 500mg
  • human NCT04090021
    Amoxicillin 1000 MG
  • human NCT04408508
    Amoxicillin 250 MG
  • human NCT04408508
    Amoxicillin 250 mg Capsule

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Amoxicillin Anhydrous's half-life is 61.3 minutes — which schedules were studied?


61.3 minutes, the half-life Amoxicillin Anhydrous's label states: "Metabolism and Excretion: The half-life of amoxicillin is 61.3 minutes." DailyMed label · 3a4afd36-dffa-44a1-9d09-e93cf66053bf · 2026-08-20

tmax 1 hour.

Show the evidence
  • half life pharmacokinetics
    61.3 minutes; Metabolism and Excretion: The half-life of amoxicillin is 61.3 minutes.
  • tmax pharmacokinetics
    1 hour; Peak concentrations occurred approximately 1 hour after the dose.
  • metabolism pharmacokinetics
    Metabolism and Excretion: The half-life of amoxicillin is 61.3 minutes.

recorded 2026-08-20 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 131 trials of Amoxicillin Anhydrous posted no result?


Posted no result
131 of 131 completed trials
Registrations
NCT00227331, NCT00539149, NCT00001658, NCT00002682, NCT01559753 and NCT00778050, and 125 more
Completion dates
oldest 2000-01; newest 2024-09-01
Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT00227331
    2000-01
  • NCT00539149
    2001-03
  • NCT00001658
    2001-06
  • NCT00002682
    2001-10-08
  • NCT01559753
    2002-11
  • NCT00778050
    2002-12
14 further recorded trials
  • NCT01156740
    2003-04
  • NCT00750750
    2003-09-01
  • NCT00643149
    2004-03
  • NCT00130013
    2004-06
  • NCT01375426
    2004-06
  • NCT00751075
    2004-06-22
  • NCT01933698
    2005-07
  • NCT01310361
    2006-03
  • NCT00407394
    2006-04
  • NCT00084201
    2007-06
  • NCT00933049
    2008-01
  • NCT00851487
    2008-04
  • NCT01192789
    2010-05
  • NCT01792700
    2010-12

At the median, Amoxicillin Anhydrous's trials enrolled 187 people — anything larger?


Median enrolment
187
Largest enrolment
100000
Registered trials counted
320

What do 11855 spontaneous reports say about Amoxicillin Anhydrous — and not say?


These are reports people sent to a regulator. They do not show the medicine caused the reaction. Nobody counted how many people took the medicine and reported nothing. The same event can be reported more than once, and many reports are incomplete. News coverage, lawsuits and new warnings change how often people report. A count is not a rate and not a risk.

Amoxicillin Anhydrous appears in spontaneous reports to regulators. Across the 10 most-reported reaction terms, 11855 reaction mentions were counted: drug hypersensitivity 2930; rash 1517; pruritus 1464; urticaria 1335. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL1082 · 2026-06-24

Show the evidence
  • drug hypersensitivity
    2930
  • rash
    1517
  • pruritus
    1464
  • urticaria
    1335
  • erythema
    913
  • acute kidney injury
    831
4 more recorded rows
  • rash maculo-papular
    806
  • drug reaction with eosinophilia and systemic symptoms
    760
  • anaphylactic reaction
    664
  • angioedema
    635

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 10 reactions does Amoxicillin Anhydrous's label not list?


acute kidney injury, anaphylactic reaction and angioedema and 7 more reported for Amoxicillin Anhydrous, absent from its label. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL1082 · 2026-06-24

2 label terms; 10 reported and unlisted; 3a4afd36-dffa-44a1-9d09-e93cf66053bf

Show the evidence
  • acute kidney injury
    count not stated
  • anaphylactic reaction
    count not stated
  • angioedema
    count not stated
  • drug hypersensitivity
    count not stated
  • drug reaction with eosinophilia and systemic symptoms
    count not stated
  • erythema
    count not stated
4 more recorded rows
  • pruritus
    count not stated
  • rash
    count not stated
  • rash maculo-papular
    count not stated
  • urticaria
    count not stated

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Where it is registered
Identifiers, relations and other names

The exact record

ChEMBL id
CHEMBL1082
PubChem CID
62883
CAS number
61336-70-7
RxCUI
133008
InChIKey
LSQZJLSUYDQPKJ-NJBDSQKTSA-N
Also called
Amoxicillin
Trade name
Amix 125, Amix 250, Amix 500, Amopen, Amoram, Amoxicillin component of augmentin, Amoxicillin component of prevpac, Amoxicillin component of talicia, Amoxicillin pediatric, Amoxident 250, Amoxident 500, Amoxi-inject
Also called
Amoxicilina, Amoxicillinum trihydricum, Amoxycillin, Amoxyke, Atoksilin, Damoxy, Demoksil, Largopen, Moksilin, Promoxil, Remoxil, Topramoxin
Salt form
Amoxicillin component of clavulox trihydrate, Amoxicillin hydrate, Amoxicillin trihydrate, Amoxycillin trihydrate
International name
Amoxicilline
Development code
BRL 2333, NSC-277174
Component
Amoxicillin
Sources (6)

Sources

ChEMBL 37 — CC BY-SA 3.0 Unported · ChEMBL ATC CC BY-SA · ClinicalTrials.gov — US Government work · Open Targets 26.06 — CC0 · mixed register set; per-register licences in docs/specs/corpus-20k-sources.md · openFDA / DailyMed — US Government work

How these records are assembled · Which registers were checked

Index-quality checks
  • identity passed: no open identity hold
  • required summary fields resolved: 4 required field(s) not terminal: Why people use it, Best-supported result, Biggest unanswered question, Human evidence
  • public claims reviewed: 0 reviewed claim(s); drafts are never rendered
  • source coverage passed: 6 source rows
  • no critical contamination: no quarantine open
  • canonical metadata passed: slug and display name present
  • no raw internal fields: enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

This is a record of evidence. It is not medical advice, and it does not say this substance suits you. Nothing here says any substance on RNAWiki is appropriate for a child.