Skip to content

Aminolevulinic Acid

  • Prescription medicine
  • Prescription only
  • Identity checked
  • Sources last checked 2026-09-04

This page shows what was measured, who it was measured in, and what that does not settle.

What Aminolevulinic Acid does in the body

Minimally to moderately thick actinic keratoses of the face, scalp, or upper extremities

From the FDA-approved label: Following the application of LEVULAN KERASTICK topical solution, photosensitization occurs through the metabolic conversion of aminolevulinic acid to protoporphyrin IX (PpIX), a photosensitizer, which accumulates in the skin. When exposed to light of appropriate wavelength and energy, the accumulated photoactive porphyrins produce a photodynamic reaction, resulting in a cytotoxic process dependent upon the simultaneous presence of oxygen. The absorption of light results in an excited state of porphyrin molecules, and subsequent spin transfer from photoreactive porphyrins to molecular oxygen generates singlet oxygen, which can further react to form superoxide and hydroxyl radicals.

What happened in people

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

A fixed RNAWiki sentence

Where this came from

Wording RNAWiki always uses, not a finding about this substance.

No reviewed claim names a result for any goal on this record.

No source is stored against this line.

The limit that matters most

Not recorded.

Where it acts
Not recorded.
Kind of result
No result is published, so no kind of result applies yet
Supervision
Professional supervision is normally required. A regulator classifies this substance in a way that restricts how it is supplied.

What the registries record it as

  • The substance registry classes this as chemical.

    FDA substance registry · 88755TAZ87 · read 2026-08-29

  • Its recorded molecular formula is C5H9NO3·HCl, weighing 167.59.

    US prescribing information · 650daa9f-aeec-49ce-95b9-5fa20b988afd · read 2026-08-30

Where each sentence above came from

No recorded sentence describes the change this makes in a way that stands on its own. The page opens with what it is taken for instead, and the recorded explanation follows below.

Shown as the opening line on this page.

No statement of the main limit is recorded.

The four opening statements run to 122 words.

Words this page uses

Four words worth knowing first

Chosen from what this page shows, with each one explained before the word it depends on.

Biomarker

A biomarker is a number from a test that stands in for something about health.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A biomarker is like a fuel gauge.

Where that stops being true. A gauge is wired to the tank. Many biomarkers are only loosely tied to health.

What people get wrong. A better number is read as a better life. Several medicines improved a number and helped nobody.

A measurable indicator used as a substitute for a clinical outcome of interest.

Placebo

A placebo is a dummy treatment given so the real one can be compared with it.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

A placebo is like a blank control in an experiment.

Where that stops being true. A blank does nothing. People given a placebo often do get better.

What people get wrong. A placebo effect is read as imaginary. The improvement is measured and real.

An inactive intervention matched in appearance to the test intervention, used to control for non-specific effects.

Comparator

A comparator is whatever the treatment was measured against.

A picture of it, and where the picture fails

It is like the other runner in a race.

Where that stops being true. A race has one winner. A study can show both arms improved.

What people get wrong. Results are read without asking what the other group got. Beating nothing is not beating a treatment.

The control condition against which the experimental intervention is assessed.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What happened in people

Each card is one study: the exact question it asked, who was in it, and whether it showed what it set out to show.

Proportion of Patients With >= 1 Ta or T1 Tumor Detected With Blue Light and Not White Light

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00233402
How many people
789
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Tumor recurrence

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT02660190
How many people
696
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Percentage of Participants With Complete Response 12 Weeks After the Last Photodynamic Therapy (PDT), ITT

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT02799069
How many people
571
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Percentage of Participants With Complete Response at Week 12

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT04085367
How many people
557
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

Comparison of intraoperative measurements of PpIX concentration to coregistered histopathology

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT02191488
How many people
540
Study design
Phase 1
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot

1. Percentage of patients with a histologically confirmed malignant glioma (grade III or IV -WHO) without definite residual contrast agent-accumulating tumour in the early post-operative control MRI (within 72 hours of the operation).

The study did not show it

Who was studied
NCT00241670
How many people
415
Study design
Phase 3
Compared against
Not recorded for this study
Kind of result
A number that stands in for health
What was found
Result not recorded on this page
Repeated elsewhere
Unreplicated

What this does not prove. A study that did not show an effect does not show that no effect exists anywhere.

The limits of this study, and where it came from

Main limit. No limitation is recorded for this study.

How far it carries. This study is recorded from the curated record, not from the registry match.

Form and route. Oral

Interval reported. Not recorded in this summary

Written into the record, not signed off as a reviewed claim.

  • openFDA Drugs@FDA · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA NDC Directory · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • openFDA SPL label · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
  • PubChem PUG-REST · a recorded source, not a stored snapshot
What we know
RNAWiki holds 6 written-up human studies for this substance, each with the question it asked.
How we know it
Each card names the study, the number of people and what the study set out to measure.
What this does not prove
These summaries were written by a person and have not been signed off as reviewed claims.
Why it matters
A study that failed is as informative as one that worked, and both are here.
What we still do not know
No reviewed claim exists, so no exact population, effect size or interval is published yet.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Were people like you studied?

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it, and where the result stops carrying.

Who was studied

People similar to this profile were included.

  • The LEVULAN KERASTICK for topical solution plus blue light illumination using the BLU-U Blue Light Photodynamic Therapy Illuminator is indicated for the treatment of minimally to moderately thick actinic keratoses of the face, scalp, or upper extremities.

Who is missing from the studies

  • Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What the label states about particular groups

  • On pediatric, the label states: “Safety and effectiveness in pediatric patients below the age of 18 have not been established.”

    US prescribing information · 650daa9f-aeec-49ce-95b9-5fa20b988afd · read 2026-08-30

  • On older people, the label states: “Of the 384 subjects exposed to AMELUZ in randomized, multicenter clinical trials, 83% (318/384) of the subjects were 65 years old and over.”

    US prescribing information · 650daa9f-aeec-49ce-95b9-5fa20b988afd · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are pregnant, the label states: “Risk Summary There are no available data on AMELUZ use in pregnant women to inform a drug associated risk.”

    US prescribing information · 650daa9f-aeec-49ce-95b9-5fa20b988afd · read 2026-08-30

  • On people who are breastfeeding, the label states: “Risk Summary No data are available regarding the presence of aminolevulinic acid in human milk, the effects of aminolevulinic acid on the breastfed infant or on milk production.”

    US prescribing information · 650daa9f-aeec-49ce-95b9-5fa20b988afd · read 2026-08-30

Where the result stopped carrying

  • This is a scope explorer, not a diagnosis engine.
  • It shows who was studied so you can see whether people similar to you were included.

RNAWiki cannot tell whether a study fits you. It can show who was in it.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Why it might seem to do nothing

A real effect and a noticed effect are different things. These are the recorded reasons the two come apart.

It was studied in different people

The people in the studies were not much like the reader.

On this record: Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

The evidence may simply be wrong

Small early studies often do not hold up.

On this record: RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Other reasons RNAWiki checked and found nothing for (11)
It was studied for a different goal
The studies measured something else entirely. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
A different form was studied
The studied form is not the form on the shelf. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
There was nothing to correct
Where a level is already normal, topping it up may change nothing. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else had to happen too
In the studies it was paired with training, a diet or another treatment. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The change is too small to feel
A real change can still sit below what a person notices. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Day-to-day swing hides it
Sleep, food, stress and time of day move most numbers more than this would. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Not enough time yet
The studies ran longer than the person has waited. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
It was not taken as studied
Missed days change the result, and studies count them. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
Something else changed at the same time
Two changes at once cannot be told apart afterwards. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
The product may not be what it says
Contents of a sold product are not always what the label states. Nothing in this record points to this reason.
No recorded reason
RNAWiki has nothing stored that would explain it. Nothing in this record points to this reason.

None of these is a reason to take more. Taking more is not a step this page ever suggests.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What taking it involves

The recorded facts about getting hold of it and using it. Nothing here is a suggestion about what you should do.

How it is supplied

Prescription only

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Read from the recorded approval status.

No source is stored against this line.

Form and route

Oral

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form and route recorded on this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

Who oversees it

Professional supervision is normally required. A regulator classifies this substance in a way that restricts how it is supplied.

Quoted from a source

Where this came from

Copied from a source RNAWiki stored, with the source named.

Suppression classes recorded: S1, S4.

No source is stored against this line.

What is in the pack

Sold as for solution, solution, gel, powder, for solution, given by the oral, topical route.

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

Recorded notes on how this is sold and what that means for what is in the pack.

No source is stored against this line.

Where it is registered

Regulatory records are listed in the technical disclosure at the foot of this page.

Counted from records

Where this came from

A count of rows RNAWiki holds. It describes our records, not your body.

Register entries are stored per jurisdiction and shown with their dates.

No source is stored against this line.

Why people stop

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

No record of why people stopped taking it is stored for this substance.

No source is stored against this line.

What it would be like to takeNothing found in the sources checked

What can go wrong

Sorted by where each line came from. A regulator's label and a report somebody sent in are not the same kind of fact.

Nothing found in the sources checked

No harm is recorded against this substance in the sources RNAWiki checked. Finding nothing is not the same as showing there is nothing.

The sources listed were searched and held nothing. That is not the same as nothing existing.

Over a long time. No completed tested study window is recorded, so long-term effects are not established by the registry record.

Groups the studies covered thinly. Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded for this substance. Pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, older adults, and people with liver or kidney conditions are commonly excluded from trials; nothing here says whether they were.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Does the exact form matter?

Evidence belongs to the exact thing that was tested. A different salt, a different mixture or a different preparation is a different question.

The form that was studied

Oral

Source-linked record

Where this came from

A person wrote this into the record with the study named beside it. No reviewer has signed it off.

The form used in the studies cited on this page.

No source is stored against this line.

What is sold

Not recorded.

Nothing recorded

Where this came from

RNAWiki holds nothing here and says so rather than guessing.

Nothing further is recorded about which forms are sold.

No source is stored against this line.

What is recorded as being sold

  • 7 products list this as an active ingredient in the United States drug directory. 7 of them contain it and nothing else.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 73164-0002 · read 2026-08-29

  • They are sold as for solution, gel, powder and powder, for solution, taken oral and topical.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 73164-0002 · read 2026-08-29

  • The regulator's established pharmacologic class for it is fluorescence contrast activity [moa], optical imaging agent [epc] and porphyrin precursor [epc].

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 73164-0002 · read 2026-08-29

  • 2 published labels name it as an active ingredient. 2 of them describe this substance alone, which is where its own label text on this page comes from.

    US prescribing information · e45cc371-9ebc-4904-12bc-65cb4e2817ad · read 2026-08-29

  • Those labels are classed as human prescription drug.

    US prescribing information · e45cc371-9ebc-4904-12bc-65cb4e2817ad · read 2026-08-29

  • 22310 marketed supplement labels list this ingredient, classed as botanical with nutrients, non-nutrient/non-botanical and other combinations.

    NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database · 213895 · read 2026-08-29

  • Those labels carry all other, nutrient and structure/function claims. A claim of that kind is written by the manufacturer and is not assessed by any regulator, so its presence says nothing about whether it is true.

    NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database · 213895 · read 2026-08-29

  • AMELUZ is topical at 3., recorded as fda label in effect 2026-08-26 in the United States.

    US prescribing information · 650daa9f-aeec-49ce-95b9-5fa20b988afd · read 2026-08-30

Evidence carries across two names for one substance. It does not carry across a salt, a mirror form or a mixture.

What it would be like to takeRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What you could measure

This one is decided with a clinician, so this section holds questions to ask rather than a plan to run.

Self-experiment planning is not offered for a prescription or clinician-supervised medicine. The questions below are for a clinician or pharmacist.

Questions worth asking

  • Which of the trials of Aminolevulinic Acid studied people like me?
  • What was measured, and for how long?
  • Was the result a laboratory value or a health outcome?
  • What would we watch for, and when would we stop?

Tracking can show whether something changed for you. It cannot show what caused it.

RNAWiki records evidence. It does not say whether this substance is right for you.

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What nobody knows yet

Open questions, each with why it is open and what would close it.

Missing populations

Which groups were under-represented in the studies has not been recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing long-term data

No completed tested study window is recorded.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

No reviewed conclusion

RNAWiki has not yet published a reviewed conclusion for this use.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Missing interaction studies

No interaction was found in the registers checked. Not finding one is not the same as showing there is none.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Formulation uncertainty

Several salts, forms or products of Aminolevulinic Acid are recorded. Results from one form may not transfer to another.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

Mechanism not reviewed

No reviewed mechanism story exists for this substance.

Why it matters. Recorded by the evidence model as a gap on this record.

What would answer it

A study that measures it, and a reviewer to sign it off.

Last checked 2026-09-04. Searched: The sources listed in the receipts at the foot of this page.

What happened in peopleRead from sources, not yet reviewed

Check any of this yourself

Every line above traced back to the study it came from. This is the technical layer, and the vocabulary changes here.

How many documents were read

  • 3 documents were read for this substance.

    RNAWiki source record

Where else this substance is registered

FDA substance identifier (UNII)
88755TAZ87
CAS registry number
106-60-5
PubChem compound
137
ChEBI
17549
RxNorm concept
683
EMA substance identifier
100000089317
European Chemicals Agency number
203-414-1
DrugBank
DB00855

Checks this page had to pass

  • Passed

    Identity resolved

    no open identity hold

  • Passed

    No unresolved merge across substance families

    no quarantine open

  • Passed

    Every public sentence names a source

    The opening statement carries the origin: Written into the record, not signed off.

  • Not passed

    Trial roles classified for highlighted evidence

    No registered study is classified as testing this substance.

  • Passed

    No internal keys in reader text

    enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

  • Passed

    Safety mode resolved

    Suppression classes recorded: S1, S4.

  • Passed

    Canonical metadata present

    slug and display name present

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

How this medicine reached us

Kept near the foot of the page. A historical event moves up only when it changes something about this substance today.

What the approval register records

  • 3 approved applications cover products containing this substance. The earliest was NDA020965, approved 19991203 to SUN PHARM INDS INC.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA020965 · read 2026-08-29

  • Marketing status on the register: prescription.

    Drugs@FDA application register · NDA020965 · read 2026-08-29

  • The earliest marketing start date recorded for a listed product is 19921125.

    FDA National Drug Code directory · 73164-0002 · read 2026-08-29

What is missing or unclearRead from sources, not yet reviewed

What to learn next

Ordered by what would most change how you read this page, starting with what is easiest to misunderstand.

This order is fixed in code and does not count clicks or time on the page.

What is not here

9 questions this page could not answer

These sections were prepared and left out because there was nothing to put in them. They are listed rather than hidden, so the gaps in this record are visible.

  • What was measured, goal by goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How close this is to real life — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • The path through the body — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Felt, measured, or meaningful — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • How long anything takes — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What it may clash with — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Other ways to the same goal — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • Claims that go past the evidence — found nothing in the sources checked.
  • What changed on this page — found nothing in the sources checked.

The record as stored

The full record, for auditing

Everything above is built from what is below. This layer keeps the technical vocabulary, record identifiers and every stored row, so a reader who wants to check the page can.

Recorded evidence blocks (8)

On the Aminolevulinic Acid label: indicated for what?


"1. INDICATIONS AND USAGE AMELUZ, in combination with photodynamic therapy (PDT) using BF-RhodoLED ® or RhodoLED ® XL lamp, a narrowband, red light illumination source, is indicated for lesion-directed and field-directed treatment of actinic keratoses (AKs) of mild-to-moderate severity on the face and scalp.": indications and usage on Aminolevulinic Acid's label. DailyMed label · 650daa9f-aeec-49ce-95b9-5fa20b988afd · 2026-08-26

103 registered trials of Aminolevulinic Acid — at which phases?


Registered studies posting no result
75 of 103

103 registered studies of Aminolevulinic Acid: 44 phase2, 24 phase1, 14 phase3, 11 na, 9 phase4, 7 na or unstated, 5 early phase1. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

413 with a PubMed record

Show the evidence
  • phase2
    44
  • phase1
    24
  • phase3
    14
  • na
    11
  • phase4
    9
  • na or unstated
    7
9 more recorded rows
  • early phase1
    5
  • completed
    58
  • terminated
    13
  • unknown
    9
  • recruiting
    7
  • not yet recruiting
    6
  • withdrawn
    6
  • active not recruiting
    3
  • suspended
    1

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

17 of Aminolevulinic Acid's trials stopped: accrual/recruitment, funding/business, other?


accrual/recruitment (4), funding/business (3) and other (10): Aminolevulinic Acid's stop wording, clustered. CLINICALTRIALS_SNAPSHOT · 2026-09-01

"Withdrawn due to low accrual"; 17 of 103 registered studies

Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT00524485
    terminated; "Withdrawn due to low accrual"
  • NCT00663910
    terminated; "Of the 8 histologically proven tumors, detection of PpIX proved to be ambiguous."
  • NCT00865878
    terminated; "Orphan Drug Designation for this indication not granted"
  • NCT00977795
    withdrawn; "PI moving to Southern Illinois University to start new protocol"
  • NCT01351519
    terminated; "Limited staff available for enrollment and limited availability of drug"
  • NCT01502605
    terminated; "PI leaving institution"
11 further recorded trials
  • NCT01522677
    withdrawn; "Slow accrual"
  • NCT01575275
    terminated; "Drugs unavailable"
  • NCT02728388
    terminated; "data analysis unequivocal - requires study methodology re-evaluation"
  • NCT02867722
    withdrawn; "The PI decided to not proceed with the trial due to lack of funding."
  • NCT03024060
    withdrawn; "Study withdrawn due to corporate business decision"
  • NCT03897491
    terminated; "Low recruitment activities of clinical trial sites."
  • NCT03963102
    terminated; "Lack of appropriate personnel. Dr Xie abroad on other research, current PI Dr John Frewen not at main centre, no other available PI identified. Study suspended."
  • NCT04381806
    suspended; "Study drug availability"
  • NCT04815083
    terminated; "Study terminated due to closure of Sponsor business"
  • NCT05101798
    terminated; "NX Development Corporation closed the trial"
  • NCT06252727
    withdrawn; "PI choice."

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Human studies of Aminolevulinic Acid used Aminolevulinic acid hydrochloride 10% topical gel with Red Light — over how long?


studies of Aminolevulinic Acid used the recorded amount. ClinicalTrials.gov · 2026-09-01

1 recorded entry; human; topical; also "Aminolevulinic acid hydrochloride 10% topical gel with Red Light"

Show the evidence
  • human NCT06577311
    topical; Aminolevulinic acid hydrochloride 10% topical gel with Red Light

recorded 2026-09-01 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 25 trials of Aminolevulinic Acid posted no result?


Posted no result
25 of 25 completed trials
Registrations
NCT02755142, NCT02799030, NCT00002963, NCT00671710, NCT01508741 and NCT00870779, and 19 more
Completion dates
oldest 2001-06; newest 2023-10-31
Show the evidence

Trial

  • NCT02755142
    2001-06
  • NCT02799030
    2007-03
  • NCT00002963
    2007-06
  • NCT00671710
    2010-11
  • NCT01508741
    2012-12
  • NCT00870779
    2013-07-02
14 further recorded trials
  • NCT01610778
    2013-09
  • NCT00961090
    2015-04-23
  • NCT02101931
    2016-03
  • NCT02209012
    2016-04
  • NCT00978081
    2016-11
  • NCT02622594
    2017-04-13
  • NCT02464709
    2017-10
  • NCT02685592
    2018-03
  • NCT01502280
    2018-06
  • NCT00752323
    2018-10-14
  • NCT02632370
    2018-12-31
  • NCT02155452
    2019-07
  • NCT03114111
    2019-12-04
  • NCT03281811
    2020-08-12

At the median, Aminolevulinic Acid's trials enrolled 27 people — anything larger?


Median enrolment
27
Largest enrolment
571
Registered trials counted
102

What do 194 spontaneous reports say about Aminolevulinic Acid — and not say?


These are reports people sent to a regulator. They do not show the medicine caused the reaction. Nobody counted how many people took the medicine and reported nothing. The same event can be reported more than once, and many reports are incomplete. News coverage, lawsuits and new warnings change how often people report. A count is not a rate and not a risk.

Aminolevulinic Acid appears in spontaneous reports to regulators. Across the 10 most-reported reaction terms, 194 reaction mentions were counted: application site erythema 48; application site pain 33; erythema 22; application site swelling 16. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL1200582 · 2026-06-24

Show the evidence
  • application site erythema
    48
  • application site pain
    33
  • erythema
    22
  • application site swelling
    16
  • blister
    15
  • photophobia
    14
4 more recorded rows
  • eye irritation
    13
  • laceration
    12
  • lacrimation increased
    12
  • application site discolouration
    9

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Which 10 reactions does Aminolevulinic Acid's label not list?


application site discolouration, application site erythema and application site pain and 7 more reported for Aminolevulinic Acid, absent from its label. FAERS via Open Targets · CHEMBL1200582 · 2026-06-24

2 label terms; 10 reported and unlisted; 650daa9f-aeec-49ce-95b9-5fa20b988afd

Show the evidence
  • application site discolouration
    count not stated
  • application site erythema
    count not stated
  • application site pain
    count not stated
  • application site swelling
    count not stated
  • blister
    count not stated
  • erythema
    count not stated
4 more recorded rows
  • eye irritation
    count not stated
  • laceration
    count not stated
  • lacrimation increased
    count not stated
  • photophobia
    count not stated

recorded 2026-06-24 · last checked 2026-09-04

Where it is registered
Identifiers, relations and other names

The exact record

ChEMBL id
CHEMBL1200582
PubChem CID
123608
CAS number
5451-09-2
RxCUI
261715
InChIKey
ZGXJTSGNIOSYLO-UHFFFAOYSA-N
Also called
AMINOLEVULINIC ACID HYDROCHLORIDE, Alabel, Alaglio, Gliolan, 5-ala, 5-aminolaevulinic acid, 5-aminolevulinic acid, ala, bf-200 ala, levulan kerastick, reformulated levulan kerastick, .delta.-aminolevulinic acid
Salt form
5 ala hcl (trivial name), 5-aminolevulinic acid hydrochloride, Aminolevulinic acid hcl, .delta.-aminolevulinic acid hydrochloride, ala hcl
Trade name
Ameluz, Gleolan, Levulan, Gleolan / Ameluz / Levulan
Development code
NPC-07, NSC-18509
Sources (6)

Sources

ChEMBL 37 — CC BY-SA 3.0 Unported · ClinicalTrials.gov — US Government work · Open Targets 26.06 — CC0 · mixed register set; per-register licences in docs/specs/corpus-20k-sources.md · openFDA / DailyMed — US Government work

How these records are assembled · Which registers were checked

Index-quality checks
  • identity passed: no open identity hold
  • required summary fields resolved: 4 required field(s) not terminal: Why people use it, Best-supported result, Biggest unanswered question, Human evidence
  • public claims reviewed: 0 reviewed claim(s); drafts are never rendered
  • source coverage passed: 6 source rows
  • no critical contamination: no quarantine open
  • canonical metadata passed: slug and display name present
  • no raw internal fields: enforced by the copy-contract test over the rendered page

This is a record of evidence. It is not medical advice, and it does not say this substance suits you. Nothing here says any substance on RNAWiki is appropriate for a child.